Steiner Merlin Binoculars - 10x42

Closeouts. Steiner Merlin 10x42 binoculars boast lightweight, multi-coated roof prisms, a durable armor coating and a quick-focusing wheel that helps you quickly locate and identify birds and wildlife.

Average Rating based on 21 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dt05034 from Loudon NH on Thursday, October 16, 2014
    Bought these for bird watching and could not be happier than I am. Great optics worth twice the price I paid.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Clay from Texas on Monday, September 29, 2014
    I am extremely happy with my product. The only thing that "somewhat" bothered me was the day after I placed my order I noticed that you offered a code that would have gotten me $100 off any purchase $300 or more. I would have qualified for said offer but I was not made aware of it and accidentally found the offer a day to late.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Johnny Guitar from Chicago on Monday, September 29, 2014
    Good value for the price.
  • Reviewed by Frequent Shopper from Michigan on Tuesday, September 23, 2014
    The center focussing knob quickly became difficult to rotate, it would lock up with slow movement (as in normal use). It was able to break free again upon gentle back and forth slight rotation. You can then go through the full range of motion. But once you stop to fine tweak, it would lock up once again.

    I phoned STP and spoke to a customer service guy named "Michael" who put me through the ringer of what seemed like interrogation regarding my claim of the binoculars malfunction... insisting that if a replacement was to be sent, it would only be done if it is opened and inspected prior to sending and inspected. I asked if the person to be inspecting them has knowledge in fine optics?.... "No" Then you want me to take their word for it, that they are a 100% working replacement?.... "They would be inspected to insure that the problem you are stating does not exist with the replacement pair." I stated, well... this problem did not occur until 2 weeks into having them! I was getting the feeling that,if I accepted his terms, that I would not be able to return them if they too were to malfunction... because they were "priorly inspected". This must be the New Direction of Sierra Trading Post... this will send customers in a new direction Away from Sierra Trading Post!

    I demanded a New Unopened Replacement Set. That anything opened, is then used... I refuse that as an option!

    Getting some bad vibes here folks.... long time customer, have spent thousands per year. Seeking other places to shop. I won't deal with this nonsense!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Riverrun from Oakland on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    Steiner is a great company -- they guarantee everything... had their Predator 10x24's and loved 'em -- still use them, but doing observation on crepuscular and nocturnal animals ..low light.. and these - -even in bright daylight -- are better than I imagined... wonderful and the STP closeout price made them affordable, even if the cheaper ones (also STP price) were doing a great job. I rate Steiner binocs as every bit as good as the more famous brands that coast 3x as much.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Walks-in -woods from missouri on Thursday, August 21, 2014
    Very good binoculars easy to focus. I would not want a pair heavier than these to hike around with. Great price, just get on steiner web site and see.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The bird watcher from The Aloha State on Friday, July 25, 2014
    I bought the Steiner Binoculars for my daughter’s birthday. The binoculars are absolutely worth every penny that I paid for. The clarity, depth of view are amazing. My daughter absolutely love them as an avid bird watcher and out door enthusiasts. It brought me and my daughter closer in the hobby that we we share together... Thanks Steiner and Derailed!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bering Sue from Nome, Alaska on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    I had a pair of Leupold Gold Ring HD binocs (originally $1,000) stolen, and couldn't afford to replace with an equivalent model. I took a chance on this less expensive pair based on customer reviews, and so far I'm quite pleased. My primary use is wildlife and bird watching in NW Alaska. Clarity, handling, light gathering and focus all meet my needs. I also like the convenience of the quick release strap features. I'll know more about them after a year of arctic living!
  • Reviewed by Little Bill from Round Hill, VA on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    WOW!

    These are my first pair of good binoculars: what a difference!

    I'd read about the quality of Steiner optics, but like they say, seeing is believing. Amazingly clear all the way out to the edges of the viewing field.

    The jump from, say, a $275 pair of binoculars, to a $550 pair like these Steiner Merlins, gets you a huge difference in image quality: well worth the extra bucks if you can afford it. And like other reviewers have commented, you can see and feel the quality construction.

    10X is a little trickier to use than 8X, hand steadiness can become an issue; but the higher power lets you reach waaay out there, or bring the closer stuff right in to you. Amazing detail.

    I didn't exactly *need* a new pair of binoculars; but getting these Steiner Merlins for basically half price was too good to pass up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Woodsman and Hiker from California Beaches, wildlife and forest. on Friday, April 04, 2014
    These binoculars, in 10 X 42, are a fine piece example of German workmanship and their performance in the fiels is excellent. I have been looking for more than a year for a replacement for my Bushnell' and when I saw the price for these Merlin's, I bought them and I am glad I did.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.