Customer Reviews Of:
Swiss-Link Italian Wool Army Blanket

Closeouts. The Swiss-Link Italian wool army blanket is crafted of thick, 100% wool for warmth and durability other fibers simply can't deliver.

  • Great for camping, hunting and home use
  • Heavyweight wool is extremely warm and durable
  • Dimensions: 73x65"
  • Material: Wool
  • Care: Dry clean
  • Made in Italy
  • These blankets may smell heavily of naphthalene due to their storage with mothballs. The blankets have not been chemically treated. Normally, this penetrating odor can be eliminated with two cleanings or simply by airing it out in an open area.

Average Rating based on 69 reviews 4.159420 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 ... 7
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by He who lays with wool blanket. from Southampton, NJ on Monday, March 7, 2011
    Because it's a wool blanket, I can get away with using fewer poly-fleece blankets. In other words, I cut down on the weight pressing down on my body, while at the same time increasing my bed's "R-value". Plus, Fewer Blankets means less laundry to clean; saving me laundry detergent, water, Time and MONEY.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Describe Yourself: High-end Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JC from St Paul,MN on Sunday, March 6, 2011
    A very attractive mossy green wool blanket with cream stripes in each end. I opened the box outside, and aired it out on the porch for about 6 days which took away most of the smell. I then washed it in cold water, which I don't think I recommend because it brought some of the smell back. But after airdrying again it is fine on the bed. Softer than I had anticipated, and very substantial. But the smell is very strong and requires special handling to eliminate, so have patience.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Cons: Moth-ball smell
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Dense
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 1def41 from San Jose, CA on Thursday, March 3, 2011
    Weave is very dense...it will keep the chill out
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mary the nose plugger from Oahu, HI on Thursday, March 3, 2011
    Looking forward to using this blanket next fall, when moving to cold weather area. The blanket is stored with mothballs, and 3 days of outdoor air did not remove the odor. I had to wash it, with the windows of the house open, as the smell was in the house. The blanket and all is odor free now.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Cons: Moth ball smell for days
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Magnaman from El Dorado Hills, Ca. on Thursday, March 3, 2011
    I bought one of these and Yes they have the ol "Grandpa" smell. I washed mine in the washing machine on delicate in cold water & hung to dry (Outside) . The mothball smell stayed in the washing machine for a week, and wife was not pleased. The blanket however dried and I sprayed it with febreeze and its, good to go. Liked it so much I bought a second, this time washed outside. The second one had a quarter sized hole in it and some markings on it. They are surplus I believe, and may be slightly used.
    • Best Uses: Camping, Emergency, Utility, Year-round
    • Cons: Scratchy on the skin, Stinky Mothballs, Surplus, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Great value, very warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Smiley9929 from Central New York on Wednesday, March 2, 2011
    Very cool blanket for the price! I've only had it for a short while and it's still airing out, but the quality is very nice I look forward to camping with it this year.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by V. from Winslow Arizona on Monday, February 28, 2011
    The mothball smell you initially get IS NOT a con..this insures a 100% wool blanket without holes so its expected. Learn how to treat your wool blanket and you will love it. You will buy more, trust me!
    • Best Uses: Can be used any time, Lightweight, Spring/Fall, Summer, Warm comfy, Winter, Year-round
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Clean
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Moonwatcher from Western Michigan on Thursday, February 24, 2011
    I had been on the lookout for all wool blankets for a while (most are synthetic blends nowadays) and came across these ones. After reading the comments of other purchasers, I ordered 3. Very glad I did. These blankets are very heavy. I like to sleep out in the fresh air (yep, even here in snowy Michigan) and the warmth these blankets provide is good for that.
    Yeah, the mothball smell is strong out of the box. I hung the blankets up on a line for five days, that turned out to be very windy, and the odor is gone. Again, very pleased.
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mywilderness from Central Illinois on Sunday, February 20, 2011
    For Civil War and Rendezvous reenacting, modern use or whatever, this is one of the best values out there.
    • Best Uses: Making a Capote Coat, Reenacting Camp Uses
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Heavy Wool, Very well made
  • Reviewed by ohski from MO on Monday, February 14, 2011
    My first order of 4 had 1 that was very stinky, 2 that were so so, and 1 that didn't smell at all. All were washed in the washing machine on "hand wash" 3 times with a tone of Tide and Downy. Then dried in the dryer on "Auto" low temp. Smell is gone from the blankets... a bit in the house from the 1 that was really bad. The worst part is all the little bits of wool that are falling out of the blankets. If it wasn't for this I would rate these at 5 stars.

    Ski
    • Best Uses: Emergency
    • Cons: Some smell really bad
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Wool
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 ... 7