SteriPEN UV water purifiers are the quick, light and easy way to ensure safe drinking water. Bottled water manufacturers and major cities around the world harness the power of UV light to make sure their water is safe to drink; with SteriPEN, so can you! SteriPEN water purifiers go everywhere; whether you’re traveling the world, venturing deep into the backcountry or facing a natural disaster, you can depend on a low-profile and lightweight SteriPEN UV water purifier to kill 99.9% of all viruses, bacteria and protozoa. SteriPEN has received th ... Learn more about SteriPENe Water Quality Association’s (WQA) Gold Seal, certifying that SteriPEN purifies water safely and effectively. Furthermore, all SteriPEN water purifiers have been tested by the WQA against the U.S. EPA Microbiological Water Purifier Standard. With SteriPEN, you can feel confident that you’ll get safe drinking water no matter where you are or what emergency you face. ... Less
Average Rating based on 4 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-30 of 177 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JDivine from Richmond, Virginia on Tuesday, March 10, 2015
    LOVE this item. Compared to what I was using it is like cutting butter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim Woolly from AR on Sunday, February 1, 2015
    Very compact. A lot easy to carry than a water filter. Saves a lot of pack room. The real proof of effectiveness comes after you purify some water and then don't get sick!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by n8tiv Idahoan from boise idaho on Wednesday, January 21, 2015
    I purchased this unit for my son because I love mine. Include the pre-filter and you have a lightweight, durable and safe filter system for backpacking, hunting trips.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wncmountainboy from Southern Appalachia on Sunday, January 11, 2015
    Haven't used yet...hopefully it passed its factory testing with flying colors. Would hate to get beaver fever if this thing doesn't work! Good price compared to other sellers. Thanks, STP
  • Reviewed by Ian from Colorado on Thursday, October 16, 2014
    I bought this model since I din't want to rely on batteries while on extended camping and climbing trips. As soon as I opened the package I was surprised at how large the whole system was. More importantly, the ONLY way to protect the exposed UV bulb is by keeping the water bottle that came with it screwed to the base unit. This creates a package as big as 2 liter water bottles together. If you don't keep the water bottle attached, the UV bulb is completely exposed and will likely break the first time you pack it anywhere. It may work fine if all you need it for is car camping where space is not an issue, otherwise stck to the small, light battery operated model.
  • Reviewed by lovesmesomeSTP from Oregon on Tuesday, September 23, 2014
    With a coupon, got this for a SONG! Bought three, want to buy more as gifts. Ya' just never know... this may come in handy some terrible day, and is small enough for easy stow, should one require running quickly away and hiding from the non-zombie cannibals ;). And no batteries needed? That's just too cool.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G-Law from Colorado on Monday, September 15, 2014
    We didn't get sick, so it either works or we have strong stomachs. It is easy to use, but a tad finicky...so don't be afraid to zap the water a second time. The battery is a draw back and it didn't come with a carrying case/pouch. That said, well worth the money for a backpacker.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 12teachscience from Wyoming on Monday, August 11, 2014
    2 companions and myself used this pen on an overnight backpack trip in the Tetons. It was light and easy to use. I assume it was effective. We did not get sick.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jules from California on Friday, July 25, 2014
    This was a pretty good price for a good product. We just took it on a backpacking trip about a week ago. Given that is was in N. America, virus's really aren't a big worry, so it was just for additional peace of mind. We used the Sawyer Squeeze filter first to filter a liter bottle of water, then used the SteriPEN in that filtered water for additional purification. The filter would have probably been enough to keep the water safe. The SteriPEN goes above and beyond the filter in that it takes care of virus's that the filter can't get, though, like I said, those really aren't much of a worry in N. America. The SteriPEN functioned just fine. We ended up treating just about 2+ gallons of water for the 3-day weekend trip for two people, and then filled both our 3L CamelBak bladders with more treated water for the hike back out, so maybe about 4 gallons of water total. You just press the button once (for 1L, twice for 1/2L) with the wand in the water, watch the blue/purple light come on, and stir it around (keep the wand covered in water) until the light turns off in the wand. The little LED light on the handle shows green to tell you it was successfully treated, or red if you need to try again. There's a light code key in the instructions. Of course I really have no idea whether or not there were really any virus's in there or not to begin with, so I can't really tell you whether it gave us added protection or not, but I know it felt good to know that, not only did we filter out what we could, but then purified it additionally after that. Worth the price, especially if you travel out of the country - I wouldn't go without this little device.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anonymous from Taos, NM on Saturday, July 19, 2014
    I don't usually rate items without field testing first, but this item comes with good reviews from around the internet. It is also very light and does not take up much room in my sling pack. I make trips down into the Rio Grande Gorge near my home in Taos where most hikes down to the river are about 800' elevation gain/loss over a mile and a half and it's a long, tough day of fishing and hiking. Finally, the purifier could be a life saver if dehydration becomes severe.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Evan from Newport Coast, CA on Sunday, June 29, 2014
    Beautifully made, compact, works as advertised. A must for travel.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sierras hiker from Sierra Nevadas, CA on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    I purchased this item for an upcoming trip out of the country. Although I am a massage therapist, in good shape with "guns", this item is just too much work...Sending back
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave the roadtripper from Colorado on Wednesday, June 4, 2014
    This was quite inexpensive and is the same as the steripen adventurer but only that it has a shorter lifespan.
  • Reviewed by Nomad from White Salmon, WA on Tuesday, June 3, 2014
    I work and travel in developing countries and this is a great kit. The filter lid optimizes the performance of the SteriPEN by removing particles that can obstruct the purifying UV rays, so this set is a step up from the SteriPEN alone. The bottle is a bit bulky, but everything nests inside and the weight is reasonable. I wish STP had more of these; I'd buy them as gifts.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by L.B. from Portland, OR on Tuesday, June 3, 2014
    I hate to write a one-star review but the item was not functioning when I tried it straight out of the packaging. I called the manufacturer to troubleshoot, but I apparently just got a dud. Sierra is out of stock, so a great deal turned into a great disappointment. I'll not purchase technical/electronic items like this in future from the site.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the one from Dry ARIZONA on Monday, April 28, 2014
    Just what I was looking for thanks
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David from Ok on Wednesday, April 9, 2014
    Highest quality. Very functional set that will all nest together. Comes with batteries.
  • Reviewed by isisxvx from New York on Tuesday, April 1, 2014
    This is the best thing ever! Not only did the kids love trying it out but its handy to have around when your flooded and w/o electricity and have to get water from the creek running beside your house!!
  • Reviewed by Chad from Cambridge on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    Nice kit came with everything to get started. I'm glad the included the batteries I should use with it.
  • Reviewed by Johnny the Hiker from New Mexico on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    Since this item was purchased for an emergency situation there is little I can say except if it works as described I will be very happy during that emergency that has not happened as yet.
  • Reviewed by K from Idaho on Tuesday, March 4, 2014
    Who needs batteries. This has a built in generator to power the electronics, which is perfect for those times when you need sterilized water and need to save your batteries for other items (may it be while camping for extended time, or during emergencies). I purchased two of these and tested them both. They both worked without any issues.

    As for the ability to crank these things for the 90 seconds, I had no issues. Let me tell you why...
    At first, I cranked it as shown in the video. This would be with the crank on the side and my entire arm moving the crank (should and elbow joints moving). This did become a bit tiresome quickly. Noticing this, I rotated the unit so that the crank was directly facing me. I then rotated the crank so that only my elbow join was moving. This was much easier to crank (using a stronger muscle) and I was easily able to finish cranking through the 90 seconds and also do another liter of water for another 90 seconds. For people struggling to crank through the 90 seconds, try rotating the unit and crank it from the end.

    I recommend this to everyone.

    Now my only small issue is that the bulb is good for 8000 usages, after which I cannot purchase replacement bulbs. The company will not sell them because they claim a special technician is required, so you must send the entire unit to them so they can replace it for you at $20 plus shipping (cost at the time of writing, may go up or down). I am an engineer/electrician for trade and am sure I can replace the bulb myself. Still, I cannot purchase the bulbs as they won't sell them to me. My guess is that they are holding onto an extra way to make more money.
  • Reviewed by Pescador from New Mexico on Friday, February 14, 2014
    This is an excellent means of purifying water in a light weight easy to use item. DO NOT DROP as the UV light will cease to function. Follow instructions! Fits in vests, chest packs, fanny packs. At the end of the day, remove the batteries as they will drain off their power if left in the unit. More fragile than Water Filtration Pumps but considerably smaller. Approximately 1/4 the size of my MSR, and considerably faster. Easier to use in a wide-mouth container. I rated this as 4 Star only because it requires batteries 2 at $10 a pop and no means of securing item to person's gear (Fragile). If dropped onto something solid, it will break the UV.
  • Reviewed by SteriPEN Traveler Water Treatment Set from buffalo grove il on Friday, February 7, 2014
    great
  • Reviewed by fat Cobra from Grand Prairie Texas on Monday, January 6, 2014
    Every one should have one of these for travel
  • Reviewed by Rhonda the runner from Colorado on Wednesday, September 11, 2013
    The first one of these that I purchased started malfunctioning after 6 months of very occasional use - not good when you're out in the backcountry and need to purify water. Hopefully the replacement I got won't do the same ...
  • Reviewed by GEH from Fl on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    convenient but water sensing bulb fails. Also off-standard battery problematic in remote areas that do have AAA, AA and C
  • Reviewed by Steve Feuerstein from NYC on Sunday, August 25, 2013
    Used it on two extended trips. I'm still going strong. No apparent shortcomings of product. Glad that I purchased it as I am a camel when it comes to water consumption on lengthy treks. Made my outings far more enjoyable.
  • Reviewed by steelbj from LA on Monday, August 12, 2013
    It's very hard to get GREEN LED.
  • Reviewed by HikingSierra from california on Tuesday, July 9, 2013
    I bought this from STP at least 6 months ago and never used it until this week, when I broke it out to test it in advance of an upcoming trip. Well, even after reading the instructions, following them to a T, and even having a friend try it, I could not get it to work. Even after the prescribed 90 seconds of fast cranking (which is harder than it sounds) the green lights showing the water was purified did not come on. I have returned it to SteriPen.
  • Reviewed by Barefoot Grandma from northwest indiana on Sunday, June 23, 2013
    As reported in other reviews, it takes some work to get to purification level, but it can be done! The trick is to keep going for 90 seconds no matter what, set a timer so that you go the whole way, and like magic it releases and is done at exactly 90 seconds. I am a 66 year old woman and was able to do it once I learned the trick. My only complaint is that the regular water bottle top leaks like crazy. I am going to write to steripen about it and see if I can get a new top or bottle replacement.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-30 of 177 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;