Customer Reviews Of:
Swiss-Link Italian Wool Army Blanket

Closeouts. The Swiss-Link Italian wool army blanket is crafted of thick, 100% wool for warmth and durability other fibers simply can't deliver.

  • Great for camping, hunting and home use
  • Heavyweight wool is extremely warm and durable
  • Dimensions: 73x65"
  • Material: Wool
  • Care: Dry clean
  • Made in Italy
  • These blankets may smell heavily of naphthalene due to their storage with mothballs. The blankets have not been chemically treated. Normally, this penetrating odor can be eliminated with two cleanings or simply by airing it out in an open area.

Average Rating based on 69 reviews 4.159420 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3 ... 7
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ray from Cleveland, OH on Monday, February 14, 2011
    Excellent quality. Will keep it for emergency use in my daughter's car throughout the winter time. Because of its sturdy build, it is also excellent for outdoor use[...]
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Easy To Clean
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bargain hunter from Albany, Oregon on Thursday, February 10, 2011
    Bought for my mom, who wanted a good old-fashioned wool blanket. This fit the bill, and she is happy with it. The only down side is the moth-ball smell. But, after hanging for two weeks in the garage, it has aired out fairly well.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Well made good weight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dcttrt from Boise Id. on Tuesday, February 8, 2011
    Excellent for camping or kieep in car for emergencies
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Excellent quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt from Philadelphia, PA on Sunday, February 6, 2011
    Good quality heavy woven wool - all I got were new old stock. Some of the blankets have small date stamps - the ones I could read are from the 1950's. There are minor color, thickness and wool differences from blanket to blanket. About half are soft enough for a bed, others are a bit less fine (a tad scratchy, common with wool) but perfect for a car blanket or if not directly against your skin. [...] Mothball smell not that hard to get rid of - I could have just spread them out for two days or so in the sun, but simply taking them out of the plastic and putting them out on the balcony in a cardboard box for a week days did the trick (a bit less airing out would be fine if I just want to put them in a closet). They make fine gifts - secretaries in the office appreciate them.
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by outdoor enthusiast from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, February 2, 2011
    The moth ball odor in these blankets is unbelievably strong. Outdoor airing and dry cleaning has not helped! They are currently hanging in the attic of an outbuilding and I am hoping that I will be able to use them by next winter!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Iceroamer from Sacramento, CA on Wednesday, February 2, 2011
    Great blanket for camping or anything outdoors. Yes it smells at first, but the moth ball smell wears off after a while. It also protects the wool from moths. I left it outside for a few weeks. I really like this blanket! Also check out a youtube video on wrapping a wool blanket, around you when camping.
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pabloturtle from Idaho on Wednesday, February 2, 2011
    It's not everyday you find this kind of quality for the price. Bought several. Great emergency blanket for the car.
    • Best Uses: Whenever you're cold
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Excellent quality, WARM
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nick Stone from Central Kentucky on Friday, January 28, 2011
    This is a great blanket and is really hard to find. It is warm, durable and good quality. The biggest drawback to this blanket is the smell from the chemicals that are used to help preserve it during storage. DO NOT open that box in your house because then your whole house will smell like that for days. Open it up outside and hang it up in the sun for about a week to let it air out and get rid of the smell. Overall, a great product at a great deal.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Cons: Difficult to Clean, Smell
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, WARM
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by skierlinda from MI on Friday, January 28, 2011
    Very durable and heavy blanket. Reminds me of the blanket that saved my great grandpa on the hike home from the Yukon Gold Rush. (it is that warm and heavy) It will be a lifesaver if the heat goes out!
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Cons: A little scratchy
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Allison T from Birmingham, Alabama on Friday, January 28, 2011
    Some of the reviewers who have been disappointed in this blanket appear not to be particularly familiar with army blankets, moth balls, or maybe even wool. I, however, was specifically looking for an army blanket to replace one of the threadbare World War II ones that had belonged to my father. So, this is like a U.S. army blanket only in a color more pleasing than olive drab. As expected, it had an overpowering smell of moth balls. I machine washed it in cold water, (What army sends their blankets out to the cleaners?) and hung it to dry on a stepladder in the basement. With forced hot air heat, the whole house reeked of mothballs for several days. In fact, I could smell that blanket from the front steps. The odor has now dissipated. I'll wash it one more time, and it will be ready for use. Yes, as another reviewer mentioned, it's kind of utilitarian, but that's exactly what I wanted. If what you're looking for is an army blanket and realize that stuff packed in mothballs has to air for a while, you will be pleased with this.
    • Pros: Practical, WARM
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3 ... 7