SmartWool PhD Snowboard Light Socks - Merino Wool (For Men and Women)

2nds, barely perceptible blemishes. One pair of socks; a multitude of performance features. Made of itch-free merino wool, SmartWool's PhD Snowboard light socks wick moisture, regulate temperature and keep feet odor-free — plus have light half-cushion in the shin, calf and sole.

Average Rating based on 150 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-30 of 150 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brian from Virginia on Thursday, October 16, 2014
    Comfortable and fit well, but as others have noted, these socks hardly seem light. They're not particularly thick but they are very warm, too warm for my needs.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by shannon from Florida on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    Good quality, but not light. They seem the same thickness as other heavier socks we've purchased for snowboarding. We couldn't use them for our intended use for this reason, but we are keeping them for winter snowboarding.
  • Reviewed by AZsdaddy from SoPo, Maine on Saturday, March 02, 2013
    Great socks! Nice padding, come up high on calves and stay up. Pretty durable so far. Ended up buying four pair...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ingrid from Palatine, IL on Sunday, February 24, 2013
    These socks are great for snowboarding. Cushioned where they need to be, yet light weight and warm. Everyone's feet were happy!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Abby from Maryland on Saturday, February 23, 2013
    I use this product every day around the house, standing at the dog park, working outside and walking my dog in cold Maryland winters. I love that they come up my leg (and stay there). It does make a difference in the warmth. They are not too thick to wear under boots/shoes, but have comfy thicker padding on the bottom. My calves are medium and they fit tightly, may not work for large calves. My last pair lasted two years. Eventually they will wear and tear, but until then they are great!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Schub from Wisconsin on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    These socks are from smart sheep. No dumb sheep here! Smartwool!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mom for Smartwools from Lincoln, NE on Monday, February 18, 2013
    Bought these for my husband who has some neuropathy.

    He wore one pair out because he was wearing constantly. Best sock ever for the entire fanily
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JPL from Manasquan, NJ on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    Nothing additional
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JFD from Denver, co on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    Great socks for the mountain, my feet did sweat quite a bit, but id rather them sweat than freeze due to the cold, it was probably 10F last time I went so thats a good sign.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BJ from central Texas on Wednesday, February 06, 2013
    I love wearing these socks with my dress boots and western boots in the winter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Emmie from Seoul, Korea on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    I love these socks. They are long enough to wear with boots which is great since I have big feet and long legs.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Me from Northeast on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    Any smart wool product I've ever bought as been of exceptional quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Energizer Bunny from Maumee, Ohio on Wednesday, January 02, 2013
    These socks are warm and breathe when your feet sweat. Best of all it's a washable wool sock. Bought them for skiing, but ended up being my favorite winter socks
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hank the hiker from wisconsin on Tuesday, January 01, 2013
    The best sock available for the price, great fit
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The skier from Vail, Colorado on Thursday, December 13, 2012
    Nice and warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WarmFeet from Huntsville, Texas on Thursday, December 13, 2012
    Will basically use for chilly weather whether its skiing or just to keep feet/toes warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker from Western MA skiier on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    These are warm, colorful, nice socks...I stock up and give as gifts to all of the boarders...Everyone loves them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by funkydude from Rio Rancho, New Mexico on Monday, December 10, 2012
    Great product, especially for the price. Will continue to use this company for winter gear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Russ in Boulder from Boulder, CO on Wednesday, December 05, 2012
    Excellent fit, cushion, support, comfort!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mother sock-giver. from Minnesota on Wednesday, December 05, 2012
    Best wool socks ever.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by High Desert Shopper from New Mexico on Monday, December 03, 2012
    I was attracted by the colors and patterns, and sold on the warmth without bulk, as well as perfect fit. I plan to use these cross country skiing, hiking, and for casual use in cold, snowy or wet weather
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trail n' gear Junkie from Raleigh, NC on Sunday, December 02, 2012
    great socks...where them around the house on cold days/nights...and for bike commuting. Love that they cover my entire shin/calf area all the way to the knee.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by shedguy from Wa on Sunday, December 02, 2012
    every walking
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bethp from Ponca City, OK on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    My son snowboards so I thought a good pair of wool socks would be good. Smartwool received the best reviews, so I sent 2 pair of Smartwool snowboard socks for Christmas. My son called a week later to tell me they were the best socks he had ever worn. Great for snowboarding, however that's not the real reason he loves them. He is an electrician that wears heavy work boots and conditions are not always favorable. My son said because they have extra padding around the shin and heel area,(cushion for ski boots) that they cushion his work boots so he no longer comes home with sore feet, ankle and shin bone. Since electricians are in all sorts of weather conditions, the socks always keep his feet dry, warm and no longer smell at the end of the day. Don't let the snowboarding description for the socks fool you, they are great for anyone that wears work boots of any kind, also. I've been instructed for birthdays and Christmas to always send Smartwool Snowboarding socks...nothing else. My son is 26.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hilkat from Anchorage, AK on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    Great for any winter sport or just lounging around!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tele-skier from Denver, CO on Saturday, November 24, 2012
    I love these socks. I always wear a pair when I go telemark skiing at the ski resorts. The socks fit well inside my custom inserts in the ski boots. The extra padding at the shin area is perfect for when I tighten down the boots. I like the thinner wool at the foot because it doesn't interfere with the custom footbed shaping and allows enough room for my toes to move freely. These socks just last and last through many cold-water washings. I buy these for myself and for my family every year (even though the older ones are not warn out) and love the changing colors / graphics of the new editions. Nothing bad to say except for the full price cost one pays elsewhere, which is completely resolved by buying the seconds with their imperceptible imperfections. Love these socks.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dante's Mom from Downingtown PA on Tuesday, November 20, 2012
    Ignore the boot padding on these socks because they are just fabulous for plain old warmth in the coldest conditions - especially on frosty floors in the winter
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stef from Minneapolis, MN on Sunday, November 18, 2012
    This sock fits both myself and my husband (I'm a Women's size 7-7.5; he's a men's size 9.5-10), and is incredibly warm. It is cushiony without being obnoxiously thick (I can wear the sock with tennis shoes, in slippers, etc.), and the elastic around the calf holds the socks up very well without cutting off circulation. As for the "irregularity" of the garment - I couldn't find it. Looks and feels store-quality to me. I'm a fan!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by charismagirl from Hartland, VT on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
    Alrady had socks for alpine and downhill skiing and casual way. Loved the price and the selections.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Extreme Conditions, Icy Conditions, Warm Weather, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Durable, Good material, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dancing Queen from New York City on Sunday, November 11, 2012
    Purchased as gift for my daughter who wears them daily with her boots for insulation and moisture control.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Extreme Conditions, Icy Conditions, Nighttime, Warm Weather, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Durable, Good material, Warm, Water Resistant, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-30 of 150 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.