SmartWool PhD Outdoor Light Socks - Merino Wool (For Men and Women)

2nds, barely perceptible blemishes. From trail hiking to mountain biking, SmartWool’s PhD Outdoor light socks do it all. Merino wool naturally wicks moisture and regulates temperature in every season.

Average Rating based on 209 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 21 »
  • 1-10 of 209 reviews
  • Reviewed by Jackson from massachusetts on Tuesday, July 02, 2013
    Smartwool socks are OK for hiking but when put threw extreme weather conditions will not rate in my opinion as high as my Foxriver socks, the slip slide in my shoes was uncomfortable and made my feet sore.
  • Reviewed by B from West central Wisconsin on Friday, March 29, 2013
    Sox fit well and they are thick and soft. I like them.
  • Reviewed by JJ for Disc Golfers from Cincinnati on Sunday, March 10, 2013
    I bought Thorlo Light Hiker CoolMax, Smart Wool PhD Outdoor Light, SmartWool Sport Light, and SmartWool Adventure Medium socks all at once. My feet get hot quick no matter what and therefore they sweat easily too and I wanted socks to keep my cool and dry. I bought these for summer use actually because I read that they wick away the sweat, they breathe, and they keep you cool. I play a lot of disc golf in the summer and am trying to stay as cool as possible in my waterproof traiI hiking shoes. So, I tried all of these socks out for a few days, just through normal day wear, and my conclusion is this:
    Thorlo CoolMax doesn't keep as cool, and doesn't wick as well, as the SmartWool brand.
    The SmartWool kept my feeet at a good temp whereas CoolMax was too hot for what I am looking to get from these for the summer.
    After wearing around for a bit and maybe sweating a little, CoolMax had an odor as where SmartWool did not.
    The Thorlo light is thicker than the SmartWool Light and in my opinion neither is really that light. Nothing like a thin dress sock like I imagined.
    All of the feel so very soft and comfprtable and not scratchy
    Lastly, I wear a size 14 and I purchased all these in an XL and for me they are about a half size too small. Its still an ok fit and I will still order them, but my second toe is my longest and it gets sung there.
    I am now going to purchase a pair of SmartWool Ultralight socks, to see if they will be cooler than all these lights, for the summer. I was worried they would be paper thin, but after having these lights I now feel the ultra light should be great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiking mama from Virginia Beach, VA on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
    I use these for hiking and they are my favorite pair!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by zendoc from East Aurora, NY on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    I am extermely wool sensitive, bought these at the urging of a friend never believing I could tolerate them. I love them -so warm and zero itching! Padding is perfect w/ my winter boots, expect them to be great hiking socks as well. Received the order in 3 days even at the holidays. Thank you STP!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stephanie from Seattle on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    Excellent sock
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kayak Man from Tampa Bay, FL on Saturday, January 05, 2013
    The socks are well made and do not bunch up inside my kayak booties. They are a great deal
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lala from Vermont on Friday, January 04, 2013
    No sweaty feet! Warm but thin enough for tight fitting boots. Excellent
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mel from Ellensburg, WA on Tuesday, January 01, 2013
    These are the best!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Loves Smartwool from Rumford, Maine on Monday, December 31, 2012
    We own smart wool for recreational activities and love the product. These will be worn at work, in a high temperature environment with leather workboots. We are experimenting to see how long they will last and if they will be comfortable in this setting.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 21 »
  • 1-10 of 209 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.