SmartWool PhD HyFi Base Layer Top - Merino Wool, Full Zip, Long Sleeve (For Men)

Closeouts. When pushing the limits in cold weather, SmartWool's PhD HyFi top keeps your comfort factor in check with its durable, climate-controlling merino wool blend.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews 4.500000
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by svendakus from New Hampshire on Saturday, March 21, 2015
    As always, SW is top quality. This top best paired with lightweight NTS base layer and would work in most climates with temp 20-50 deg F and no precip. Add shell otherwise. Cheers
  • Reviewed by B from Lancaster, PA on Thursday, March 5, 2015
    I'm a 5'11", 195 female who prefers to wear mens athletic upper body clothing because they're longer than women's. I ordered the Medium and wore it shoveling, walking my dogs and then xc skiing. It's great. I had a base layer, then the Smartwool PHD and then a down vest. My final layer was a Gore tex jacket to keep the snow flakes out. It fits me perfectly and thankfully does not look like a mans top on me. Purchased the green and LOVE the color. It's very comfortable even over bare skin.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nordic skier from Bozeman, Montana on Friday, February 13, 2015
    There is a lot to like about this garment. Let me start out by saying that I run hot. I use this for xc skiing and find it just fine for cool (mid 20's to low 30's) conditions. I wear it with no shell over ice breaker 200 wool zip neck base layer and keeps me comfortably warm, breaths well, and does a decent job of wind blocking. Any colder than that and I would have to wear a shell or revert to a top with a polar-tec insulating layer rather than merino. I wear such a garment on truly cold days and I'm good to about 15 degrees without a shell. The polar-tec just performs better than merino. I like the long torso on this piece, no worry about cold air leaking in a gap, and I like the high collar when it is zipped all the way up. Really good in wind or fast downhills.

    The photo is a bit misleading. It does not fit snuggly around the waist as pictured. I am 5' 10", 170 lbs. and it is noticeably baggy around the middle. The finish details on the inside are a bit lacking. The seams are not flat and flush and the mesh pockets are not sewn in all the way around and they could be made out of sturdier mesh.

    I'm comparing the PhD to a similar top I have made by a well known maker of high performance outdoor wear. The PhD is much less expensive that my other garment, but don't mistake it for a high performance top. It just isn't. It's ok for the price, but if you need a true high performance top with a perfect fit and totally detailed, this is not it.
  • Reviewed by avid snowboarded from cali on Friday, January 30, 2015
    This jacket is itchy so not really a good base layer. It isn't that warm so not really a good mid layer. Doesn't block wind so not really a good running jacket. Might need less washing than synthetic jackets but much more expensive and not as functional.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mikeybikey from michigan on Tuesday, January 27, 2015
    I've worn this cross country skiing and cycling and love it. I am 5'10 175 lbs. and a medium fits perfect. I've love all the icebreaker clothing so far.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by uooeoo from de on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
    it is very perfcet for running in winter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Vermont forester from Green Mountains on Monday, December 8, 2014
    best base layer, smart wool makes the stuff you want against your skin when it is going to be there for a long time in the cold and your body is working hard
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anonymous from New England on Wednesday, December 3, 2014
    Used this sweater with lightweight wool t-shirt to ride my bike in 40F temp. Worked great, not completely windproof but blocked the wind enough without being chilled and kept me warm enough without overheating.Very well made, fits well and I like how the collar can be folded down. This jacket will get a lot of use-casual and active. I'm 5'8" and a fit 170lbs the medium fits perfectly, except it's slightly long, but that is the case with most jackets since I'm shorter than average.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve Han from Seoul on Monday, November 24, 2014
    Overall, I am pretty satisfied with this top layer. The fabric used for this top layer is a wool and synthetic blend and as I expected, I get the advantages of both. It feels just a bit bigger than expected, but thats my personal experience. I usually get good fit with size M athletic apparels, but this one feels just a tad big, but its within tolerable limits. This does not exactly fit into my defination for a base layer even for a winter wear. This could work as a medium layer or even top layer on less chilly days for people with active lifestyle. Very good warmth to weight ratio, in my opinion.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snowman1980 from Oregon on Thursday, November 6, 2014
    I needed a new base layer for snowshoeing and snow camping and decided to go with wool instead of a synthetic material. I wanted to test out wool's natural wicking and temperature regulating abilities. Also the odor resistant nature of wool was a big plus. Who wants to smell? This garment is double jersey knit so it actually feels more like a tee shirt than a wool sweater. I am very impressed with the craftsmanship and thoughtfulness of the design. I am six foot two and weigh 260 and this fits really well. I do wish it had articulated elbows, but it still provides ample coverage while engaged in normal winter activities. The only time it rides up is when I fully extend my arms up. So it might cause issues if you are ice climbing.

    This is base layer is worth the price. It may be slightly heavy (but what do you expect from a good base layer for winter conditions?), but it is phenomenal in temperature regulating. It also has a full zip (underneath I wear a compression shirt) and 5 pockets. I am also allergic to lanolin (wool fat) and usually can't stand wool, but SmartWool says this is itch free. Truth be told I am still a little itchy, but it is completely tolerable and so worth it. I cannot wait to test this out in a snow cave in a few months.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #