SmartWool PhD HyFi Base Layer Top - Merino Wool, Full Zip, Long Sleeve (For Men)

Closeouts. When pushing the limits in cold weather, SmartWool's PhD HyFi top keeps your comfort factor in check with its durable, climate-controlling merino wool blend.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by uooeoo from de on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
    it is very perfcet for running in winter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Vermont forester from Green Mountains on Monday, December 8, 2014
    best base layer, smart wool makes the stuff you want against your skin when it is going to be there for a long time in the cold and your body is working hard
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MCATCT from New England on Wednesday, December 3, 2014
    Used this sweater with lightweight wool t-shirt to ride my bike in 40F temp. Worked great, not completely windproof but blocked the wind enough without being chilled and kept me warm enough without overheating.Very well made, fits well and I like how the collar can be folded down. This jacket will get a lot of use-casual and active. I'm 5'8" and a fit 170lbs the medium fits perfectly, except it's slightly long, but that is the case with most jackets since I'm shorter than average.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve Han from Seoul on Monday, November 24, 2014
    Overall, I am pretty satisfied with this top layer. The fabric used for this top layer is a wool and synthetic blend and as I expected, I get the advantages of both. It feels just a bit bigger than expected, but thats my personal experience. I usually get good fit with size M athletic apparels, but this one feels just a tad big, but its within tolerable limits. This does not exactly fit into my defination for a base layer even for a winter wear. This could work as a medium layer or even top layer on less chilly days for people with active lifestyle. Very good warmth to weight ratio, in my opinion.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snowman1980 from Oregon on Thursday, November 6, 2014
    I needed a new base layer for snowshoeing and snow camping and decided to go with wool instead of a synthetic material. I wanted to test out wool's natural wicking and temperature regulating abilities. Also the odor resistant nature of wool was a big plus. Who wants to smell? This garment is double jersey knit so it actually feels more like a tee shirt than a wool sweater. I am very impressed with the craftsmanship and thoughtfulness of the design. I am six foot two and weigh 260 and this fits really well. I do wish it had articulated elbows, but it still provides ample coverage while engaged in normal winter activities. The only time it rides up is when I fully extend my arms up. So it might cause issues if you are ice climbing.

    This is base layer is worth the price. It may be slightly heavy (but what do you expect from a good base layer for winter conditions?), but it is phenomenal in temperature regulating. It also has a full zip (underneath I wear a compression shirt) and 5 pockets. I am also allergic to lanolin (wool fat) and usually can't stand wool, but SmartWool says this is itch free. Truth be told I am still a little itchy, but it is completely tolerable and so worth it. I cannot wait to test this out in a snow cave in a few months.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jay G from Atlanta on Friday, October 17, 2014
    I've just received the item, and have yet to have weather cold enough to wear it. That said based on feel and look I think it will serve well as either a lightweight outer garment or as a middle layer when it's colder out. I'm 6'1 and wear XL and this size was a good fit too. Inner pocket has a grommet for passing headphone line so keeping a phone/music in reach while otherwise active is also a plus.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ant brom from uk on Thursday, October 9, 2014
    thinking of buying another one
  • Reviewed by Active mom from Scottsdale on Monday, August 25, 2014
    My husband loved the material, color and fit. He just felt the coat was too itchy. (Note, he has many SmartWool socks which he has absolutely loved.)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steamboat from Lookout Mountain, TN on Thursday, June 19, 2014
    I had been looking at this jacket for about a year. It is soft and comfortable and stylish enough to wear around town. Where it really shines is in cooler weather exercise. I have used it running and hiking and it is great at cutting the wind but not making me too hot. Breathable, comfortable, and a crazy good deal on STP!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by chauncey from 94117 on Thursday, June 5, 2014
    haven't taken it off all week.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.