SmartWool PhD Ultralight Graduated Compression Socks - Merino Wool (For Men and Women)

2nds. Wicking, temperature regulating and designed to reduce the fatigue and speed the recovery of legs, SmartWool's PhD ultralight socks have a graduated compression design and non-cushioned sole to reduce bulk.

Average Rating based on 117 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 12 »
  • 11-20 of 117 reviews
  • Reviewed by Nice 'n Warm from OK on Monday, August 12, 2013
    These are my favorite compression socks for all seasons. The toe vent and light weight wool makes them cooler than my cotton ones in the summer and, of coarse, more cozy when it is cooler. The compression is 20-30 just as labeled. I was a bit dubious when I saw the weight, but they do the job. From STP the price is great.
  • Reviewed by OCULUS from Rensselaer, NY on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    I didn't buy these for their "compression" feature, rather their minimal padding in the sole that permits wear with fitted street shoes (as opposed to bulky boots or sneakers). They are typical SmartWool quality and the "seconds" blems are imperceptible to me.
  • Reviewed by ARG46 from Arizona on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    Fit and finish is good. Does provide just the right amount of compression so you feel "stronger" and your calfs don't get as "tired".

    However, they do get holes at the "seams" near your ankle quickly. Looks like the weave pulls apart slightly. Still wearable.
  • Reviewed by Jenny the nurse from San Francisco on Friday, April 19, 2013
    I'm a nurse, which means long hours on my feet. These are the only socks I now wear. I initially purchased 2 pair but loved them so much I bought 4 more. They greatly reduce leg fatigue and swelling. Highly recommend!
  • Reviewed by Jean from Utah on Thursday, April 18, 2013
    Following a recent knee replacement I was experiencing swelling at the ankle. These socks worked perfectly to assist in circulation and keep swelling down without covering the incision, which is still healing. In fact, they worked so well I bought a second pair. I intend to use the socks in the future on the long hikes I'll be taking once I'm fully recovered.
  • Reviewed by OkiefromOAK from California on Saturday, March 30, 2013
    Great quality socks. Comfortable except for very tight in the toes. The tightness everywhere else was good though
  • Reviewed by MCNPT from Toledo on Saturday, March 30, 2013
    I bought these for traveling and those days I sit in a course all day, and have worn them for that purpose. They were comfortable and provide appropriate compression for varicose veins.

    Melanie
  • Reviewed by misskatri from Manhattan, NY on Wednesday, March 27, 2013
    I've recently become interested in compression socks because of problems with swelling in one of my feet. These offer moderate compression which does a great job to manage my edema and yet the other leg feels great. They're a good weight to wear under any of my boots and shoes unlike most of my other wool socks. I've also noticed my feet rapidly cool off if they get too warm. So comfortable. I must get more of these.
  • Reviewed by Trulyb from Asheville, NC on Monday, March 25, 2013
    I've bought other Smartwool Phd Ultralight compression socks from STP, under another listing in black, and I needed the S to get much compression. When I tried the S in these, they wouldn't even go on my feet. Just be aware that you don't need to size down in these.
  • Reviewed by RLC from CT on Saturday, March 23, 2013
    WOW. what great socks. as i get older i benefit from a little bit of compression and these socks fit the bill. the merino wool is of good quality and extremely soft. try a pair and see if you agree!!!!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 12 »
  • 11-20 of 117 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.