Smith Sport Optics Variant Brim Helmet - Snowsport

Closeouts. The Smith Sport Optics Variant Brim snowsport helmet represents the cutting edge of safety and advanced air flow control with style that is guaranteed to turn heads.

  • AirEvac Airflow system lets you adjust the vents on the fly
  • Impact-resistant ABS shell with visor and goggle clip
  • Breathable mesh liner with X-Static® antimicrobial protection
  • HFS size-adjust system for a secure fit
  • Adjustable chin strap with fleece sheath
  • Weight: 1 lb. 3 oz.
  • Material: ABS with synthetic lining and foam padding
  • Made in China
  • Meets ASTM F 2040 standard for non-motorized recreational snowsports and other alpine sports; meets CE standard prEN 10-77
  • Visit our Alpine Skiing Guide

Average Rating based on 35 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 35 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Summer from Seattle on Thursday, July 05, 2012
    Just didn't quite have the same fit at some of the other Smith helmets, felt tight near the temples/side of head so adjusting the fit at the back didn't fix this.
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Janels from Highlands ranch, CO on Friday, February 24, 2012
    I got this helmet for myself, even though it appeared to be a men's helmet. I liked the brim, wanted to use it easily with Smith goggles, and liked the idea it could be used with my IPhone. This iPhone integration wasn't highlighted in the description, but I saw it in a review. I would have preferred a black color, but the gunmetal is quite dark. It does integrate perfectly with my Smith goggles and, although there are no instructions, I finally figured out what to unzip and where to place the earbud cord. It does work quite well with the iPhone, but you have no choice which side the cord comes out, and you have to hope your ski wear has a corresponding pocket high on that side. I found I had to go with an interior pocket and snake the cord up under my gator. The sound is perfect. The helmet does offer some visor protection, and Smith goggles fit under the visor perfectly. It is not quite as comfortable as my older helmet, which seems to be a tradeoff on padding and comfort for a ventilated all season removable liner. On windy days, the wind does whistle through the ear pads. It is adjustable with a wheel in the back, which just tightens the plastic structure around the head. I felt it wasn't as padded on the inside top, probably for ventilation reasons, and felt like it pulled my hair a bit. All in all, ought, it is worth it for a lightes, more stylish helmet; and, it made me feel great seeing the identical helmet ( in nicer color choices) for many times the great price
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Skiing
    • Cons: Not as padded as some
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Easily Adjustable, Great Peripheral Vision, Headphone Compatible, Lightweight, Protective, Stylish, Well Ventilated
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by TW from CF,MT on Friday, February 24, 2012
    I bought this helmet to replace an old Leedom, but I am going to keep using the old one. My head and ears about froze in this Smith and had to buy a wind proof beanie to keep skiing. With my old helmet I was always warm without anything else on my head. Also at high speeds the wind noise is almost unbearable.
    • Best Uses: Skiing
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Pros: Like the visor
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Janels from Highhlands Ranch, Co. on Monday, January 23, 2012
    I bought this helmet because I wanted a new one with a brim that was more attractive. I had a great black Carrera, that was incredibly protective and comfortable, but it always looked like a bowling ball on my head. I also have Smith goggles, and I wanted good helmet-goggle integratiom. This one has a good visor, looks minimalistic. And integrates perfectly with Smith goggles--in fact I even bought more goggles because I knew they would work well. I was worried I wouldn't get the protection because it looks less helmety, but compared side by side, they are about the same coverage, but this looks sleeker. The men's small fit me well, although it was only available in the gunmetal, it looks good. The top of the head doesn't feel quite as padded as the Carrera, and sometimes seems to pull my hair, bip that may be because it has so many vent adjustments. Here is a neat wheel at the back of the helmet that will size it smaller. I used some of the fitting pads left over from the Carrera to put some extra protection just over the ears where the plastic size adjustment arms are uncovered.I didn't even know about the earbud iPhone integration until reading another post. It works well with the original flat iPhone -iPod earbuds, as there is a place for them to nestle in on each ear flap. And a place for the cord joining them to run behind the neck. All this is reachable through a long zipper I never would have noticed. The only awkward ing is that the talk switch on the earbuds has to be outside the helmet, and gets tangled in e chin strap--or maybe just mine--and then the iPhone has to be close enough to the end of e cord to connect. In my case, I was wearing a one-piece ski suit, which had a pocket inside the zipper, which meant that, to acommodate the cord, e zipper could not be fully zipped. It also had another negative for women, in that, to use e restroom, we have to take down the top of the ski suit. For me, forgetting about the wiring connection, this meant the wire popped out of the phone, and the pressure on the earbuds unseated them a bit. I'm now going to be wearing separates! After skiing, I went into several ski shops and saw the identical helmet, albeit in better colors, but all had it for the retail [$]! This is a great deal, and, althought possibly not quite as comfortable as my bowling ball helmet, this is still quite comfortable, light weight and ventilated. I wish they had one in my husband's size--and so does he!!
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Skiing
    • Cons: A little harder to fit
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easily Adjustable, Great Peripheral Vision, Headphone Compatible, Lightweight, Protective, Stylish, Well Ventilated
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rower412 from Utah on Monday, December 19, 2011
    Love the helmet. A little tricky to adjust the helmet part (chin strap is easy), but once it is adjusted I doubt my head will change size! So not that big of a deal. Really like the visor.
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Cons: Difficult to Adjust
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Peripheral Vision, Lightweight, Protective, Stylish, Well Ventilated
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rollie1982 from Carmel, Indiana on Monday, December 12, 2011
    Have not tried the audio drop-ins yet...but other reviews indicate they work well.
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easily Adjustable, Headphone Compatible, Stylish, Well Ventilated
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Herb the sportsman from El Paso, TX on Saturday, December 10, 2011
    Nothing fancy, I just downhill ski and this works great. I usually ski in a ball cap but the brim on this helmet worked just as well.
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Skiing
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easily Adjustable, Great Peripheral Vision, Lightweight, Protective, Well Ventilated
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave from Albuquerque on Tuesday, December 06, 2011
    I had a Giro helmet with Visor and it bugged that I could never lift my goggles over it to rest on the helmet, but with the Smith, no problem. It also looks more streamline.
    • Best Uses: Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Pros: Easily Adjustable, Headphone Compatible, Stylish, Well Ventilated
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pvalure from Middletown, NY on Monday, December 05, 2011
    I have been trying to get my boyfriend to wear a helmet snowboarding for a while. He's tried on almost every one out there and this was his favorite. Of course it's the pricey one, but Sierra had a great deal in his size. He likes it because it is lightweight, plenty of vents and the vent slider is easy to work with. I got the gunmetal color, looks good, hopefully he will wear it. Also looking for a goggle upgrade and it will probably be Smith just for compatibility. I'm tempted to upgrade my old helmet now, a little jealous of his. Definitely recommended.
    • Best Uses: Half Pipe, Park, Snowboarding
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easily Adjustable, Lightweight, Protective, Stylish, Well Ventilated
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Train from Northern Utah on Monday, December 05, 2011
    If you are going to wear a helmet I don't think it can get better than the Variant Brim. For me it is the least ridiculous looking helmet you can buy right now.
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Half Pipe, Park, Racing, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easily Adjustable, Great Peripheral Vision, Headphone Compatible, Lightweight, Protective, Stylish, Well Ventilated
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 35 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.