Customer Reviews Of:
Sperry Top-Sider SON-R Buckle Water Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Like having an amphibious vehicle buckled to your feet, Sperry's Top-Sider SON-R Buckle water shoes are specially designed with SON-R Technology to help your feet respond to the ever-changing outdoor terrain. A Hydro-Grip rubber outsole with raised traction pods lends grip on slippery surfaces, and protection at the toe and heel shield from hidden water hazards.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews 4.294117 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by outdorfella from L.A. on Wednesday, July 10, 2013
    I know sizes vary from manufacturer to manufacturer but the smallest size I'm able to wear on shoes it's a 7. I order a 7 on these and were still a tad bit big. It fit too loose. The strap was tighten all the way and still felt my foot loose. So, just because of the size I can't rate it any higher due to the face that I couldn't use them at all.
  • Reviewed by stephane from quebec, canada on Monday, April 15, 2013
    nice shoes they drain and dry fast and are not slippery at all in the water
  • Reviewed by Fred R from Northwest AR on Monday, April 1, 2013
    Because I teach in the water 5 days a week, I stay in water shoes most of the time. However I also teach fitness on land and need to be able to go from water to land and have added support in my shoes. Because this shoe has a removable insole, which has proven good support, you can place your own arch support inside, or simply go with the current support of the shoe. I also like the strap and buckle, this gives additional support to your arches and keeps the shoe snug on your foot in water, or on land.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kat from Ausytalia on Sunday, January 6, 2013
    they are difficult to put on but they stay on well even when walking through mud. Bought for walking in rivers with stony beds.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yakka from Sydney, Australia on Monday, October 15, 2012
    Have used the Top-siders 4 times since receiving them. All kayaking trips of 10 - 30klm and am very impressed with the performance and the extra cushioning against the foot pegs, which was a major issue with my previous footwear.

    Initially found them slippery on the inner-sole when wet but with adjustments have alleviated this problems.

    I have waded along sandy beaches, walked over rocks (some oyster rock) and done some bush trekking with these so far and am very happy with the performance.

    Don't buy these if you're looking for a warm shoe though, especially when wet, but they do drain well and dried reasonably fast.
    • Best Uses: Kayaking, Rock Hopping, Water Wear
    • Cons: Too soon to tell
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Comfortable, Drains well, Dries Well, Great grip, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by D from chicago,Il on Monday, September 3, 2012
    Even after the third exchange the fit was strange. THe bigger size didnt cut it in a water shoe and then when I got down to a size that was choking my foot the heel still lifted. I will use for short duration water time, to avoid foot pain and limit the chance of the shoe being left behind in mud or muck after my heel lifts out. Maybe just to shower at the gym but I am not mailing back a fourth time. Live ,learn and sometime take your lumps.
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish
    • Pros: Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels full size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hippdog from arkansas on Friday, August 24, 2012
    The insole has a "bumpy" texture, evidently to keep your foot from sliding around in wet conditions. At first I didn't like it, but now my foot feels more stabile in the shoe and it massages the foot a bit. I quit noticing it within a few minutes. It's just a bit unusual, but functional, especially when wet. I bought these for daily use. super lightweight and very, very breathable. Kind of cool looking too!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Unusual insole
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Good Arch Support, GREAT FIT, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Shoe from St. Louis on Sunday, August 19, 2012
    I would say they are true to size although getting in them is a little tight. Arch support can be corrected with an insert. Good for fishing, the pool, water sports and the like.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out
    • Cons: Poor Arch Support, Poor Cushioning
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Comfortable, Great with Jeans, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hornellian from Hornell, NY on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
    Havent had it in the water yet but I did already buy the bungee shoes. I wanted these as they were a little darker (I bought the dark brown not the ugly green) and I expect that they will hide stains a little better. I dont expect anything less than the great performace the bungees provided. GREAT SHOES for $40 I bought on close out. 9.5 fit like a 9.5. These are a second pair when the other wear out, if ever - they are that good that I wanted to own a back up pair
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sda000 from Texas on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
    I have been through several pairs of shoes for kayaking. Hard to find good balance of low profile, drainability, good solid sole with traction, comfort. I have very sensitive feet and can feel every jagged stone I step on with neoprene shoes. The Son-R soles are perfect. Not too stiff so you can't scramble around stuff while portaging but saves my feet from bruising. Nice padded insole, buckle strap for cinching down tight, enough room to wear a sock. Had them on the river twice so we will see how they hold up.
    • Best Uses: Wet Weather
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Durable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2