Europe's Steinbock apparel is laden with Tyrolean atmosphere. Designed in Innsbruck, Austria, and found in only the finest stores in Europe, Steinbock has improved traditional Tyrolean fabrics like boiled wool and loden cloth by utilizing extra-fine wools, cashmere and angora. Run your hand up, and then down, their loden cloth and note the soft, downward flow of the fibers which naturally shed rain and wind. It's easy to see that Steinbock of Austria outerwear performs as beautifully as it looks. Accents like realistic French faux-fur trims, silky jacquard linings, contrast piping, real horn b ... Learn more about Steinbockuttons and leather trim all lend an air of old world charm and sophistication. Steinbock of Austria will give you the traditional, self-composed look you desire. ... Less
Average Rating based on 587 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 20 »
  • 1-30 of 587 reviews
  • Reviewed by QualitySeeker from Ohio on Monday, February 17, 2014
    Coat runs large(primarily the shoulder) so I bought 2 sizes smaller than my regular size. It fits well..& I really like the style of this very detailed coat. It is very lightweight, but warm with sweater underneath.
  • Reviewed by Trisha S from Sandy, UT on Friday, December 13, 2013
    Fantastically beautiful blazer! High quality wool - people were petting my arm the first day I wore it. Impeccable styling and tailoring. Looks very expensive - which it would be if I'd paid full price!
  • Reviewed by Peg from Raleigh, NC on Friday, December 13, 2013
    My husband is very happy with the Steinbock down coat. The outer shell
    Is very soft, and he liked the chocolate brown color. We are headed up north this winter, so we are counting on the down to keep him good and warm! We did have to have the sleeves shorten some, as they were long, but we are happy with the jacket!
  • Reviewed by Left Lane from Louisiana on Saturday, July 27, 2013
    The fit is fabulous, but I was surprised that it wasn't lined for the price.
  • Reviewed by Olga from San Francisco on Monday, May 27, 2013
    I have purchased several Steinbock coats, and enjoy them all! This one in particular is quite warm and good looking. Everything about it is just perfect. If you are considering this coat, you could not go wrong with its purchase.
  • Reviewed by Customer Care from Unknown on Thursday, April 04, 2013
    Yes, I know, I should have listened -- listened to the other reviewers who said this zipper was difficult. But I've used 'em all my life and what could be so tough about the zipper on this coat? Well, whoever designed this one is a fiend with a sick sense of humor and they are probably having a good laugh as they read this review. I put on the coat and found that I could not get the zipper started -- i could not zip the coat when I was wearing it! I had to remove the coat to zip it. I thought about taking the coat to my tailor for a new zipper but changed my mind. A shame about the zipper, because otherwise the coat is a beauty.
  • Reviewed by Lahinch02 from Kentucky on Wednesday, March 06, 2013
    Others said the zipper was horrible. They were actually complimentary ... I do not know an adjective to describe it. Only took a flyer on it knowing that no merchant is better about standing by their sales than Sierra Trading Post. As always, they were swift with my refund!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Worker bee Jerry from Wausau , wisconsin on Friday, January 18, 2013
    Beautiful made coat. The only issue is the zipper is reversed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by solo from bay area on Thursday, January 10, 2013
    My only complaint is the zipper.
  • Reviewed by Native NY'er from NYC on Wednesday, December 26, 2012
    Great coat - with one deisgn flaw - the zipper. The zipper is too long e.g. starts at bottom hem and runs to neck line - one would need monkey arms to reach down to properly start the zipper in its tracks. Ideally - the zipper should start about midway. Also zipper is narrow - ideally should be a fat zipper with wide track that can be navigated with gloves and cold fingers.

    In any case - coat has buttons as well - so zipper is not so important. I love the fit and finish and have gotten compliments on this coat. Will keep it - will last a lifetime.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by elliot from chicago il on Monday, November 26, 2012
    high quality blended with utilitarian
  • Reviewed by Quickbeam from Wisconsin on Friday, June 01, 2012
    This is an amazing jacket. I am 5'8", 145 and the size 10 fits me like it was made for me. I tell you that becasue another reviewer noted that this fit a person 30# less than me. It is a true size 10, no worries. I am narrow in the shoulder, full busted and it fits like a dream.

    The tailoring is top notch and the colors are far more subdued than the photo. That makes me like this jacket even more. The plaids match, the pockets fall close and just right on the body.

    I'd be proud to own this jacket at full price; at STP pricing it is a steal! It also arrived on a 40 degree day and I was able to wear it right away!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Church, Going Out, Office
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dennis from surfers paradise, australia on Thursday, April 05, 2012
    Comfortable, well cut and assembled cold weather pants. Very thick and heavy fabric, but drapes better than thick cords. At least one inch smaller around the waist - perhaps the measurement refers to the outside rather then inside?
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Pros: Allows Free Movement, Breathable, Comfortable, Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fresh Perspectives from Boston, MA on Sunday, April 01, 2012
    Other comments were correct - narrow shoulders, long in the sleeves. Reversed European zipper. Overall a great coat. Very warm and stylish. Order a size up, sleeves a little long but ok.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Stylish, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by likes style from seattle on Saturday, March 31, 2012
    The coat, though well made, is not very stylish. I returned it.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by e from Michigan on Wednesday, March 28, 2012
    Great coat and unlike other comments suggest, I feel this coat is true to size. I originally followed other suggestions and ordered a size larger, but the had to return to get the size I typically wear. It fits perfectly -- as casual wear or even over a suit or sportcoat for a look of casual elegance.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flying Dutchman from Grand Rapids, MI on Sunday, March 04, 2012
    This Steinbock Alpine Vest made of Boiled Wool is one of the most unique items I have seen on STP site. I am often asked to participate in Oktoberfest activities, and this item will help with being in an authentic German/Austrian oufit. It is heavy, which you expect from many of the Oktoberfest items, and very warm!! The size is absolutely perfect in terms of fit. It fits like a glove!! This is not intended to be an everyday vest. . . unless you live in the mountains!!
    • Best Uses: Going Out, Oktoberfest Item, Outdoor Activities, Stands Out, Sweater Vest, Travel, Warm
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, For Unique Uses, Good Cut, GREAT, Ideal Oktoberfest Item, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by as from IL on Monday, February 20, 2012
    My husband has been looking for a nice pair of wool pants that he can be adventurous in. These fit the bill, and more!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Color, High Quality, Stylish
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Reviewed by shacke from Georgia on Friday, February 17, 2012
    I agree with most of the posters that this is a top quality coat which is well tailored with quality materials and build. If I did not purchase it at such a large discount however, I would have returned it simply due to the zipper. For one, the zipper is lower than you can reasonably reach. In addition, the zipper itself is incredibly difficult to align indoors. Outside on a cold day with numb fingers, or gloves, would be conditions prohibiting most people from zipping it altogether.
    • Best Uses: Warm winter business coat
    • Cons: Sub standard zipper
    • Pros: Quality build, Quality fabric, Warm, Well tailored
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jhmayer from Seattle on Friday, February 17, 2012
    Quality workmanship and materials
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by farmer john from julian pa on Monday, February 06, 2012
    My husband loved the ruggedness, fit, and warmth of his first pair, so when they went on sale again we ordered a second.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Outdoors work in the cold, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, High Quality
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ro Dog from Bloomington, IL. on Monday, February 06, 2012
    I've purchased other pants that claim to be heavy wool, these are the real thing I'm picky about clothes, these pants I don't have any thing bad to say.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Stylish
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ted from westchester ny on Saturday, February 04, 2012
    small right pocket makes it hard to take wallet out. Otherwise great warm pants.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Small side pocket
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CaptSteve from Pasadena, MD on Monday, January 23, 2012
    Few clothing items outside of leddarhosen can make one feel more in the mood for great German beier and wurst than this vest, so when the mood hit and you don't want to wear leather pants, this vest will bring a little Bavaria to any outfit.
    • Best Uses: While drinking beer, While eating wurst
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Good Cut, Traditional, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Headresearcher from Ann Arbor, MI on Saturday, January 21, 2012
    I was looking for an attractive, 3/4 length,well-made multi-season coat that would go over a sport coat or suit jacket. This is it! I have another Steinbock which I love, so clearly this company knows how to get design right!

    The coat is simple, but elegant, and extremely functional, with great zippered pockets that are unobtrusive and easy to access.

    I am completely pleased with this coat!
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel
    • Cons: none
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scylla from Philadelphia. PA on Friday, January 20, 2012
    Very warm well made. Incredible good quality in the materials and manufacture. I already had a vest and an overcoat by Steinbock and I am very satisfied with them all.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Joe, an urban guy from Chicago on Friday, January 20, 2012
    At first I really liked this coat. It looks great, is warm, lightweight, and doesn't have the bulkiness of many down coats. However after wearing the coat for just a few days, it was constantly shedding feathers and the pocket started coming unsown. The zipper is a little tricky to work, and the pull is on the left side, not on the right. Normally Steinbock coats are well made and of very high quality materials, but this coat is not of the quality that I'm accustom to with this manufacturer.
    • Best Uses: Cold weather
    • Cons: Not Well Made, sheds feathers
    • Pros: Lightweight, Not bulky, Warm
  • Reviewed by Nannerdoc from Atlanta on Tuesday, January 03, 2012
    This coat is exactly what I've been looking for this fall. I wanted a down coat that was warm, but didn't make me feel like the Michelin man! I initially thought it wouldn't be very warm, as it is very light and seemed flat out of the box---I wore it out yesterday in 40 degree weather with high winds, and I felt quite toasty with only a light shirt on underneath. The cover is a shiny black ( that I like a lot). The coat does run big, I had to return for a smaller size. The coat is so light and soft, it feels almost like a soft blanket. I know I'm going to enjoy wearing it!
    • Best Uses: Cold windy days at home, Travel to colorado
    • Cons: Cold windy weather
    • Pros: Stylish, Warm not too bulky styl
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Diane from Reston Virginia on Monday, January 02, 2012
    I love the coat but I was unable to zip it while wearing it and almost unable to zip it while it was on a hanger.
    • Best Uses: Return
    • Cons: The zippper
    • Pros: Beautiful but don't buy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cleo from SW VA on Sunday, January 01, 2012
    Loved it, but too tight in the shoulders for me. Had to return it.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Church, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 20 »
  • 1-30 of 587 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;