Spyder Major Cable Core Sweater Jacket (For Women)

Closeouts. Working just as easily with a pair of snow pants as it does with jeans, Spyder's Major Cable Core sweater jacket shakes up the classic cable knit scene with bonded performance fleece on the inside.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Reviewed by SixDogSues from Tulsa, OK on Thursday, January 30, 2014
    Love this sweater - the color is actually a very nice olive and it looks great with jeans or pants/skirts. It actually looks too nice to wear skiing - definitely high quality. Great fit - true to size.
  • Reviewed by Susannahm from Fair Oaks, CA on Monday, January 13, 2014
    I am 5'7" and about 110 pounds - long and thin. I got the black in XS with high hopes. It was so tiny I couldn't zip it. Too bad - it seems really warm and a good shape.
  • Reviewed by Vicki from Cooperstown, NY on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    Beautifully made sweater, very warm, but a little short in the torso.
  • Reviewed by by the sea from Indiana on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    I really love the feel of the sweater. It is snug. I will be a great addition to my layers. It is very pretty.
  • Reviewed by KPQ in CO from Denver, CO on Monday, November 25, 2013
    This sweater can do double duty as both a sweater over a turtle neck, or it can be a jacket. I've worn it both ways and have gotten lots of complements. Might run a bit large, but that's okay for when you want to wear it as a jacket.
  • Reviewed by Mountain Mischief from Laurel Highlands, PA on Thursday, November 14, 2013
    I had purchased the Spyder Major Cable Core sweater vest and LOVED it... so I decided I needed the Major Cable Core sweater jacket too. I purchased the jacket in Coast color in a size Medium. I am 5'4" 135 lbs, with a large chest (38D). The Coast color is gorgeous. It is a very bright vibrant turquoise blue. Not a neon turquoise, but a very deep and bright turquoise. I love the fit of the jacket-- it is very form fitting and very flattering to curves. It tapers downward in the back to cover about to mid-buns. It is fleece lined, with 2 zippered fleece lined pockets on the outside. The Spyder logo on front and back is embroidered in a silver thread. The zippers all work smoothly. The mock turtle neck is flexible so when slightly unzipped it doesn't feel like the zipper is swatting you in the face. When zipped, the length of the neck is perfect and it zips up right to the bottom of the jaw line. There is a diagonal piece of fabric that covers the top of the zipper so you don't have a scratchy zipper against your neck/chin/jaw when fully zipped up. The arms are a nice long length. As I mentioned, I am a 38D, and in a size Medium this jacket is filled out. No, I could not wear a big sweater under it. I could wear a base layer Under Armour, or even a thinner sweater or fleece. But that's it. Also- if your chest is bigger than 38D, go for the large. There is no room to spare in the Medium. The fleece and sweater material is nice and stretchy with nice memory (springs back into place after stretched out). For this reason, I would say a medium would fit a variety of body shapes, all with a snug fit. As for the warmth- yes, this would be a great mid-layer jacket under a shell. If worn alone, I can confirm that it will work for temps down to upper 30's. Once the temp drops below upper 30's, it's just not warm enough. I wore it yesterday, and when the sun was out and it was upper 30's the weight of the jacket was just right. As night fell and temps started to drop, it was just not warm enough. And this was just during a shopping trip-- I wasn't outside for hours on end. By the end of the evening, it was 27 degrees and I was FREEZING in this jacket, the cold air coming straight through it. All that said, I am still very pleased with the jacket-- I didn't buy it to wear alone in the winter-- I purchased it as more of a spring and fall jacket, and/or as a mid-layer in the winter. It will be great for sitting around the lodge while my husband is out snowboarding for hours on end. Lastly, if you are considering buying coordinating items from STP, please note that if a jacket says it's Coast color and the gloves say Coast-- YES, it is the same color! I bought a few coordinating pieces and they're all a perfect match!! Thinking of buying a few hat/gloves sets as gifts! I mean, you just can't beat STP prices, especially when you compare them to the prices at the local ski shops!
  • Reviewed by MarthaRun from Tennessee on Monday, November 11, 2013
    This jacket is very nice for wearing to the gym or back & forth to run. It is a very attractive and well fitted jacket. I think
    the size runs a little bit small but it did say "classic sizing" so I should have listened. I ordered a small and had to send
    it back for a medium. The quality cannot be beat and the jacket would be nice for skiing or biking as well. I love it!
  • Reviewed by Super sue from New york on Wednesday, November 06, 2013
    Runs very small. I ordered a medium and it was too tight.
  • Reviewed by TraveljunkieMN from Minnesota on Thursday, October 31, 2013
    I love this jacket. I left my first one on a airplane & never got it back, but I had to have another one. Then my 28 year old daughter told me she wanted one so I found this one on Sierra. I think they have been discontinued, not sure why because they are so classy looking. They are also fitted. Just a really attractive jacket.
  • Reviewed by Jboate from metrowest on Thursday, September 19, 2013
    I really like this sweater. It is a nice weight - good for the lodge without getting overheated, and also a run to the car.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.