SteriPEN
SteriPEN 4.118226 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 15 ... 21
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fred from iowa on Monday, March 19, 2012
    hiking
    • Best Uses: Outdoors
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy On/Off
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by doriangray from Richmond,VA on Monday, March 19, 2012
    perfect for backpacking, doesn't take too long, and I didn't get sick from any springs
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RobO from Chester, NH on Monday, March 5, 2012
    I hate adding chemicals to water, this is effective and doesn't distort the taste
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, Emergencies, Foreign countries
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy On/Off, No need for chemicals
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob from Sandy, OR. on Sunday, February 26, 2012
    I haven't field tested it yet but it works in the water bottle I purchased at the same time and the pen is ergonomically well designed to use with about any wide mouthed bottle. When I purchased this as a Closeout item with an email sale promotion, STP easily had the lowest price I could find online. The pen purifies organics so it would be used after pumping water with my SweetWater filter or could come in handy when filling a bottle through a cloth to filter out larger particles. If it kills crypto, giardia and viruses it can be a great lightweight alternative to carrying a hiking filter when known clear water sources are nearby.
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, Emergencies, Gifts, In The Car, Outdoors, Power Outages
    • Cons: Short Battery Life
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Bright, Easy On/Off, Ergonomic Design, Luminescent
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by R the fisher from Dallas, TX on Saturday, February 25, 2012
    Haven't gotten to use it yet but like the size and compactness. Despite the ads, it doesn't come with batteries. I'll be using it for fishing in remote areas and it will be nice not to have to carry in so much water.
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, Fishing, Outdoors
    • Cons: Batteries Not Included, Hard to get the cover off
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Compact, Ergonomic Design
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TAP from NE on Saturday, February 18, 2012
    The battery cover is weak due to poor design. It came cracked from the factory. The instructions warn of over tightening the battery cover. Apparently even they have a problem with it. I will be returning it for an exchange. Hopefully, the new one will be better.
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, Outdoors
    • Cons: Battery cover weak, Breaks Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Compact, Easy On/Off, Ergonomic Design
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sage Rider from Corrales, NM on Friday, February 17, 2012
    This one will be a frequent flier. It is going everywhere I go to treat any water anywhere.
    If you just need to treat a few pints to get you through, this lightweight pen is perfect.
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, Outdoors, TRAVEL
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy On/Off, Lighweight, Portable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gila Deb from Gila Wilderness, NM on Wednesday, February 15, 2012
    I coordinate an outdoor ed. program at a high school. I am recommending that they replace all of their small water filter with the SteriPEN.
    • Best Uses: Outdoors
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Primary use: Business
    • Pros: Ergonomic Design
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bryan G from Ga. on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
    Something I've wanted in my pack for a while, just couldn't justify the retail price.Thanks to STP for making this such a good buy.
    Not only would I, but actually did recommend this to several friends.
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, Emergencies, Outdoors
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Light Weight, No chemicals
  • Reviewed by Busted Yuppie from Pacific Northwest, U.S.A. on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    This Steri-Pen works great! I used it in numerous hikes this summer in the mountains instead of my filter. In fact, I left my filter at home after a break-in period to "proof" the Steri-Pen and make sure it worked. I used this device all over the Olympic Mountains in Washington State, which has numerous streams and lakes that have giardia. I never got sick, so it must work.

    One nice thing is, you can actually taste the water as it comes out of the lake or stream, over what you taste from a filter, which is sort of "sterile." (I actually began to compare water from one stream to another!)

    A couple drawbacks: This Steripen does NOT filter out dirt, silt or other things from the water. If you are worried about that, you can sift the crud through a bandanna or do as I do, don't tilt the bottle back too bodaciously and when you are near the bottom of the water bottle, dump out the crud. Be advised that you have to clear off the surface of water from bugs, needles, crud, etc. and collect from the surface so you don't go too deep into the stuff in the "flow". Another issue is, you MUST use a large-mouth water bottle to ensure that you are stirring all of the water while the light is on. I now use a Nalgene "Canteen" which has a large mouth but is very light (2.0 oz.) compared to those inordinately heavy Nalgene water bottles (6.8 oz.!!!).
    Also, be advised that when you collect water, you have to wipe off the lip of the water bottle you used to collect the water if that's what you are drinking out of. Otherwise, you may have a couple drops that remain untreated on the lip of the bottle. I do that religiously every time I collect water to sterilize with the SteriPen, and as stated, I have not gotten sick yet.

    I LOVE the lightweight of this device compared to the Sweetwater filter I was carrying while hiking. No comparison when it comes to lightening up the pack.

    I installed Lithium batteries for longer life and so far, so good. At the STP price, and especially if you have a coupon, it's well worth the price!
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, HikingBackpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy On/Off, Lightweight, Works as planned
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 15 ... 21
;