SmartWool PhD Racer Ski Socks - Midweight, Merino Wool, Over the Calf (For Men and Women)

2nds. Cushioned where your shins need it most, SmartWool's PhD Racer ski socks have elastic banding in the ankle and arches to contour the fit and eliminate bunching.

Average Rating based on 19 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-19 of 19 reviews
  • Reviewed by Leslie from Ohio on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    My husband and son use this sock for Ohio skiing, and they are very pleased. The sock keeps them warm and does not bunch up in the ski boot. No complaints about itchy wool, either. Now, my husband wants me to replace all his socks with Smartwool!
  • Reviewed by bucksign from wisconsin on Saturday, March 22, 2014
    this sock is nice and long, very comfortable, I use them hunting nice and warm
  • Reviewed by skier from Washington on Monday, February 24, 2014
    I was prepared for these to not be as good as other styles of PhD socks because they were so much less expensive (how can you beat $8.50 per pair?). But they are perfect. I bought 3 pairs for myself and daughters, and they worked great on a very snowy cold day on the mountain. Way to go Sierra Trading Post!
  • Reviewed by Telemark Biker from Boonville, NY on Thursday, February 20, 2014
    Very comfortable sock. I was looking for a heavier weight sock to fill the boot as it has packed out substantially. While this was listed as a midweight - only the shin padding could be considered midweight. Overall the sock is very thin. I wish that I didn't need something thicker as these are very nice and irritate my ankles much less than any others I have had.
  • Reviewed by longjohns from tennessee on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    warm, fits true to size. good for wear with boots or skiing
  • Reviewed by Traktrgrl from Colorado on Saturday, January 25, 2014
    They are a good fit, even for 2nds. They don't bunch or fall down. I wish they were a bit warmer.
  • Reviewed by Leslie from Ohio on Sunday, January 19, 2014
    My husband loves these socks. They keep his feet warm on an everyday basis and during skiing. He wants many more pairs!

    The only "con" is that they have a run in them. They are seconds, so that is fair, but the other times I have ordered "seconds" socks from STP, they have been perfect. The run does not stop my husband from wearing and enjoying these. I got them at a good price, so all is well.
  • Reviewed by Brian from Idaho on Saturday, January 18, 2014
    Smartwools are great. These are my favorite ski socks. Nice and thin, stay up, and keep my feet dry and warm. Unfortunately, 2 out of 3 pairs of Smartwools I ordered had major flaws (holes etc.). I know these are 2nds and are supposed to be slightly flawed. That said, I have ordered a lot of 2nds Smartwools from Sierra in the past without even finding a flaw in the socks. I hope this isn't the new norm. I probably should have exchanged them but it just put me off.
  • Reviewed by BBp from Northwest on Wednesday, January 15, 2014
    Maybe I didn't notice when I purchased these, but on the bottom of the socks it says "IRREGULAR". I didn't notice anything different with them and they fit just fine. I like Smartwool a lot and for the price, I thought it was a good buy. It probably mentions the irregular bit somewhere on the page, I just didn't see it.
  • Reviewed by Construction worker from Alaska on Monday, January 13, 2014
    We live in Alaska & these are the best so far. I bought several different brands & the general consensus was that these are superior in every aspect.
    Time will tell when it comes to durability, but these are warmer than the heavier weight ski socks I purchased at our expensive Anchorage Yuppie store
  • Reviewed by Sierra Bob from Sierra Nevada, California on Friday, January 10, 2014
    Got these for my Beloved wife - and she reports they are warm, padded in the right places, itch-free and warm without being stuffy or prone to getting soggy or clammy. In short, she is happier with these tan any other prior ski socks.... Tahoe tested and approved.
  • Reviewed by Family of Five from Skied in Colorado on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
    I ordered these socks for each of my family of five for a ski trip. They were wonderful!! I coupled the socks with Hot Hands Toe Warmers and my toes and feet stayed nice and toasty all day long on the slopes. Nice extra thickness on the shins protected them from any discomfort from the ski boots. They are marked as 2nds, but I found no indication that would warrant this classification. I wear a womens size 9-1/2, my son wears mens size 11. The socks had a good fit for all range of sizes.
  • Reviewed by HoosierDogwalker from Indiana on Wednesday, January 01, 2014
    when there's warm, arch supporting, perfect height and weight Smartwool socks! The only socks I buy and STP is the only place I buy them.
  • Reviewed by aliblue from Seattle on Sunday, December 29, 2013
    I gave various SmartWool socks for Christmas and invariably the thank you's were loud and clear. Can't be beat.
  • Reviewed by Loganwolf from Indiana on Sunday, December 29, 2013
    Smartwool as good as ever. My only complaint is that they need more cushioning.
  • Reviewed by WC from Oregon on Friday, December 27, 2013
    I wanted a thicker sock like the SmartWool Snowboard Socks (For Kids and Youth), but in my size. This PhD Racer sock is not the one. The sole is thin, and the shin pad is not nearly as thick. I will return.
  • Reviewed by cbiglos74 from Michigan on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    I love these socks. My feet get really cold in winter. I thought I would give these a whirl and do not regret my purchase at all. SO WARM.
  • Reviewed by rudy the skier from minnesota on Tuesday, December 24, 2013
    very comfortable. Not too bulky so fit in your ski boots better. warm
  • Reviewed by roberto from michigan on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    Just what I wanted...good quality, thin, warm, good fit. ordered size L, I wear 9 or 9-1/2 shoe
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-19 of 19 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.