Sorel Alpha Trac Buckle Winter Pac Boots - Waterproof, Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Look to Sorel's Alpha Trac buckle winter pac boots for warmth and weather protection in extremely cold and snowy conditions. The waterproof vulcanized rubber shell keeps snow out where it belongs, and the removable ThermoPlus® Xtreme InnerBoot holds warmth close in frigid conditions.

Average Rating based on 39 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 39 reviews
  • Reviewed by CJMagiera from Western Ma on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    Purchased for standing around in snow for long periods of time. Warm. But after hour, cold conduction began stealing heat away from feet. Boots need to be thicker underneath by adding a liner or some kind of thermo insert under foot or there is no advanage to such large PAC boots over smaller and less clunky boots for my limited purposes.

    Stylist and trendy young ladies in office really liked looks of more sporty looking boot over usual sorel caribou reserve boot ( which was what I was looking for originally, and this was a few hundred dollars less with an additional 20 degree cold rating).

    Took long time, 10 days or so to get these delivered. Seems STP is slower then they used to be on delivery.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JC from Oshkosh, WI on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    Warm pac boots and a good value. Sorel produces outstanding boots made to last. Color sceme may not work for everyone but I like the look.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by corprimo from Palmer, Alaska on Monday, March 12, 2012
    Lighter than my old Sorel boots, but not as much insulation. I bought half size up, still a bit of a struggle to get on and fastened. I'd rate them down to zero degrees.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow
    • Cons: Difficult Entry & Exit, Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Avid outdoors family from Upstate NY on Wednesday, January 25, 2012
    I bought these for my 15 yo- he is difficult to buy for. He really likes them- the are different, stylish and not like his fathers hunting boots!They keep his size 14's "toasty and cool" at the same time.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow
    • Cons: Bulky, Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Reviewed by StevieB from Sault Ste Marie Ont on Tuesday, January 10, 2012
    Though very warm, mine are not waterproof. I wore them once in about 8 inches of snow, for about 2 hours. When i got home, my feet were warm, but the liner was wet, as was the entire inside of the boot. Unfortunately i will have to return them. My wife thinks they are ugly, but i like the unique look of them. I was hoping they wete my next extreme boot. If they were truly waterproof, they would be bombproof.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow
    • Cons: A bit hard to walk in
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Extremely warm, Good Traction, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by George all for having fun from minnesota on Tuesday, January 03, 2012
    The last pair of Sorels I purchased 12 years ago. Not sure why I waited that long to purchase another pair other that they just never wore out. Comfort and quality of product is just crazy.
    • Best Uses: After Skiing/Snowboarding, All around including, Cold Weather, Snow
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Why did I wait 12 years
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frank the Tank from Steamboat Springs, Co on Tuesday, January 03, 2012
    The boots were given to me as a X-mas present. These boots are warm and waterproof. They are also heavy and bulky. Great for snowmobiling, but I would not want to walk very far in them. The gray color scheme is kind of ugly, but your snow pants will be covering them up anyway.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow
    • Cons: Bulky, Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Professional Guide
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by B outside alot from Bloomington ID on Wednesday, December 28, 2011
    I use these boots for ice-fishing and as all around winter/snow-boots. Boots are very comfortable, warm, and waterproof. I can spend all day out ice-fishing and my feet stay warm. work great in all conditions. I am very satisfied with these boots.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Slippery Terrain, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jifpa from Coburn, PA on Tuesday, December 27, 2011
    These boots are just too hard ti get on.
    • Cons: Difficult Entry & Exit, Not Comfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by johnny from damascus, md on Monday, December 26, 2011
    most posts say get size bigger - i wear a 9.5 and should have ordered a size 9. doing an exchange.
    • Best Uses: After Skiing/Snowboarding, Cold Weather, Slippery Terrain, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Difficult Entry & Exit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Capt Chan from Key Largo, Florida on Friday, December 23, 2011
    Visited Alaska in December and stayed warm in below 0 degree weather.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Traction, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mrs BA Williams from Salt Lake City, Utah on Thursday, December 22, 2011
    The boot was super sweet. Unfortunately, I had to return it because it was too big for my husband. He thought the boot was great and would have wanted the same one, but the size he needed was sold out. The boot fits really big.
    • Best Uses: After Skiing/Snowboarding, Cold Weather, Slippery Terrain, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Difficult Entry & Exit, Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Good Traction, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mrbull from sawatch range colorado on Monday, December 19, 2011
    When I first put them on OMG what have I gotten into--Not too good to drive my pickup with----Just retruned from 30 miles on snowmobile 10 to over 12000 feet. 10 degrees when trip started and 30 at the end, Breaking in the boots, feet were always warm, Just a bit snug for my D width and heel a little loose but I think they will slowly conform. comfortable did need to adjust/tighten middle strap several times--Overall pretty happy--Hope they hold up as good as my old sorel caribou.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dev Null from Flagstaff AZ on Friday, December 16, 2011
    I've been wearing these for a couple of weeks now in the snow. They're warm, waterproof, and have good traction. Excellent for walking the dogs up in the woods or shoveling the driveway. They're easy to put on if you use the handle built-in to the back of the liner, and that handle is built-in to the structure of the boot, so its not going to tear off like the cloth tabs on many similar boots. Overall, it seems to be sturdy and well-made.

    They are, however, PAC boots. They're big, ugly things that look like part of a NASA spacesuit. Doesn't bother me any for walking in the woods, but don't expect to be making a fashion statement. Also, they're a bit annoying to get off again; thats the trade-off you get for a snugger more comfortable fit, and I think its worth it, but if you're looking for something you can just kick off at the front door this isn't quite the right boot for you.
    • Best Uses: After Skiing/Snowboarding, Slippery Terrain, Snow
    • Cons: Difficult Exit, Ugly
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy entry, Good Traction, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ace from Park Rapids, MN on Wednesday, December 07, 2011
    Great for walking, cutting wood, fishing, anything that you're up to in the cold and snow.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Slippery Terrain, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Ice Fishing, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mom from colorado on Monday, December 05, 2011
    great for climbing mountains in the snow! very warm!!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by outdoor addict from upstate New York on Sunday, December 04, 2011
    I have had these boots for 3 weeks so far and have used them everyday during the big game hunting season here in NY. The boots have been very comfortable, warm and dry. I have been in water up over my ankle and my feet have remained dry. There are no laces to come untied and the buckles have worked great, You just need to tighten the straps as you break the boots in. I would recommend these boots.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Slippery Terrain, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Hunting, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Indoors Stink from Maine on Wednesday, November 30, 2011
    My father had bought these boot last year and this year I decided they were the best way to go. The price was unbeatable. I got them and had to put them on right away. There comfortable, stylish, rugged, and waterproof. The rubber sole goes up to my ankle and wraps around my toes, so it's 100% waterproof. The other material is also waterproof making the boot awesome for any outdoor activity. They have buckles to secure your foot also which adds style, convenience, and easy exit and entry. The shock cord on top keeps all the weather elements out. So when you step into 2 feet of snow and your snow pants decides to go up to your knee, the snow will stay and your foot will stay dry. I always had a hard time to get a good boot because my feet get cold easy. Now I can go ice fishing and stand out on the lake all day without getting cold. My favorite season is winter so I need good apparel and shoes to stay warm. These boots will keep me warm and I won't be held back from want I want and can do. When the boot is rated for -60 degrees, its true. Its not lying and trying to make the boot sound better then what it is, but simply giving facts. I'm pleased with my boots and I bet you would be too.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, ice fishing, Slippery Terrain, Snow, snowmobiling, Wet Conditions
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Ice Fishing, Snowmobiling, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Rugged, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bel from twin cities on Wednesday, November 30, 2011
    I purchased these boots for my 10 yr. old son. He usually wears a size 7-7 1/2 in tennis shoes I ordered a 9 in the Sorel. They fit big but he wears 2 pairs of winter wool socks. He has been out in the snow a couple of times only a few inches but when he came in he was so excited about how the boot kept his feet warm and dry.These boots are just what we were looking for. My son is big for his age and I'm glad we could find awesome boots that still have the tie at the top to keep snow out and the two clips are a plus. The only draw back is that snow gets in the clips. But this isn't a big deal. The boots were a great buy and I have told many people about STP!!!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Slippery Terrain, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mother of California Kid from Upstate New York on Monday, November 28, 2011
    These were purchased for my son, he works at a North West ski resort. Keeps his feet dry and warm.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Work at Ski Resort
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by POOLEMAN from NORTHEAST on Sunday, November 20, 2011
    EXCELLANT BOOT AT GREAT PRICE
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J LOCKER from Buford, Wyoming on Friday, November 18, 2011
    Great for deep snow and very cold weather. I use them for walking my dogs and shoveling snow when it is deep and the weather very bad.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Difficult Entry & Exit
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Former 805 from Michigan on Thursday, November 17, 2011
    Bought these boots for use in casual winter activities and clearing snow. No doubt that they are warm, just not comfortable walking around in. Felt more like wearing a pair of ski boots. Also, on exit the liner had a tendency to come out with my foot. Not a big deal but sent them back and looked for something a little more comfortable for locomotion. These would be great for snowmobiling.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow
    • Cons: Bulky, Clunky, Diificult Exit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Dane from North Carolina on Thursday, November 17, 2011
    I wish I had taken the time to read the reviews before clicking "buy". Even with the buckles unsnapped they require a good strong pull to get on. Fastening the buckles and adjusting the straps does little to adjust their fit since the outer shell is so stiff. The elastic cord & spring closure at the top is barely strong enough to overcome the stiffness of the gaitor material and slips open when walking or bending over.

    With the reinforced pads on the front and support "framework" I am really surprised that these are advertised as general use pack boots and not a snowboarding boots.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Sitting
    • Cons: Bulky, Difficult Entry & Exit, Gator Doesn't Stay Closed, Not Comfortable, Stiff
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Miley from Wausau, WI on Wednesday, November 16, 2011
    My job is washing rental cars so I outside all day every day.... In the winter is the worse having the cold, snow and water not a gold combo.. These boots are the best I have ever had.. Feet never wet.. Cold, don't even have to think about it...
    Thank you for making a very warm waterproof boot with style :)
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: A little Wide, Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cold foots wife from Denton, TX on Monday, November 14, 2011
    these boots are well made and comfortable.I bought these for my husband and he says for the first time his feet stay dry and warm! He absolutely loves them and can't wait to use them in the snow this year! The delivery was FAST! I think it was all of 2 days and they came, you can't beat that! I would recommend these to anyone.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Slippery Terrain, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim the traveler from Dover, FL on Friday, November 11, 2011
    I bought these for an upcoming Yellowstone snowmobile trip. My previous boots were borderline warm enough. I owned Pac boots as a kid in Michigan and they were the warmest by far of any boots I had. I decided to return to my roots so to speak and bought these. Haven't had them in the snow yet, so I can't respond about waterproofness yet. They're stiff, but they're not broken in yet, so that's to be expected. They are well made, and have all the features to make them a good pair of snowmobile boots. The removable liners are a plus, because if they get damp from perspiration or some snow gets by the drawcord top, you can remove them and dry them overnight for a pair of warm dry boots again in the morning. The style/graphics are a bit much for my tastes, (the silver shin guard makes them look like superhero boots) but for warm feet, I just don't care. All in all, a good buy at STP's prices.
    • Best Uses: snowmobiling
    • Cons: Stiff when new
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Patrick's mom from Upstate NY on Monday, November 07, 2011
    My 14 year old got these just in time for the early northeastern snow storm. He loves the way they look and feel and that there is a loop to hold on to so the liner doesn't slip into the boot when you are putting it on.
    • Best Uses: After Skiing/Snowboarding, Cold Weather, Slippery Terrain, Snow, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Iowanodak from Cedar Rapids, IA on Tuesday, November 01, 2011
    Comfortable, warm, cool looking boots that have worked perfect for snowmobiling.
    • Best Uses: snowmobiling
    • Cons: Don't Breathe
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Easy Entry & Exit, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GoHike from Billings, MT on Sunday, October 23, 2011
    The boots are great, but they are far too large in the ankle and calf, for me. I am 6'2" and 155lbs. The boot fit great in the foot with a size 10 (they run a bit big), but I could not even begin to tighten them down enough to fit my legs.
    • Best Uses: Photographing Polar Bears
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 39 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #