Steiner Merlin Binoculars - 10x42

Closeouts. Steiner Merlin 10x42 binoculars boast lightweight, multi-coated roof prisms, a durable armor coating and a quick-focusing wheel that helps you quickly locate and identify birds and wildlife.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bering Sue from Nome, Alaska on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    I had a pair of Leupold Gold Ring HD binocs (originally $1,000) stolen, and couldn't afford to replace with an equivalent model. I took a chance on this less expensive pair based on customer reviews, and so far I'm quite pleased. My primary use is wildlife and bird watching in NW Alaska. Clarity, handling, light gathering and focus all meet my needs. I also like the convenience of the quick release strap features. I'll know more about them after a year of arctic living!
  • Reviewed by Little Bill from Round Hill, VA on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    WOW!

    These are my first pair of good binoculars: what a difference!

    I'd read about the quality of Steiner optics, but like they say, seeing is believing. Amazingly clear all the way out to the edges of the viewing field.

    The jump from, say, a $275 pair of binoculars, to a $550 pair like these Steiner Merlins, gets you a huge difference in image quality: well worth the extra bucks if you can afford it. And like other reviewers have commented, you can see and feel the quality construction.

    10X is a little trickier to use than 8X, hand steadiness can become an issue; but the higher power lets you reach waaay out there, or bring the closer stuff right in to you. Amazing detail.

    I didn't exactly *need* a new pair of binoculars; but getting these Steiner Merlins for basically half price was too good to pass up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Woodsman and Hiker from California Beaches, wildlife and forest. on Friday, April 04, 2014
    These binoculars, in 10 X 42, are a fine piece example of German workmanship and their performance in the fiels is excellent. I have been looking for more than a year for a replacement for my Bushnell' and when I saw the price for these Merlin's, I bought them and I am glad I did.
  • Reviewed by chris from New Zealand on Friday, March 21, 2014
    Great quality product fast shipping and one happy NZ hunter thank you
  • Reviewed by Sunshine seeker from Washington on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    I'm new to birding and wildlife viewing thru binoculars. I did a some research and check my favorite site STP. And I found these Steiners. Based on the other reviews here and my research. I bought these. They're perfect. A lot of binocular for the price. They're clear, comfortable and well made. Very impressed.
  • Reviewed by HUNT MAN from OHIO on Monday, March 10, 2014
    A great product , price was half of retail , and a clear focus and awesome lens.
  • Reviewed by Bowhunter from Bozeman on Friday, March 07, 2014
    Super clear and great for low light. Couldn't beat the price.
  • Reviewed by LM from Texas on Sunday, March 02, 2014
    We were looking for an excellent, quality pair of binoculars to use at our cabin. After using these binoculars, my Dad liked them so much that he also bought a pair. Quality binoculars made in Germany! And, you can't beat the Sierra Trading Post price and service. Another great purchase from STP.
  • Reviewed by Nor Cal Kwahamot from Redding, CA on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    The Merlin binoculars by Steiner are a fine piece of optics. The size, weight and ergonomics are perfect for home or adventure travel. I would recommend to anyone looking for fine quality at an affordable price. You cannot beat German optics, cars, motorcyles or knives!
  • Reviewed by SC Patriot from Coastal SC on Friday, January 17, 2014
    I just received my Steiner Merlin's. I am a long time Steiner customer, and these did not disappoint. I set them up on my harness and headed straight outside for a walk. The color distinction and clarity are outstanding. The weight and size are acceptable considering the high grade glass in these binoculars. I tested every binocular I could find last Christmas for a gift for My nephew. I bought him the Busnell Legend, which I found to be the best in that price range. I was shocked and pleased when I found these $540 binoculars here at Sierra Trading for $299 this year.! I jumped on them right away, for myself! You just don't get that kind of discount on high end optics very often. This is a great buy. Two thumbs up from. An experienced old hunter.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.