Spyderco UK Penknife Folding Pocket Knife - Straight Edge, Titanium Handle, Non-Locking

Closeouts. Spyderco's UK Penknife folding pocket knife is a versatile performer sized for everyday carry. It rests securely in your pocket thanks to a tension-wire clip, and features CPM-S30V stainless steel plus an extremely tough titanium handle.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Reviewed by D. from Southeastern USA on Friday, March 21, 2014
    Although I received my first knife about 50 years ago (Buck Pathfinder - still have it) I have not been nor am I now a knife aficionado. This UK Penknife has been available from STP for a while now but it has been difficult to justify the cost even at this steep discount. The first one arrived and I was impressed with the design, fit, and finish. It was returned for exchange due to a mark on one scale and wear under the clip on the other scale. The second one arrived and is without those flaws; the folks at STP made the exchange quick and painless. Make no mistake about it - this is one sweet piece of CPM-S30V steel and Titanium superbly crafted in "Golden, Colorado USA Earth". One-hand operation is smooth and easy; no additional lubrication or adjustment was needed. The weight and slight heft is not disproportional to its smaller size and it fits even my larger hand well. It feels good in the hand and the non-textured, matte finish Ti scales are adequate for non-slip gripping due to the overall shape and choil placement. I cannot recall ever having felt a sharper factory blade edge right out of the box. Although the non-locking feature may seem limiting or problematic for some uses/users it should serve well for most. As stated in the enclosed literature , the choil for the index finger is placed so as to provide resistance to closure. I believe the choil for the thumb adds to this just a bit. The knife becomes at home in one's hand upon intuitive realization of that which the designer intended and the literature just confirmed this. The informed, adaptable, sane user should find the ergonomics of this design to be non limiting while providing stable handling and good control for many uses. [For more demanding tasks you may prefer the additional safety afforded by a locking design or perhaps the Spyderco "Swick3" (or similar). Save up your dollars and buy this versatile, high quality folding jewel. You are likely to love it.
  • Reviewed by Zippy from Norcal on Sunday, January 26, 2014
    Non-Locking Spyderco knifes are hard to find on sale. This is a excellent find. Titanium handle has a great feel in my hand. The blade came sharp. Couldn't be happier!
  • Reviewed by Eat em up Johnny from WI on Saturday, October 19, 2013
    I lost one of these when I was riding my horse, and hesitated a whole day (because of cost) before buying another one. I just had it in my pocket, not clipped. I won't do that again. I now carry it clipped in my back pocket.
  • Reviewed by KNIFE GUY from Nevada on Wednesday, August 07, 2013
    Razor sharp- excellent fit and finish!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lineman from Feels like everywhere on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    Awesome knife with slim and smooth handle for easy pocket placement. Only wish it had a lock for blade.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kurt6652 from orange,ca on Saturday, December 01, 2012
    I have many pocket knives with various types of locks and handles. I like this one for its simplicity and ease of use. The materials are top quality, the knife fits my hand perfectly and securely. I use this knife for light cutting; cardboard, letters and ocassional food prep.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cracka Jack from Cleveland, OH on Wednesday, November 07, 2012
    This is the most expensive knife I've ever purchased, but by far the best quality. I will not purchase a separate paring knife for my kitchen, as this serves that purpose well. If you like to nitpick about weight, it is a bit heavier than expected for a titanium handle (but I have no real complaint). The edge is scary sharp, and has an angle that will sharpen easily. I actually appreciate the non-locking blade (but if you are a reckless one,then I don't recommend it).
    • Best Uses: Paring Knife In Kitchen, Versatile Pocket Knife
    • Cons: Could be lighter, Pricey
    • Pros: Compact, Easy to open, Made in USA, Sharp, Well Made
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim family guy from TX on Saturday, October 20, 2012
    The clasp is tight and shouldn't slip from your pocket.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Cons: boring design, Larger than I expected, Very costly
    • Pros: Heavy, Quality blade, Sharp, Substantial
  • Reviewed by Jwn from NB, CA on Saturday, September 29, 2012
    To heavy for me to carry as everyday knife.
    Great blade material.
    Complete waste of titanium! Could have made it much lighter and thinner utilizing the advantages of titanium!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Knightwatchman from SW Usa on Thursday, September 20, 2012
    Great little folder with excellent blade steel and strong titanium handles. Famous Spyderco quality.When you choke up to the front choil, there is lots of control.I'll take a heavy knife that has quality and strength. Very sharp blade. With good care it should last a long time. I prefer a flat clip over wire.
    • Best Uses: Cardboard, Cut Rubber, Fine Cutting, Hobbyist Cutting, Plastic
    • Cons: Heavy for titanium, No Locking Blade, No Ribs To Grip, Wire Clip
    • Pros: Best Of All Variations, Good Choils For Gripping, S30-v Powdered Steel, Titanium Handles, Usa Steel
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.