Swiss-Link Russian Wool Army Blanket

Closeouts. The Swiss-Link Russian wool army blanket is crafted of wool for warmth and durability other fibers simply can't deliver.

Average Rating based on 59 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 59 reviews
  • Reviewed by Borrego Badlands from Altadena, CA on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    Due to a mild (not overwhelming) mothball smell, this heavy wool blanket does need to be hung outside in a breeze (which is possible in S. CA at Christmas time when it's over 75ºF outside) to air out. That, and a tag so worn it cannot be read, are the reasons this item doesn't get 5 stars. If you are sensitive to mothball odor, don't buy this item. Nonetheless, this is a very thick, soft, substantial wool blanket sized perfectly for emergency use in your vehicle or RV. This is a dense, high quality wool blanket that you can throw across the cargo area in your SUV, but also use camping or when stranded to stay warm and safe. Yet it's priced to use and lose, if necessary (not an heirloom). We lost one like it when someone hit (and left) a poor dog on a rural road and we wrapped the large, dog in our cargo blanket. We found her owners at a near-by farm house, and told them to keep the blanket for carrying their dog home, of course. (We never found out if she survived, but at least our blanket helped on a cold night). This Russian wool blanket has the same good qualities as our old wool blanket (keeps anyone warm even if damp), but one can use it at need.
  • Reviewed by STPVet from Rhode Island on Friday, December 20, 2013
    These are extremely warm blankets. The mothball smell is present; a day of airing out took care of it. The only gripe I have is the uniformity of the sizes. I bought two and they are not exactly the same size, but this is nothing when compared to the value they represent. This is not merino wool, but thick scratchy wool that may not fit every conceivable application. This is definitely a winter-only blanket, unless you live in Russia.:)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 9730686 from BC, Canada on Monday, December 19, 2011
    I bought this blanket as an emergency preparedness item for my car and home kit. You can't beat wool for year-round protection. It is a good size, is heavy/thick and my daughter loves hers for warmth in front of the TV. Great purchase.
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Janie from Pueblo, CO on Friday, December 16, 2011
    I bought this blanket knowing full well the smell was a mixed commentary. I wanted to re-figure it a bit. It looks exactly like I wanted but can't get past the smell. Have tried everything but the actual dry clean-The value it was would have totally gone up in smoke but may have to suck it up and do it. Has no value as it sits. Had such a good plan for it's use but at a stand still now.
    • Cons: Smell
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Looks like I wanted
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rc from texas on Thursday, December 15, 2011
    looks so very cheap compared to some other army style blankets, we'll see how it holds up.
    is more like a moving blanket with a gingerly stitched edge than an actual piece of utilitarian bedding.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall
    • Cons: Poor Quality, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LiftyChick from Kimberley, BC, Canada on Wednesday, December 14, 2011
    I was a little skeptical from other reviews that these blankets would have a strong mothball odor and would have to air them out before use, but upon receiving my 2 i was very pleased that they had only the usual smell of pure wool. Definitely a great quality for the price. Its an army blanket and functions as expected, not soft or plushy but toasty regardless. I use one as a couch throw and the other is going into my truck for emergency use. I may yet purchase a couple more for camping use :)
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ron Mexico from Little Rock, AR on Saturday, December 10, 2011
    Neutral color, warm blanket.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Reviewed by Ohio camper from Cincinnati, Ohio on Friday, December 09, 2011
    Just camped in Ohio under 20 degrees and these blankets were awesome. I had no oder or other issues and would buy more if available. I bought 6 and 3 have disapeared into kids bedrooms.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by FloFlo from Denver, CO on Friday, December 02, 2011
    This blanket really is the real deal. It's heavy duty and perfect for outdoors activities from a day in the park on the grass to nights boating on the water. It's 100% wool. Even if it's soaking wet it's going to keep you warm. It's thick enough to where you would lay it down in your tent for extra cushion and insulation and light enough that you could pack it on day/short hikes. Probably too bulky to pack on overnights.

    I'm pleased with this purchase. I'm not going to use it in my daily bed, but it will be my go-to outdoors blanket.
    • Best Uses: Wet conditions, Year-round
    • Cons: Difficult to Clean
    • Describe Yourself: High-end Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Functional, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by maizy from California on Friday, December 02, 2011
    Thought an army issue blanket would be very cool but didn't know it was "Used" until I decided to read more reviews after receiving. The blanket was still in the box so after reading the reviews I decided to open it up and sure enough it smelled terribly of month balls, was evidently used and had a rip. Very gross. Dry cleaning would of cost $40 which would of raised the price significantly. I returned.
    • Describe Yourself: High-end Shopper
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 59 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.