SOG was founded in 1986 with a goal of creating innovative knives, cutlery and multi-tools that stand apart from the pack. SOG has grown to offer a wide range of SOG knives, including SOG fixed blade knives and SOG folding knives, as well as SOG multi-tools and SOG tomahawks. SOG has over 50 patents for their unique knife and tool designs and is considered an innovator in the cutlery industry. SOG multi-tools are extremely tough and utilize pa ... Learn more about SOGtented technology to deliver top-notch performance. SOG tomahawks are made with top-quality stainless steel and versatile enough for a myriad of uses. ... Less
Average Rating based on 411 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 42 »
  • 1-10 of 411 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GB from Florida on Monday, December 15, 2014
    While many gripe that this is a Spyderco rip-off, many companies, even Buck have used this design, so SOG is not the sole offender if there even is one. The knife is amazingly light and it is super grippy, my gripe is that even though it is designed to switch the clip to the other side, there is no way to hold the other side stationary so that the torx screw will come out, so it just spins and really is not changeable for us lefities after all. For right handers that carry tip up, I highly recommend this knife as an EDC for its sub 3oz weight!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mudbug from WI on Sunday, November 23, 2014
    Still evaluating, had it for a few weeks. Resharpened nicely. Long comfortable handle, and notched metal where I rest my thumb.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ski Freak from Michigan on Sunday, October 19, 2014
    This knife is light and carries well when walking, hiking or running. The blade is sharp and the handle fits my hand well. A nice value for the money.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hartley Lake Adventurer from Ohio on Saturday, September 13, 2014
    Let me begin by giving the folding saw top marks and highlighting that this works very well. On the other hand, the axe would receive 2 to maybe 3 stars. With any SOG product, the quality of the material is fine. My biggest issue with the axe is that handle. SOGs design has it so that 1/8th inch of the steel sticks out from the handle causing an uncomfortable feel/grip. Recognizing that this is not designed for heavy use, I still question whether blisters will arise from "average" camp use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MBSCREEN7 from Los Angeles on Monday, August 11, 2014
    Both seem solidly built and functional, though to be honest I haven't had to use either one yet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WP from Texas on Wednesday, July 23, 2014
    Haven't taken it out for any field experience but so far it seems sturdy and durable. I really like that the base of the tang is designed to be used like a hammer.

    It does have two downsides: (1) the blade came VERY dull (2) there isn't a lanyard to put around your wrist...

    So pull out the whetstone and just be careful when you take a full swing.
  • Reviewed by JamesD from Nebraska on Wednesday, July 09, 2014
    The set seems to be of reasonable quality but...

    The hand axe doesn't have a lot of mass which makes it more packable but you'll be chopping a lot longer with it than a heavier model.
    The back of the hand axe is narrow so you won't be pounding in any tent pegs with it.
    You definitely want to wear gloves with the hand axe due to the way the handle is designed. The tang(?) does not line up with the plastic(?) part of the handle.

    The shovel is pretty small so you won't be digging much besides cat holes with it.
    I'm not sure the 1 1/2 lbs weight justifies the improvement over a trowel unless you are digging in really hard ground.
    For car camping it's definitely worth it but then I could use a bigger shovel and beefier axe.
    If I had to dig a fox hole and had to carry it in my pack then carrying this would be a no brainer though the WWII style folding GI shovels seem a bit more capable due to the larger size.

    The saw is actually my favorite part of the package. The blade locks open or closed and has pretty aggressive teeth.
    My saw blade is not silver (metallic), it is black which I actually like but the front of the handle is still metallic.
    Either make it look all shiny or all low vis but mixing them kinda defeats the purpose of either.
    The blade always strikes the handle when closing it.

    Don't get me wrong, all the pieces are quite functional and seem to be well made.
    The sheaths seem sturdy and the warranty is great.
    I also paid barely more for the set than I would for just a cheap folding saw.
    For the price I paid I give it 4 stars but if I had to pay regular price I'd probably only give it a 3.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Satisfied SOG user from Massachusetts on Monday, June 23, 2014
    I'm an avid outdoorsman and former Marine. I know quality product when I use it. I used these 3 tools while on a camping trip in the back country of Vermont and i have no complaints at all. The hatchet was sharp and well balanced. I wouldn't have been able to cut kindling to start a fire without it. It is not large, so don't think it will replace an ax. The saw blade was a tad wobbly, but it was sturdy enough to easily go through 6" diameter limbs quickly. The shovel'pick was smaller than I expected, but worked great. I did not use it in any extremely strenuous situations, just digging holes for.... well... i was digging small holes while camping. The carrying cases for each tool were durable and serve their purpose. They have a webbed loop on the back of each for attaching to a belt, but I would like to have had a clip for attaching to a backpack. Still, each item is small enough and light enough to pack easily. I'm extremely happy with this purchase. They make backwoods camping much easier and survivable. Exactly what I'd expect from SOG.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Strada from Seattle on Thursday, June 19, 2014
    The entrenching tool is very compact. I have not used this but feels solid and locks the shovel head in 180 or 90 degree positions. The machete is a good size, easy to swing unit. The blade is thick and holds shape when cutting instead of bending like some lesser models. The handle shape is easy to grip for swinging the knife edge - not so well when using the back side for sawing.. I hit a couple of rocks while cutting low and the edge held up. A couple of swipes with a sharpener and it was good to go again.
  • Reviewed by Wiley out West from So Cal on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    And that's unfortunately the only one of the three that's good. Yes the hatchet is a decent compact lightweight option for backpacking. But, as for the other two tools...well, the first shovel I received the tightening nut would not screw down all the way which left a blade that just flopped around. Unfortunately the saw wasn't any better because the cheep plastic cover on the lock fell off immediately when I took it out of the package. Then with just opening and closing of the saw blade a few times to look at it, the pin managed to work itself out about 90%. Luckily I caught it just before it fell out and was lost in my garage. Try finding that 1/2" piece of pencil lead in the woods at night...good luck Chuck, you'll still be looking in the morning. Well, STP did send a prompt replacement, and SOG apparently does have a lifetime guarantee, hence the three stars. P.S. Don't count on digging anything bigger than a hole to poop in with the e-tool, because it's only slightly larger than a hand trowel, and unfortunately some of the forest services require you to carry one now.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 42 »
  • 1-10 of 411 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;