Swiss-Link Italian Wool Army Blanket

Closeouts. The Swiss-Link Italian wool army blanket is crafted of thick, 100% wool for warmth and durability other fibers simply can't deliver.

  • Great for camping, hunting and home use
  • Heavyweight wool is extremely warm and durable
  • Dimensions: 73x65"
  • Material: Wool
  • Care: Dry clean
  • Made in Italy
  • These blankets may smell heavily of naphthalene due to their storage with mothballs. The blankets have not been chemically treated. Normally, this penetrating odor can be eliminated with two cleanings or simply by airing it out in an open area.

Average Rating based on 69 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 69 reviews
  • Reviewed by Joey Bonzi from St.Louis, MI on Monday, June 27, 2011
    Love the weight and muted color. Super price for all wool...no blend. I have read the complains about odor. I have a deviated septem and can't smell the moth balls; however, I have noticed the air taste funny. Buy several... you will be glad.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Cons: Difficult to Clean
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MD-Thoms from Vancouver, BC on Thursday, March 31, 2011
    I bought three of these blankets. Some for camping and others for hydrotherapy treatments such as a Sitz Bath where the person is sitting in a chair with their feet in a container of hot water. The body of the person is then wrapped up in a sheet then the wool blanket to make the person sweat. This and many more treatments can be found in this excellent resource book called, "The Natural Remedies Encyclopedia".

    The moth ball smell was very strong and nauseating. We found the best way to get the odour out is to wash the blackets twice one with soap then again with baking soda on gentle cycle. You can put them in the dryer on low for a bit and then they need outdoor exposure to the sun for the day. Hope this helps.
    • Best Uses: Cooler times treatments
    • Cons: Wool still itchy
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Durabilty and warmth
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Greg from Flagstaff, AZ on Saturday, March 26, 2011
    Blankets were $10 more expensive per blanket than I bought at [...] (same exact blanket)
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Cons: One had small stain on it
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snuggles from Montreal, QC on Tuesday, March 22, 2011
    My girlfriend doesn't want it in the apartment, but once I get the smell out I'm sure she'll be swayed. Quality like this,at this price,is worth a little effort!
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by highlander from mound mn on Friday, March 18, 2011
    hard to find at this price

    will get years of use and will be handed down.

    Great value!
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Describe Yourself: High-end Shopper
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by graywolf50 from Belgium on Wednesday, March 16, 2011
    quality of the blankets is perfect, condition great. Only you have to air them a bit before usage in the field.
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Cons: Smelly but was expected
    • Describe Yourself: High-end Shopper
    • Pros: Price quality perfect
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elaine from Jackson, WY on Wednesday, March 16, 2011
    I wanted a blanket that could serve as a blanket and an attractive bed covering for a daybed. This is in a spare bedroom that doubles as an office. It has the casual but comfortable look I wanted. The smell that so many people don't like has not been a problem. I put it in the garage for a day and then moved it indoors.
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, It is also good looking, This blanket is warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Linus from Tustin on Tuesday, March 15, 2011
    I bought two of these blankets. My main use was to use them in my yoga practice. However they are so handsome & well made that they have become the blankets I go for when I am cold, or just looking for a little comfort. These are thick well made wool blankets that are just the right size. I am 6'2 & one blanket keeps me comfortable & covers me quite well while I am in bed, or reading a book in my favorite chair. If you are looking for a soft blanket this is not the blanket for you. It is real wool. It washes up very very well. I used the hand wash cycle, a wool friendly detergent, & a small amount of fabric softener. Doing this made it as soft as wool can be. The smell that comes with the blankets, at no extra charge, was very strong. However it was not all that hard to remove. I opened the box outside & left the blankets to air out for 3 days. If you are looking for a great wool blanket buy this one. Once the smell is gone you won't regret it.
    • Best Uses: Cabin, Camping, Outdoors, Winter, Yoga
    • Cons: Smelly
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Easy To Clean, Quality, Thick, Versatile, Warm Comfy
  • Reviewed by luv2shop from Midwest on Friday, March 11, 2011
    I am very happy with the quality of these blankets. Bought 2 to keep for emergencies in each car. Very large & thick. Yes they had a horrible odor upon arrival. DO NOT OPEN THE SHIPPING BOX IN THE HOUSE!! I opened the box upon arrival outside on my deck. The smell was like everyone else has said. STRONG! I threw them over the rail of my deck & forgot about them for 2 weeks. Through pouring rain, sleet, & snow. Chicago's finest February weather. Two weeks later on a sunny dry day, I walked out there to check on them & they were great. Smell is completely gone!! They still feel nice & soft. If you can get past the first few weeks, these are an unbelievable buy. [...] Wish I would have gotten a few more.
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snosbig from Nu Joizee on Tuesday, March 8, 2011
    [...] It's not soft, but is extremely durable and will last for many years
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Cons: Itchy
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Well made
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by He who lays with wool blanket. from Southampton, NJ on Monday, March 7, 2011
    Because it's a wool blanket, I can get away with using fewer poly-fleece blankets. In other words, I cut down on the weight pressing down on my body, while at the same time increasing my bed's "R-value". Plus, Fewer Blankets means less laundry to clean; saving me laundry detergent, water, Time and MONEY.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Describe Yourself: High-end Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JC from St Paul,MN on Sunday, March 6, 2011
    A very attractive mossy green wool blanket with cream stripes in each end. I opened the box outside, and aired it out on the porch for about 6 days which took away most of the smell. I then washed it in cold water, which I don't think I recommend because it brought some of the smell back. But after airdrying again it is fine on the bed. Softer than I had anticipated, and very substantial. But the smell is very strong and requires special handling to eliminate, so have patience.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Cons: Moth-ball smell
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Dense
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 1def41 from San Jose, CA on Thursday, March 3, 2011
    Weave is very dense...it will keep the chill out
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mary the nose plugger from Oahu, HI on Thursday, March 3, 2011
    Looking forward to using this blanket next fall, when moving to cold weather area. The blanket is stored with mothballs, and 3 days of outdoor air did not remove the odor. I had to wash it, with the windows of the house open, as the smell was in the house. The blanket and all is odor free now.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Cons: Moth ball smell for days
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Magnaman from El Dorado Hills, Ca. on Thursday, March 3, 2011
    I bought one of these and Yes they have the ol "Grandpa" smell. I washed mine in the washing machine on delicate in cold water & hung to dry (Outside) . The mothball smell stayed in the washing machine for a week, and wife was not pleased. The blanket however dried and I sprayed it with febreeze and its, good to go. Liked it so much I bought a second, this time washed outside. The second one had a quarter sized hole in it and some markings on it. They are surplus I believe, and may be slightly used.
    • Best Uses: Camping, Emergency, Utility, Year-round
    • Cons: Scratchy on the skin, Stinky Mothballs, Surplus, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Great value, very warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Smiley9929 from Central New York on Wednesday, March 2, 2011
    Very cool blanket for the price! I've only had it for a short while and it's still airing out, but the quality is very nice I look forward to camping with it this year.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by V. from Winslow Arizona on Monday, February 28, 2011
    The mothball smell you initially get IS NOT a con..this insures a 100% wool blanket without holes so its expected. Learn how to treat your wool blanket and you will love it. You will buy more, trust me!
    • Best Uses: Can be used any time, Lightweight, Spring/Fall, Summer, Warm comfy, Winter, Year-round
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Clean
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Moonwatcher from Western Michigan on Thursday, February 24, 2011
    I had been on the lookout for all wool blankets for a while (most are synthetic blends nowadays) and came across these ones. After reading the comments of other purchasers, I ordered 3. Very glad I did. These blankets are very heavy. I like to sleep out in the fresh air (yep, even here in snowy Michigan) and the warmth these blankets provide is good for that.
    Yeah, the mothball smell is strong out of the box. I hung the blankets up on a line for five days, that turned out to be very windy, and the odor is gone. Again, very pleased.
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mywilderness from Central Illinois on Sunday, February 20, 2011
    For Civil War and Rendezvous reenacting, modern use or whatever, this is one of the best values out there.
    • Best Uses: Making a Capote Coat, Reenacting Camp Uses
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Heavy Wool, Very well made
  • Reviewed by ohski from MO on Monday, February 14, 2011
    My first order of 4 had 1 that was very stinky, 2 that were so so, and 1 that didn't smell at all. All were washed in the washing machine on "hand wash" 3 times with a tone of Tide and Downy. Then dried in the dryer on "Auto" low temp. Smell is gone from the blankets... a bit in the house from the 1 that was really bad. The worst part is all the little bits of wool that are falling out of the blankets. If it wasn't for this I would rate these at 5 stars.

    Ski
    • Best Uses: Emergency
    • Cons: Some smell really bad
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Wool
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ray from Cleveland, OH on Monday, February 14, 2011
    Excellent quality. Will keep it for emergency use in my daughter's car throughout the winter time. Because of its sturdy build, it is also excellent for outdoor use[...]
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Easy To Clean
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bargain hunter from Albany, Oregon on Thursday, February 10, 2011
    Bought for my mom, who wanted a good old-fashioned wool blanket. This fit the bill, and she is happy with it. The only down side is the moth-ball smell. But, after hanging for two weeks in the garage, it has aired out fairly well.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Well made good weight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dcttrt from Boise Id. on Tuesday, February 8, 2011
    Excellent for camping or kieep in car for emergencies
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Excellent quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt from Philadelphia, PA on Sunday, February 6, 2011
    Good quality heavy woven wool - all I got were new old stock. Some of the blankets have small date stamps - the ones I could read are from the 1950's. There are minor color, thickness and wool differences from blanket to blanket. About half are soft enough for a bed, others are a bit less fine (a tad scratchy, common with wool) but perfect for a car blanket or if not directly against your skin. [...] Mothball smell not that hard to get rid of - I could have just spread them out for two days or so in the sun, but simply taking them out of the plastic and putting them out on the balcony in a cardboard box for a week days did the trick (a bit less airing out would be fine if I just want to put them in a closet). They make fine gifts - secretaries in the office appreciate them.
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by outdoor enthusiast from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, February 2, 2011
    The moth ball odor in these blankets is unbelievably strong. Outdoor airing and dry cleaning has not helped! They are currently hanging in the attic of an outbuilding and I am hoping that I will be able to use them by next winter!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Iceroamer from Sacramento, CA on Wednesday, February 2, 2011
    Great blanket for camping or anything outdoors. Yes it smells at first, but the moth ball smell wears off after a while. It also protects the wool from moths. I left it outside for a few weeks. I really like this blanket! Also check out a youtube video on wrapping a wool blanket, around you when camping.
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pabloturtle from Idaho on Wednesday, February 2, 2011
    It's not everyday you find this kind of quality for the price. Bought several. Great emergency blanket for the car.
    • Best Uses: Whenever you're cold
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Excellent quality, WARM
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nick Stone from Central Kentucky on Friday, January 28, 2011
    This is a great blanket and is really hard to find. It is warm, durable and good quality. The biggest drawback to this blanket is the smell from the chemicals that are used to help preserve it during storage. DO NOT open that box in your house because then your whole house will smell like that for days. Open it up outside and hang it up in the sun for about a week to let it air out and get rid of the smell. Overall, a great product at a great deal.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Cons: Difficult to Clean, Smell
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, WARM
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by skierlinda from MI on Friday, January 28, 2011
    Very durable and heavy blanket. Reminds me of the blanket that saved my great grandpa on the hike home from the Yukon Gold Rush. (it is that warm and heavy) It will be a lifesaver if the heat goes out!
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Cons: A little scratchy
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Allison T from Birmingham, Alabama on Friday, January 28, 2011
    Some of the reviewers who have been disappointed in this blanket appear not to be particularly familiar with army blankets, moth balls, or maybe even wool. I, however, was specifically looking for an army blanket to replace one of the threadbare World War II ones that had belonged to my father. So, this is like a U.S. army blanket only in a color more pleasing than olive drab. As expected, it had an overpowering smell of moth balls. I machine washed it in cold water, (What army sends their blankets out to the cleaners?) and hung it to dry on a stepladder in the basement. With forced hot air heat, the whole house reeked of mothballs for several days. In fact, I could smell that blanket from the front steps. The odor has now dissipated. I'll wash it one more time, and it will be ready for use. Yes, as another reviewer mentioned, it's kind of utilitarian, but that's exactly what I wanted. If what you're looking for is an army blanket and realize that stuff packed in mothballs has to air for a while, you will be pleased with this.
    • Pros: Practical, WARM
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 69 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.