SmartWool Outdoor Sport Socks - Merino Wool, Medium Cushion, Crew (For Women)

2nds. With enough cushion to accompany a serious hiking or backpacking boot and itch-free, temperature-regulating merino wool, SmartWool's Outdoor Sport socks are a cold-weather slam dunk.

Average Rating based on 71 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 71 reviews
  • Reviewed by Tricia from Minnesota on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    I wore these sock Snowshoe running when it was -15 outside and my feet stayed very warm. The size is perfect and I have washed and dried them and no shrinking.
  • Reviewed by Dogstars from Virginia MN on Friday, November 22, 2013
    I LOVE them. Wear them all the time winter and summer. I bought a bunch last winter and refreshed them just now. I LOVE smartwool socks. And after attempting to knit wool socks - I think they are a great bargain. Warm, wool, fit properly, stretchy, don't shrink. Love them. I like both the thin socks and the heavier ones depending on the day. I wear them with boots, or sandals. I wear the thin styles with "shoes".
  • Reviewed by ibebrenda from Denver, Colorado on Tuesday, November 19, 2013
    I chose Smartwool because they endorsed by those who covet the humane treatment of animals in the use of products. Preferably, I would like to purchase no animal products whatsoever. Yet, I cannot find a product that will keep my feet warm in the winter. I have poor circulation in my already small female feet and they become cold as ice.
    This company does not buy from suppliers who torture sheep through MULESING:
    http://www.treehugger.com/sustainable-fashion/smartwool-requires-wool-suppliers-to-end-mulesing.html

    Now, if they only made wool slippers!!!
  • Reviewed by mtinnkeeper from Montana on Thursday, August 8, 2013
    SmartWool makes the best wool socks of any wool socks I've owned. The wool is never scratchy, holds up well after many launderings (I never put them in the dryer--just air dry them; don't know if this makes a difference in longevity of the socks) and a just right comfortable (they never scrunch down).
  • Reviewed by Comfort Seeking Sally from Arizona on Monday, July 15, 2013
    Have bought SmartWool PhD socks for several years now for hiking because of their cushiony comfort and the fact that they are warm in winter and cool in summer (and I'm talking 115 degree Phoenix summers here, folks!). These were no different, was just glad to get them at such a good price. I will be ordering at least a few more pairs, as I have never been able to afford more than a pair at a time elsewhere. Love Sierra's price for these!
  • Reviewed by coffee from Colorado on Monday, May 13, 2013
    Love Smartwool. The foot bed is very cushioned, these socks are very comfortable.
  • Reviewed by Living the dream from Virginia on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    Love smart wool socks. These are a great style. They are a bit thick for my style of wear.
  • Reviewed by Flat4u from NY on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    Best brand for sock. Unbeatable price from https://www.sierratradingpost.com.
  • Reviewed by Red-sectora from Colorado on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
    I am a camper and a hiker, and I bought these socks for my wife who is not yet (we are newly weds). She loves them! They feel great on her feet and she loves the 'foot hug' part by the ball of the foot which keeps the socks from bunching up in her toe compartment. She likes the look/ color, which doesn't affect the performance of the sock, but these were the best choice! They will keep her happy during our adventures! I will be buying more for her when she needs them, but I am still wearing mine which are darn near 8 years old now!
  • Reviewed by James from Florida on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    Exactly what I was expecting. So comfortable. These socks do not make your feet sweat.
  • Reviewed by Jen from Wyoming on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    I love smartwool socks so much I threw out all of my "white cotton socks"! I've never had a pair dissapoint me. I love them hiking, snowshoeing or at the office.
  • Reviewed by Rosie from SYDNEY on Thursday, March 28, 2013
    These are very nice socks, however like most socks these days the rib at ankle is tight.
    I don't like to have band marks on my legs. However they are OK for a walk with the dog and only on for just over an hour - then remove.
    Size is a bit on the small side. I'm a 37 and take up every bit of stretch, yet the next size up would be far too large.
    All in all a good sock.
  • Reviewed by LJB from Pittsburgh on Saturday, March 23, 2013
    Smartwool is worth the investment. They are extremely warm, your feet don't sweat and the socks don't wear out very quickly.
  • Reviewed by Sock Girl from MINNESOTA on Friday, March 22, 2013
    I wanted a nice warm stocking since I live in Minnesota.They fit great and are a nice thick wool sock for under a boot or lounging at home ! I will buy again.
  • Reviewed by Gardengirl from Massachusetts on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    I was delighted by the warmth and comfort of these amazing socks. Best uses are indoors with slippers, worn with roomy boots, or shoes with a bit of extra space. The cushioning takes up a bit of room of course, but they are not bulky and feel terrific.
  • Reviewed by Walks about from California central coast on Monday, March 4, 2013
    This is a very cushiony sock, good for hiking or other outdoor activities. I really like the color too - brown heather with fushia-burgundy flowers and trim. You can turn the top down and there is about an inch and a half of fushia color trim that becomes like the top of an ankle sock.
  • Reviewed by blanchgirl2 from Montana on Monday, March 4, 2013
    I bought several pair of these socks for my daughter and I. We both love how comfortable they are and wear them all the time. They will also be great to wear when hiking season starts up again.
  • Reviewed by R Mack from Bakersfield, CA on Friday, March 1, 2013
    I like the extra thick section around your ankle/shin area. It is much needed for those hiking boots that are just a little hard around the edges!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Etraveller from Davenport, IA on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    Smartwool Rocks
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jenn from State College, PA on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    This pair was a gift, but I own a pair of this style myself, and they are a great mix of cushion and warmth for the winter months. Durable as well. Definitely live up to the Smartwool expectation.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kgg5524 from Fairport, NY on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    I bought these for my wife and she absolutely loves them
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dro from hudson valley, ny on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    very comfortable socks. not too warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nanook from the North from Belgrade , Maine on Monday, February 11, 2013
    Great product , living in Maine winters my feet are always cold and these socks keep them toasty warm. They are the best
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Juny from Quebec,Canada on Monday, February 11, 2013
    I have use theme before, it was a gift. And it was the best i tried. because i tried similar product and didn't do the same performance.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kachina from colorado on Friday, February 8, 2013
    loved the color and weight of these socks. great value for price
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Athena from Chicago on Wednesday, February 6, 2013
    What did I do before Smartwool socks? Love this weight for winter - outdoors and indoors. Great for layering over a thinner sock when it's cold or on their own for hiking - even in warmer weather. No more stinky, sweaty socks or feet!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by M in the Midwest from Indiana on Tuesday, February 5, 2013
    Best socks I've ever worn, they are so comfortable, feel like a little hug on your feet. Supportive, cool/warm, comfortable. Can't think of anything more you ask of a sock.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by UPJen from UP of Michigan on Monday, February 4, 2013
    Very comfortable and wash well!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Canyon Hiker from Montpelier, VT on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    I use these socks daily at work. I am a floor manager snd am on my feet all day long. These socks fit great in my Keens and the color is nice too. I wear them out fast. But that probably comes from daily wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Diana H from Southwest OH on Tuesday, November 6, 2012
    Love all Smartwool socks
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Stylish, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 71 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.