Smith Optics Hideout Polarchromic Sunglasses - Polarized, Photochromic

Closeouts. With a modern profile, Smith Optics' Hideout Polarchromic sunglasses boast advanced lens technologies to reduce glare and automatically adjust to lighting levels on the road or on the water.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by just ross from wyoming on Saturday, May 3, 2014
    I've used Smith Optics for over 20 years, this is the right lens for fishing Western waters and with this trend in frames toward larger side panels internal glare is reduced considerably while strengthening the weakest spot in the frames.
  • Reviewed by Dave from San Diego on Sunday, December 29, 2013
    Great fit and quality although one hinge seems a little loose but I can live with it!
  • Reviewed by Sunny Side Up from California on Friday, December 27, 2013
    These glasses provide outstanding clarity in the field. They take a little getting used to at first because they don't block as much light as traditional grey lenses (my Maui Jim's), but they have a nice contour that keeps direct sunlight from coming in through the sides. These glasses are good for driving as well, especially if you have tinted windows on the side of your vehicle.
    I would recommend these glasses for Trap and Skeet shooters because of the clarity.
    Haven't fished with them yet.
  • Reviewed by Dave from Southern California on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    These are the best glasses I've ever owned! Can't beat the price.
  • Reviewed by A.C. from charleston, wv on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    Crystal clear and the polarization is very impressive.
  • Reviewed by electric from So Cal on Saturday, December 21, 2013
    These are some really nice sun glasses I have a big head and fit perfect also really clear and awesome for driving took a chance with a brand I have never owned and I am extremely pleased.
  • Reviewed by Delta Zulu from CA on Thursday, November 21, 2013
    So far so good. Comfortable and snug. I can wear these shades while driving later into the afternoon when the light begins to fade. So I am assuming they are doing their job.
  • Reviewed by GratefulD_420 from Reno - Lake Tahoe on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    Comparing to many, many nice Bolle's, many nice and few high end Serengeti's. These are the highest overall quality.

    Full Fit cutting out glare coming in from sides, glass optics are high quality, photochromic works well (wish the range was a little darker in brightest, however it still defeats the glare in the brightest.) Really great in dim light.

    bit heavy...but if you want to cover your whole eyes and be sturdy.... then its what you expect.

    gonna give it another month or so to see if the lenses dont' delaminate like the photochromic Serengetti;s by the eyebrows due to sweat and how they take a hit or two (so far no hits no scratches 4 weeks in). Then I will buy another. If there are gone... I will shop for this version next generation.
  • Reviewed by Roaring Fork Jimmy from Glenwood Springs CO on Wednesday, November 6, 2013
    I have always liked Smith Optics frames, both ultralight and regular, but never cared for their lenses. As a result, I've been wearing Costa Del Mar polarized-glass lenses for the past 10 years. Fishing friends of mine recommended I try the Smith's again, and so I purchased these on clearance from STP. Knowing that STP would allow me to try them on and return them for any reason was an important factor.

    The frames are solidly built, with nice metal hinges. They are fairly "blocky" looking, but I think a little more rounded along the bottom edge than they appear in the photo. They fit snugly and wrap well; my hat/helmet size is large to extra large. The frames fit me as good or better than any glass-lens Costa I've worn. There is little if any slippage.

    The lenses are very good. They are not as sharp, in my opinion, as Costas. The tint, while described as copper, leans strongly toward amber, i.e. - more yellow than red. I wear a copper 580G lens in my Costa's, and I think Costa's copper lens is more balanced and vibrant, and blocks considerably more light. It took me several days to become comfortable with the Smith amber tint. I was considering returning these until I took them down to the river on an October afternoon. With the sun low in the sky, I switched between the Smiths and Costas and discovered the value of the photochromic lens. These glasses do seem to allow more light under low and variable light conditions. This allowed me to better see detail under the water, which is important for sight fishing. I'm keeping these glasses, and plan to use them in lower light conditions. I think these are good everyday, all-conditions glasses for activities where a glass lens is appropriate. They are definitely among the best glasses I have worn.
  • Reviewed by MNMike from Minnesota on Monday, November 4, 2013
    I love em. Not my first pair of Smiths and not my last. Great for fishing, driving, in the wood
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.