SteriPEN UV water purifiers are the quick, light and easy way to ensure safe drinking water. Bottled water manufacturers and major cities around the world harness the power of UV light to make sure their water is safe to drink; with SteriPEN, so can you! SteriPEN water purifiers go everywhere; whether you’re traveling the world, venturing deep into the backcountry or facing a natural disaster, you can depend on a low-profile and lightweight SteriPEN UV water purifier to kill 99.9% of all viruses, bacteria and protozoa. SteriPEN has received th ... Learn more about SteriPENe Water Quality Association’s (WQA) Gold Seal, certifying that SteriPEN purifies water safely and effectively. Furthermore, all SteriPEN water purifiers have been tested by the WQA against the U.S. EPA Microbiological Water Purifier Standard. With SteriPEN, you can feel confident that you’ll get safe drinking water no matter where you are or what emergency you face. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-30 of 189 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rock, the Ex-Paratrooper from Montana on Monday, September 21, 2015
    After years of drinking water flavored with iodine or chlorine, I get to drink water that tastes good! Filters work OK, but they are heavy and tend to require a lot of maintenance, cleaning, boiling, etc. This gizmo takes a just a moment and kills everything, protozoa, bacteria, and viruses. They use a commercial version of this technology to sterilize water in hospitals, so no more Legionaire's Disease.

    The only drawback is that the manufacturer does not recommend using standard alkaline batteries, as the electronics in the unit make heavy power demands on the batteries. For a long trip, I would recommend rechargeable batteries and one of those solar panels that straps on the top of your pack.

    We used a wire mesh coffee filter that fits in the top of a water bottle to filter out the big stuff in the water.

    This device is highly recommended for those that want to go into the back of beyond and drink safe water that is not flavored with iodine or chlorine.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Climbhigh from NJ on Monday, September 14, 2015
    This is the original model of the SteriPen Classic and treats only 3000 liters of water.The substantially upgraded model, the Classic 3, operates on four AA batteries batteries. With one set of alkaline batteries, the Classic 3 purifies up to 50 liters or supercharge your Classic 3 with lithium batteries and treat up to 150 liters. It has a lamp life of up to 8,000 liters. The reviews on the Sierra site are confusing as from the descriptions I think the reviews are from all the SteriPen models they sold over the years. I hiked, backpacked and toured through many countries and would always want the best purification system available.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Judith on the River from North Central Washington on Saturday, September 12, 2015
    Having always used a pump style water filter which often times is bulky, gets clogged, sucks up the muck, using this steriPEN water filter was far to easy. Compact, one touch of a button and within less than 1 minute my water was treated. I have only used alpine lake water and do not know how
    well it would treat "mucky" or warm water. I love this water purifier!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flinsch Peak from Georgia on Tuesday, September 1, 2015
    I love this product. I've used iodine tablets in the past - it takes 30 minutes to take effect before you can drink it, and it tastes nasty! I would also consider this to be a much better option than laying down on your stomach at a stream sucking water through a Lifestraw!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by aba from afton, mn on Monday, August 24, 2015
    did not work. maybe because i was sterilizing water in a steel bottle?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pstm13 from Mountain West on Thursday, August 20, 2015
    Great product and works well for backpacking. If you ever have a problem they have A+ customer service. Just make sure you have the correct rechargeable batteries.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Seattle Guy from Seattle on Wednesday, August 12, 2015
    Plan to use this in our emergency kit, so it is nice to have something that kills almost anything. Have not used it yet and hope I never have to. We are also getting a filter system.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trolleyguy from Illinois on Monday, August 3, 2015
    Always good to be prepared !!!
  • Reviewed by Kevin Causey from Cave Creek, AZ on Wednesday, June 17, 2015
    My wife recently purchased this for our trip to Peru. I also purchased some purification tablets, but decided that I'd use this in hotels, etc. They say "don't drink the water" and "always buy bottled water" but every day I drank 2-3 nalgene bottles of tap water after using the Steripen.

    Works as described! While others in our group contracted some intestinal issues (probably from eating uncooked veggies or getting ice in alcoholic drinks) we had no issues whatsoever.

    This is a must if you travel. Small, packs easily and does the job.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from NY on Monday, June 1, 2015
    It works as described....guess we'll know better after using in India for the summer.!
  • Reviewed by ipartner48 from Alberta on Tuesday, April 28, 2015
    Their are water filters and water purifiers - make sure you buy the purifier to eliminate virsuses as well. As for this unit, once the batteries are in, press the button on the unit, wait for the green blinking light and then insert it into the water bottle. Works slick as can be! Used it on tap water from my hotel in Cuba, Mexico, Kathmandu and Bhutan. Highly recommended!!
  • Reviewed by Crispy from Illinois on Thursday, April 9, 2015
    Tried it out as soon as I got it, and nothing. I replaced the batteries, tried again, and now get the bulb failure (3 red flashes then 1 green, then repeats). Not sure I feel like I could trust this on a hike. Guess I'm sticking with my filter and boiling. Too bad, because the idea of it is great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JDivine from Richmond, Virginia on Tuesday, March 10, 2015
    LOVE this item. Compared to what I was using it is like cutting butter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim from AR on Sunday, February 1, 2015
    Very compact. A lot easy to carry than a water filter. Saves a lot of pack room. The real proof of effectiveness comes after you purify some water and then don't get sick!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by n8tiv Idahoan from boise idaho on Wednesday, January 21, 2015
    I purchased this unit for my son because I love mine. Include the pre-filter and you have a lightweight, durable and safe filter system for backpacking, hunting trips.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wncmountainboy from Southern Appalachia on Sunday, January 11, 2015
    Haven't used yet...hopefully it passed its factory testing with flying colors. Would hate to get beaver fever if this thing doesn't work! Good price compared to other sellers. Thanks, STP
  • Reviewed by Ianb from Colorado on Thursday, October 16, 2014
    I bought this model since I din't want to rely on batteries while on extended camping and climbing trips. As soon as I opened the package I was surprised at how large the whole system was. More importantly, the ONLY way to protect the exposed UV bulb is by keeping the water bottle that came with it screwed to the base unit. This creates a package as big as 2 liter water bottles together. If you don't keep the water bottle attached, the UV bulb is completely exposed and will likely break the first time you pack it anywhere. It may work fine if all you need it for is car camping where space is not an issue, otherwise stck to the small, light battery operated model.
  • Reviewed by lovesmesomeSTP from Oregon on Tuesday, September 23, 2014
    With a coupon, got this for a SONG! Bought three, want to buy more as gifts. Ya' just never know... this may come in handy some terrible day, and is small enough for easy stow, should one require running quickly away and hiding from the non-zombie cannibals ;). And no batteries needed? That's just too cool.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G-Law from Colorado on Monday, September 15, 2014
    We didn't get sick, so it either works or we have strong stomachs. It is easy to use, but a tad don't be afraid to zap the water a second time. The battery is a draw back and it didn't come with a carrying case/pouch. That said, well worth the money for a backpacker.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 12teachscience from Wyoming on Monday, August 11, 2014
    2 companions and myself used this pen on an overnight backpack trip in the Tetons. It was light and easy to use. I assume it was effective. We did not get sick.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jules from California on Friday, July 25, 2014
    This was a pretty good price for a good product. We just took it on a backpacking trip about a week ago. Given that is was in N. America, virus's really aren't a big worry, so it was just for additional peace of mind. We used the Sawyer Squeeze filter first to filter a liter bottle of water, then used the SteriPEN in that filtered water for additional purification. The filter would have probably been enough to keep the water safe. The SteriPEN goes above and beyond the filter in that it takes care of virus's that the filter can't get, though, like I said, those really aren't much of a worry in N. America. The SteriPEN functioned just fine. We ended up treating just about 2+ gallons of water for the 3-day weekend trip for two people, and then filled both our 3L CamelBak bladders with more treated water for the hike back out, so maybe about 4 gallons of water total. You just press the button once (for 1L, twice for 1/2L) with the wand in the water, watch the blue/purple light come on, and stir it around (keep the wand covered in water) until the light turns off in the wand. The little LED light on the handle shows green to tell you it was successfully treated, or red if you need to try again. There's a light code key in the instructions. Of course I really have no idea whether or not there were really any virus's in there or not to begin with, so I can't really tell you whether it gave us added protection or not, but I know it felt good to know that, not only did we filter out what we could, but then purified it additionally after that. Worth the price, especially if you travel out of the country - I wouldn't go without this little device.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anonymous from Taos, NM on Saturday, July 19, 2014
    I don't usually rate items without field testing first, but this item comes with good reviews from around the internet. It is also very light and does not take up much room in my sling pack. I make trips down into the Rio Grande Gorge near my home in Taos where most hikes down to the river are about 800' elevation gain/loss over a mile and a half and it's a long, tough day of fishing and hiking. Finally, the purifier could be a life saver if dehydration becomes severe.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Evan from Newport Coast, CA on Sunday, June 29, 2014
    Beautifully made, compact, works as advertised. A must for travel.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sierras Hiker from Sierra Nevadas, CA on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    I purchased this item for an upcoming trip out of the country. Although I am a massage therapist, in good shape with "guns", this item is just too much work...Sending back
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave the roadtripper from Colorado on Wednesday, June 4, 2014
    This was quite inexpensive and is the same as the steripen adventurer but only that it has a shorter lifespan.
  • Reviewed by Nomad from White Salmon, WA on Tuesday, June 3, 2014
    I work and travel in developing countries and this is a great kit. The filter lid optimizes the performance of the SteriPEN by removing particles that can obstruct the purifying UV rays, so this set is a step up from the SteriPEN alone. The bottle is a bit bulky, but everything nests inside and the weight is reasonable. I wish STP had more of these; I'd buy them as gifts.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by L.B. from Portland, OR on Tuesday, June 3, 2014
    I hate to write a one-star review but the item was not functioning when I tried it straight out of the packaging. I called the manufacturer to troubleshoot, but I apparently just got a dud. Sierra is out of stock, so a great deal turned into a great disappointment. I'll not purchase technical/electronic items like this in future from the site.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the one from Dry ARIZONA on Monday, April 28, 2014
    Just what I was looking for thanks
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David from Ok on Wednesday, April 9, 2014
    Highest quality. Very functional set that will all nest together. Comes with batteries.
  • Reviewed by isisxvx from New York on Tuesday, April 1, 2014
    This is the best thing ever! Not only did the kids love trying it out but its handy to have around when your flooded and w/o electricity and have to get water from the creek running beside your house!!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-30 of 189 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #