Customer Reviews Of:
SmartWool PhD Smartloft Full-Zip Jacket - Merino Wool (For Women)

Closeouts. A light, quilted nylon exterior and a toasty, temp-regulating merino wool lining make SmartWool's PhD Smartloft jacket a handy midlayer for frigid climates. Its silky exterior slides easily under a heavy coat, and its lining is ready to keep you insulated without overheating.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews 4.461538 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sarafina from Minnesota on Friday, March 4, 2016
    I liked the outer shell of the piece (I ordered it in cream) but did not like that the inner lining was grey. It took away from the soft/creamy look that I wanted. Sadly, I had to send it back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mamaof4 from Idaho on Sunday, November 30, 2014
    Very happy with the purchase. Got caught in an unexpected cold rain and I stayed warm!
    I am 5'6" and 125lbs and the medium fits perfectly. It even looks a bit dressier than your average winter coat.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chapelashelle. from Chicago on Sunday, June 1, 2014
    I had been looking at similar Jackets by other popular brands all winter,but nothing exactly fitted the bill. I Saw this on Sierra, read other reviews and decided to give it a try. The colour is a wonderful shade of blue. The shape is flatering and fits like a glove, enough room for layering. I ordered the L. I am 5.11 and 160lb athletic build. The Jacket is light weight and appears to be warm. Yet to find out, as spring is finally here in Chicago. Comes highly recommended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jessica Yee from Singapore on Monday, April 21, 2014
    Overall a nice jacket, really. Well stitched, warm, and quality product. The only problem I have is that the size runs big. So for most other jackets, I am on a Size L, and this Size L feels more like Size XL. The sleeves at the arm area is huge, seems a bit out of proportion with the rest of the jacket though. I cannot return it as I am miles away and would not be economical for me considering the shipping I need to pay.
  • Reviewed by Cindi from New York City on Friday, January 24, 2014
    Boxy and very wide in the shoulders! I have wide shoulders and this coat was hugely boxy and squarish in shape, not at all flattering. The neck was not a snug fit either. I really love the materials, the jacket feels great on. However, the fit is terrible, so I am returning it.
  • Reviewed by Teri from san francisco on Saturday, January 18, 2014
    Very nice well made and light jacket. This jacket runs smaller than other SmartWool Jackets I have bought in the past. I am 5'5" and 128lb and the medium fits.
  • Reviewed by Kim from CT on Thursday, January 2, 2014
    I watched this jacket for months and finally bought it. I LOVE smartwool and this jacket is no exception... Walked 3 miles around a lake yesterday with it and a couple layers in 18 degree weather. Great jacket, not cheap but still a good buy I think
  • Reviewed by RunningRN from Michigan on Friday, December 27, 2013
    I bought this jacket to decrease the layers I wear while running. It works. I use it as a jacket, not a midlayer. The coldest I've worn it is in the teens. It was plenty warm, in fact, I unzipped it part way. There are two inside roomy pockets and the outside pockets zip. The color is nice and bright too. I am 5'4" and 130 pounds. I bought the large to wear layers underneath. I'm glad I did.
  • Reviewed by Gloria smartwool fan from California on Tuesday, December 3, 2013
    Well made, warm, light and soft.
  • Reviewed by me. from utah on Monday, November 25, 2013
    Like the description says, a light jacket. I wore this in the rain, seems to repel to rain to some degree. I wore this in the wind, was pretty warm. It has large inside pockets for storage, very useful, plus outside pockets for your hands. As for fit, I usually wear a small, but I ordered a medium and I am glad I did. I want to be able to wear a sweater with this jacket and move freely as well. I got a blue. Very nice color. I got it at a good price from STP, about 50% lower than the full (but not the sale) price asked by other venders.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2