Customer Reviews Of:
Smith Optics Maze Ski Helmet

Closeouts. Escape the tangled labyrinth of heavy, bulky helmets and embrace the modern, lightweight design of Smith Optics Maze ski helmet.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 4.333333 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andrea from Upstate New York on Saturday, December 13, 2014
    I haven't used it yet, but It looks like it will be a good helmet. Note that the description says the air vents are plugable, but only by repositioning the lining. There is no switch to open and close the vents. I'm unsure about the fit because I've never had a ski helmet before, so I'm not sure if it fits right. I got it in the Mint color (I think it's sold out now), which is more green than it looked in the picture.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kaylyn B. from Colorado on Monday, December 1, 2014
    This helmet is good for warm days on the mountain because it is light weight breathable. If it is cold, I pair it with a hat and it has worked so far. I love that it is so light-weight.
  • Reviewed by JDiRenzo from Lebanon NH on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
    I picked this helmet out because I did not want a heavy bulky helmet and it was advertised as lightweight. As advertised it is light and it needed only very minor tweaks to adjust the size. On the mountain you basically forget that it is even there. The fit was snug and warm and the helmet did not move independent of my head.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mr. Bobo from Norfolk, VA on Monday, February 18, 2013
    Seems like a good product, but it will be a few more days before it's first use. It felt comfortable and like it will keep my head warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Just snow already! from Spencertown, NY on Monday, January 14, 2013
    The front vent blows down over your goggles to keep the snow guns from frosting them. This is good, but without a thin hat underneath the helmet, it's pretty cold.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kaleboy from Salem, Ct on Wednesday, January 9, 2013
    nice helmet overall
    head phones zip in
    there is no way to close the vents
  • Reviewed by CentralO from Oregon on Tuesday, December 4, 2012
    I just started wearing a helmet for skiing after a near-fatal crash into a rock a few years ago. The Maze is super lightweight and very comfortable. I generally wear "large" or "medium-large" headwear, but the "medium" Maze fits me best. It was slightly tight at first, but broke-in perfectly - I'm a 58cm. The medium may be a tad big if you wear 56cm, but should be good for a 57-58cm. I'd even use this helmet for climbing, sans ear pads, if I had to.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aussie Miss from Australia on Tuesday, May 1, 2012
    First time I have worn a helmet but I think it will be good
    • Best Uses: Snowboarding
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easily Adjustable, Great Peripheral Vision, Lightweight, Well Ventilated
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by theoflow from New York, NY on Wednesday, March 21, 2012
    I am a big fan of the Smith Maze primarily due to the weight and low profile. The fit is as low as I have had for my head type, and the weight savings is significant. I do usually ride without the earpads though to cut down on weight. The only nitpick that I have is that there aren't too many vents so if you aren't moving, air won't circulate like some of the other helmets with a lot of vents.
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Half Pipe, Park, Snowboarding
    • Cons: Not Well Ventilated
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Protective, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by: