Customer Reviews Of:
Stapf Boiled Wool Jacket - Shetland, Round Collar (For Women)

Closeouts. Bearing the signature Stapf look that traces its origins to the Tyrolean Alps, this boiled wool jacket is made from Shetland fibers -- which produce a longer nap and a wonderfully soft hand. Fibers are pre-shrunk in natural spring water, where they crimp together to block wind and cold.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews 3.700000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mich from somewhere on Wednesday, October 20, 2010
    I already had one boiled wool jacket that's about 15+ years old and starting to show its age. This one fit the bill perfectly to replace it.

    It's an excellent jacket for the fall. Heavier than a sweater but lighter than a jacket. Add a sweater and it can get quite chilly before you need something heavier.

    Great neutral color (greyish blue) that goes with anything.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Nice Color
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nan from Upstate New York on Monday, January 4, 2010
    Use for everyday, going food shopping, etc. Lightweight, warm jacket.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kate from Utah on Sunday, December 27, 2009
    I usually buy size med. (10-12), but this was med. (8-10), so I bought large and it is great.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Deep Blue Sea from Washington DC area on Saturday, December 5, 2009
    I bought this in blue, which is a lovely color; however, I tried it on over a black turtleneck (as shown in the photo) and it "shed" wool fibers all over the turtleneck. I'm not keen on spending money to dry clean a garment that's brand new much less toting a lint brush every time I wear this. Also, the buttons are not the nice, heavy metal (pewter) style buttons; they're thin and flimsy. I'd have to replace them if I kept the jacket, but I'm returning it because of the shedding issue. Re size: I have broad shoulders and am full chested. I bought a size 10 and it runs a bit large, so you may want to order one size down.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Cons: Cheap Metal Buttons, Not Dense Boiled Wool, Sheds Wool Fibers
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sunny Sue from Seattle, WA on Thursday, December 3, 2009
    This jacket was large and not fitted. It looked matronly on me and, I believe, aged me ten years. I returned it. The garment was very well made and the material was heavy and warm; however, the style was just not for me.
    • Best Uses: Office
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, High-end shopper, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Reviewed by Wyld Mum from San Rafael, CA on Tuesday, December 1, 2009
    When I saw this jacket in emerald green, I fell in love with its traditional German styling. When the jacket arrived, the colour was indeed stunning, but the cut was boxy, best suited for a shapeless tree-like body. The cut lent a geriatric feel to the otherwise well made jacket. The buttons really bugged me too because here was a German styled jacket with big silver buttons on them that read "Bank of Peru". WTH? Bank of Peru? Weird. So I sent this jacket back.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Leenie from Chicago on Tuesday, December 1, 2009
    It looked cheap.
    • Best Uses: Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Poor Material
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, High-end shopper, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tailor from Allentown, PA on Wednesday, November 18, 2009
    This could probably be dressed up or down. Would be good with skirts or also with jeans. The fabric is soft. The color is a little more toward gray blue than I expected, but it is a slate blue and a nice color. I'm tall and usually encounter too-short sleeves, but the sleeves on this are adequately long enough.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Office, Travel, Work Meetings
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cate from seattle on Saturday, November 14, 2009
    Stapf is a leader in boiled wool garments and their quality is excellent. Boiled wool is one of my favorite materials for its versatility, longevity, and warmth. This jacket can be used for a lightweight cover for chilly days, or as a sweater/jacket to wear inside on cold days. It dresses up well, add a scarf; and transitions just as well to casual jeans outfits. This piece will last me for the rest of my life.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Office, Travel, Versatile piece, Work Meetings
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, High quality materials, Stylish, Versatile, Well made
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cg from philadelphia, pa on Monday, November 9, 2009
    It is a great looking jacket and I am anxious to wear it.
    • Best Uses: Going Out, Office
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by: