• Spyderco Reviews

  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 46
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David W from VT on Sunday, July 19, 2015
    The fit and finish on this knife is beyond fault considering the price (and very good even when compared to much more expensive knives), though the handle scales do have some minor imperfections in the brushed finish and there was a sharp edge in one spot.

    The blade finish is perfect, although the factory grind is heavy at the edge... good for strength, but not so good for fine cutting ability. The steel is also excellent, feeling harder than other 8Cr13Mov blades I have encountered, the factory edge was very sharp and it took an even better edge without much effort.

    The handle/blade ergonomics are rather odd, but it really works, the way this little knife fits in a medium sized hand when open makes it very useful, allowing more force and a better grip than you would expect from such a slim package. It also works when closed, as the knife is very compact while allowing access to the opening hole in the blade.

    My only real complaint is that opening the knife one-handed is very difficult, the shape is awkward when it comes to opening and the back spring is quite strong. The trade-off is that the knife is very secure while open for a non-locking design and there is no chance of it opening accidentally.

    In short it's a functional and stylish pocket knife, great for light everyday use and a good value as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by snowman from Utah on Monday, July 13, 2015
    fine knife for the money
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by d88 from Texas on Friday, July 10, 2015
    I like Spyderco knives and like many others have several. This is a slimmer version of the Military. It is long, sharp, and easy to deploy. For EDC I like the size of the Paramilitary better, but this is another great product from Spyderco.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by D. from Southeast US on Thursday, June 25, 2015
    Got the first Des Horn Spyderco about one year ago and have reviewed it here already. When another one became available again on STP for considerably less than before I simply could not resist. It arrived still sealed from the maker with literature and box. Do take the opportunity to visit Dr. Horn's website. He is a dentist by profession and a multiple award winning knife designer/maker by "hobby". See for yourself the many elements of style and design inherent to his bench made originals that appear in this Spyderco collaborative. The superb build quality from the craftsmen in Taichung, semi exotic CPM S30V blade steel in a bronze bushed pivot, highly polished and skeletonized stainless liners, delicious understated Deco stying from tip to butt, along with some of the finest G-10 usage in a knife body out there (lightly textured, semi polished, & extremely rigid) combine to yield one sweet statement in the genre... a champagne heritage thoroughbred on a beer budget that is certain to please any man or woman time and time again. [NOTE: This elegant high styled Des Horn inspired lightweight not only delivers in looks but is also a fully capable performer for so many tasks; think 'Xacto razor' having a pinpoint tip plus a full 105mm razor sharp cutting edge below the proportionately stout 3mm spine in a compact concealable folder weighing a mere 56 grams with the handling of a Lotus Super Seven.] Get one of these discontinued beauties while they can still be had. If you do not just love it dearly, well, I will eat a bug (!).
  • Reviewed by D. from Southeast USA on Thursday, June 18, 2015
    Nothing not to like - this is the latest Spyderco aquisition (the lowest cost model of any so far other than a Byrd that was returned) and it is definitely a keeper. Although the blade does not lock, both the dual choils and strong back spring make it very safe for a non locking blade design and also allow for a very firm grip even in a larger hand - not easy for someone to take away from you (also allows for great handling and larger knife handle feel). Fit and finish are on par with most any of the higher price Spyderco knives I have seen and handled. This one arrived razor sharp - love the hollow ground Wharncliffe blade - and I understand that this particular blade steel hones quite easily on a strop. After a couple drops of TufGlide to the pivot and spring bar the action improved, however, this is not really a one hand open/close design for most folks (as is the super nice UK Pen Knife) due to the strong spring purchase on the blade. It nearly disappears in your pocket, does not have a threatening appearance when seen, but is a really capable third (of four) generation Kiwi. Once again, the STP coupon pricing made it soooo easy to add a second one to the order for gifting and still come in at less than the lowest price for one Kiwi 3 I could find... another fine value from the good folks at STP.
  • Reviewed by Poopsmitj from Fort Collins on Tuesday, June 9, 2015
    I carry this knife everyday in a horizontal position on the back side of my belt. Its blade is short enough to make it legal to conceal in Colorado. Its beefy handle make it easy to wield. This is not what I recommend for camping or hiking, its too small for many tasks.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sax from Atlanta on Monday, June 8, 2015
    Fun little knife, very sharp and balanced, beats any other comparable knifes out there.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim from AR on Tuesday, May 19, 2015
    Godd quality steel. VERY Sharp. Easy to sharpen. Good knife AND a work of art. Not too large or heavy to carry.
  • Reviewed by Zongse from Beijing on Sunday, May 17, 2015
    Pretty little knife, ideal for ordinary using.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by T0toro88 from North Carolina on Monday, May 11, 2015
    Tricky to open or close with one hand, in part due to not having enough 'purchase' on the handle with the end tapering to a point. That said, in all other ways this knife give me such pleasure every time I look at it. Elegantly clean and simple design with beautiful understated graphics in the lines on the handle and matching lines on blade edge. Lightweight, simple functional clip, nice size. A very nice knife with the usual Spyderco quality.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 46
;