SmartWool PhD Outdoor Heavy Socks - Merino Wool, Crew (For Men and Women)

2nds. SmartWool PhD Outdoor socks offer the comfort and cushion of heavyweight merino wool; this moisture-wicking, odor-resistant, multi-sport sock is ready for just about anything.

Average Rating based on 26 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 26 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Geogirl from Missouri on Tuesday, October 21, 2014
    These socks are amazing! I bought some for me and my husband. We have had them a year now and I don't see any sign of wear. They are thick, but the wool doesn't make you sweat. The "x" style design across the top of the foot can make them hard to get on, but they are a great sock. Definitely would recommend it to a friend and will buy more when these wear out.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Boots from Mid-Atlantic on Thursday, June 5, 2014
    They're marked 2nds, but I saw no issues with them when I tried them on. I love wool socks because they're warm, even when wet, tough and durable, and they cushion my feet where it matters. I haven't taken them out yet, but I will. I might not have tried them, had STP not been running such a great discount.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JH from Michigan on Thursday, May 1, 2014
    These are lighter in cushion than the SmartWool Hunting socks which are also listed as heavy weight. The shaded areas of the sock become thin compared to the rest of the sock when you put them on.

    My shoe size is a US 12 and I found the XL to fit well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Archery girl from California on Saturday, April 5, 2014
    Great heavy-weight, but soft and comfortable for all-day hiking/walking wear. Not too tight around the ankle.
  • Reviewed by Susan from Syracuse, NY on Tuesday, April 1, 2014
    I am always unable to find the "irregularity" of the seconds Smartwool socks I buy at Sierra. These socks amused me by having the word "IRREGULAR" stamped on them, leaving my hiking companions to wonder what was wrong with my feet. Smartwool seconds are becoming a habit for me, you might say I have an irregular foot fetish...
  • Reviewed by Liv4truth from SEMO on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    I own other brands of socks, and socks with other material. Merino wool = best available with decent price. Smartwool = most trusted and worn brand of hunting, hiking, trekking, walking sock out there.
  • Reviewed by Jake from USA on Sunday, March 16, 2014
    Form fitting sock but does stretch. Newest sock(PhD), but smartwool is getting cheap on cushioning. Its more like a medium cushion. Wash in cold water inside out and low heat so they don't shrink up. Not supposed to be used with liner socks. Durability is average if backpacking and not very warm. I would buy the Smartwool hiking heavyweight instead that can be used with a liner.
  • Reviewed by Kirk the engineer from Welches, OR on Sunday, March 16, 2014
    Great socks. Already worn them and like them.
  • Reviewed by Irish Hiker from Oklahoma on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    First pair of tall PhD socks I've bought, normally buy the runner height but wanted some to wear with boots. Like the way these fit. These are stamped "Irregular" on the foot of the sock but seem to fit normally.
  • Reviewed by JDay from East TN on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    These socks feel great and do an awesome job of wicking moisture! If it is really cold you may need to wear them with a liner or foot warmers but otherwise they are good to go. The heavy weight is perfect for me in all but summer conditions because of the extra cushion it adds.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 26 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #