SmartWool PhD Ultralight Graduated Compression Socks - Merino Wool (For Men and Women)

2nds. Wicking, temperature regulating and designed to reduce the fatigue and speed the recovery of legs, SmartWool's PhD ultralight socks have a graduated compression design and non-cushioned sole to reduce bulk.

Average Rating based on 116 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 12 »
  • 1-10 of 116 reviews
  • Reviewed by Frequent Traveler from Texas on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    Great compression and warm. Perfect when you do not want a think sock.
  • Reviewed by RocketGal from Kentucky on Thursday, February 27, 2014
    I accidentally ordered these in small, but learned there are no mediums left. Instead of returning them, I tried wearing them and they worked great. I wear a 7.5 shoe, so I was concerned that these might squash my feet, and more specifically make my bunion worse. No worries! The toe area is roomy so there is no compression on the toes! I'm very happy with these socks!
  • Reviewed by Hiker Mary from Washington state on Thursday, February 27, 2014
    I have been wearing these socks all winter and love the extra support they give to my legs. The wool keeps my feet at a steady temperature no matter what the weather. They launder easily...I choose to air dry them, although they can be put in the clothes dryer.
  • Reviewed by intermediate skiier from Michigan on Thursday, January 9, 2014
    Took these out west skiing and they were great at preventing my feet from swelling too much. My feet fit great into my ski boots.
  • Reviewed by Dmsmd from Philadelphia on Wednesday, January 8, 2014
    Nice amount of compression for standing all day at work. Light, wick sweat away and don't make me overheat. Would be good for training as we'll.
  • Reviewed by OkiefromOAK from Oakland on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    These are a good sock, but they won't make it to one year compared to smartwool I've had for 4 or 5 years. They are uncomfortable, not because of the compression but because of the fabric, it rubs me the wrong way, not causing blisters, but just feels uncomfortable as a fabric on your feet. I have two holes that are going to start breaking through in the next few months. They show heavy wear even though they are my last resort socks. Maybe thats the best review ...
    MY LAST RESORT FOR SOCKS. I'd honestly rather wear mis matched cotton socks with a hole in them. Seriously.
  • Reviewed by Dmsmd from PA on Sunday, December 8, 2013
    Wear them to work. Really light, wick sweat, provide a great amount of compression.
  • Reviewed by JP outdoors lover from NH on Thursday, October 10, 2013
    These are a bit hard to put on, but not THAT hard. You do have to put the foot part on first, then bring the rest up your leg, like a "real" compression sock, not just a tight hiking sock. I do like the feel of the compression while I'm standing at work. I'm not sure I would wear these hiking though because they do come all the way up to my knees and I don't usually wear such a high sock for hiking. I think they would be nice for skiing though. These ultralights don't seem to be too warm so far, considering their height. Have only worn them several times so I can't say yet how they will hold up over time.
  • Reviewed by on my feet from colorado on Thursday, October 10, 2013
    I'm a doctor who works 12-36 hr shifts on my feet. Started wearing these 2 months ago to reduce ankle swelling and leg fatigue. I wear a men's 10.5 shoe and bought the size XL socks, which are a tiny bit large in the foot but good for my 17" calves. Sizing was uniform across 3 styles (ultralight, light and regular). No obvious flaws in these 2nds (the socks themselves are marked IRREGULAR, in case you're planning to give them as gifts). They are prescription-strength 20-30 mm Hg compression socks, so as others have said, you cannot pull them on like regular socks! I have not needed a special sock-donner device; just take your time and work them on gradually.
  • Reviewed by Diana H from SW Ohio on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
    They fit well and are comfortable, but not irritating like some others I have had in the past.
    I wore them the whole day after they arrived, but had a time getting one of them off at the
    end of the day. Not hot in warmer weather (70-ish degrees)
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 12 »
  • 1-10 of 116 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.