Snake River Book Company Western Trout Fly Tying Manual - Book and DVD Set

Closeouts. The Western Trout Fly Tying Manual by Jack Dennis is a true classic first published in 1973. This latest edition includes a DVD to help you learn to tie the most popular fly patterns used in the Western USA. Large fly dictionary-glossary offers characteristics for dozens of flies not demonstrated in the step-by-step guide.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Reviewed by El Grillo from Panhandle of Texas on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    I have a well-worn first printing of Western Trout Fly Tying Manual, recommended to me in the mid-1970's. The new book is a gift for a beginning fly tyer, and I hope it helps him as much as edition has helped me. The new version has a plastic ring-binder to allow easier reference at the vise.
  • Reviewed by Sloop from NC on Thursday, November 21, 2013
    My son, who is 13, loves this manual and DVD set. Great for those just starting to learn techniques. Price can't be beat.
  • Reviewed by FireHawkC3100 from Riverside County, CA on Monday, March 4, 2013
    Was gift. LIked by receiver.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CBRogers from Yorktown, Va. on Monday, April 12, 2010
    This is a nice package, and good for a semi beginer like me.
    • Best Uses: Fresh Water, Salt Water
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Functional
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old Buzzard from Wrangell AK on Tuesday, February 2, 2010
    The manual is ho hum, but the DVD,s are good
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Easy To Use
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Midge fisher from Lakeside, AZ on Wednesday, December 30, 2009
    Outstanding combo of video and fly tying book.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Let's go! from Wyoming on Sunday, December 13, 2009
    Awesome book, incredible buy. This has been on my wishlist for years.
    • Best Uses: Fly-Tying
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Easy To Use
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MOTO from PA on Saturday, November 14, 2009
    GREAT FOR NOVICE OR EXPERT!!
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Novice
    • Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Great Design, Lightweight, Versatile
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fishalot from SW Missouri on Thursday, September 10, 2009
    This is the book that I learned to tie with 30 years ago. My buddy had a copy and I was able to learn everything I know from it. Great time-tested patterns. Recommended for any fly-tier
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Easy To Use, Great Design
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by VF from Woodinville, WA on Thursday, September 3, 2009
    This is an excellent manual of basic Western fly patterns. The instructions and materials for all 52 flies shown in the book are there - wet, dry, nymphs, and streamers - some, with variations also listed. The instructions and their photographs are in black and white, but there are 4 color plates in the center of the book with color photographs of all of the flies discussed. The book is spiral bound and so can be folded back on itself or laid flat to work with. There are 2 DVDs included in this set - Tying Western Trout Flies, and Understanding Fly Tying Basics. PLEASE NOTE - the 2nd DVD listed above contains the same exact footage as the 2 DVDs in the Jack Dennis "Fly Tying Basics and Materials" DVD set also offered on STP, an excellent instructional set. So, if you buy this item, you don't need to get "Fly Tying Basics and Materials", you'll already have it. With this set, you get the book, both of those DVDs and the Western Trout Fly Tying DVD - a great value.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Fisher
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.