Steinbock Alpine Jacket - Boiled Wool (For Men)

Closeouts. Steinbock of Austria's Alpine jacket is sure to be a treasured possession of any man, thanks to its leather trim, real horn buttons and substantial boiled wool. Premium Italian 100% virgin wool with densely knit yoke and sleeves create a jacket that is uniquely designed and very stylish.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by Biking Bob from Willismaburg, VA on Sunday, September 13, 2009
    This is a very well made jacket. The material is heavy and dense, the stitching strong, the buttons do not pull off. But, the sizing is all wrong. The 40 really wears more like a 42 or even a 44. And those enormous shoulder pads are just plain weird. I don't know if it's because of the heavy material, but they really feel and look like something that belongs under a football jersey. If you have a small frame like mine they really look out of place. And the sleeves hang a good inch and a half past my wrist. Get a full smaller size than you normally wear.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Norcal Pathfinder from San Francisco, CA on Saturday, January 24, 2009
    It's just what one expects of an Austrian broiled wool jacket, well made and warm.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cut, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by stubones from Alaska from Alaska and MI. on Friday, January 02, 2009
    If you can afford this coat it is A steal...
    This is my favorite coat/sweater hands down..
    It regulates tour body temp. both indoors and out and if it is really cold you could wear it under an overcoat for additional warmth...
    My only suggestion or want for this coat would be the India Stag buttons instead of the wood buttons on the coat...If any thing will need repair/replace it will be these buttons....
    With proper care this coat should last A long, long time...
    Like Orvis, Le Chameau and Filson you just can,t go wrong with Steinbock!!!!
    • Best Uses: Anywhere all the time, Bad Weather, Daily Use, Going Out, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Beautiful color matching, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cut, Highest quality, Just perfect, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Edward from Lizton, Indiana on Monday, November 10, 2008
    Looks great with nice casual clothes or with
    dress clothes. Classic design never goes out
    of style
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out
    • Cons: Attracts lint
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Jacketho from Colebrook Ct on Monday, July 14, 2008
    this jacket, which I just pulled out of the box, exceeded my expectations ! they guide you to a smaller size, which is spot on. I am usually a 44 and this 42 was perfect. the craftsmanship is stunning, attention to detail throught incredible, and the fit is better that I expected.it hugs the body well, and it's roomy enough one size down to fit a med weight sweater, and still be comfortable.
    I will be purchasing more items from Steinboch without a doubt.
    this is one gorgeous jacket !!
    • Best Uses: Bad Weather, Daily Use, Going Out, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Eclectic
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Good Cut, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stephanie from Albuquerque on Friday, May 30, 2008
    buy one size down.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out
    • Cons: Runs big.
    • Describe Yourself: Bargain Shopper, Career, Casual, Classic, Eclectic
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Good Cut, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Reviewed by M3Rice[*] from Beautiful CA on Monday, March 31, 2008
    This jacket has a timeless, unique and handsome design. It looks modern The boiled wool used here has a very tight knit on the shoulders and sleeves, which results in a slightly stiffer jacket in the upper portion. But it is this very stiffness that gives the jacket nice body and heft. The leather details in the mandarin collar and pockets add nice texture and color contrasts to the Charcoal Heather. Tailoring is first rate, and the material should hold up for more than a lifetime.

    The wool and knit allows the jacket to "breathe," so it shouldn't ever get too hot through three seasons. Obviously, it is not a Summer jacket. There are two inside pockets to complement the two on the outside. I wish it had another smaller inside pocket for a cell phone.

    Take note of the instructions to order a size smaller than you usually wear. It seems like the Austrians size everything one size larger, or they like much looser fitting jackets. I normally wear a 38, but ordered a 36. Even then, the sleeves look to be about a half inch too long for me, and the sleeve opening is way large, but I can live with those minor niggles.

    P.S. Jeff was a little harsh on rating this jacket a one star. The shoulder pads are NOT huge at all--the material and cut make it such that when you raise your arms, it acts like a stiffer jacket would. But how often do you raise your arms above shoulder height? Not unless you are on the floor of the New York Stock Exchange! As in the photo, the shoulder pads look and work fine--I think it's the kind of knit and the cut that Jeff has a problem with.
    • Best Uses: Bad Weather, Daily Use, Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Career, Casual, Classic
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Lightweight, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Reviewed by David from Lancaster, PA on Sunday, February 17, 2008
    I wear this jacket three seasons all day, every day. It is comfortable, warm, good-looking, durable. Good for wearing to a fancy restaurant or walking the dog
    • Best Uses: Bad Weather, Daily Use, Going Out, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Bargain Shopper, Conservative, High-end shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Good Cut, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Jeff from Cincinnati on Saturday, November 24, 2007
    This item fits very well through the body. However, the shoulder construction on the garment are very akward. I also order a Austrian sport coat from Steinbock. The quality of the garment is excellent. However,for this garment in particular, the shoulder pads are enormous which make the fit all wrong.
    • Cons: Huge shoulder pads
    • Describe Yourself: High-end shopper
    • Pros: Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.