Located in Northern California, the Swiss-Link military surplus company has been tracking down great deals on camouflage uniforms, military outerwear, camping gear, survival gear, footwear and many other outstanding products for more than two decades. Swiss-Link military clothing and gear is the real deal, offering excellent quality at an equally excellent value. Whether you’re in the market for a rugged desert camo jacket, MREs for backpacking or a set of jerry cans for your SUV, Swiss-Link is your go-to source for great deals on a wide varie ... Learn more about Swiss-Linkty of military surplus products. ... Less
Average Rating based on 272 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 28 »
  • 11-20 of 272 reviews
  • Reviewed by Hey hey no way from Brooklyn NY, USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
    You get what you pay for with this blanket. It looks and feels nothing like the real deal. The texture of the fabric resembles more of the consistency of compressed rough particles then a woven wool blend. Go into this purchase with low expectation or you will be extremely disappointed. Remember it cost 13 bucks to ship and return. I learned the hard way. Let my lesson be your insight.
  • Reviewed by Eliza from nyc on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    This is not a thick wool blanket, but it is not too thin either. I like the simple, straightforward plain-ness of it. I am using it as a second blanket on my bed, which works well. For this closeout price it is unbeatable for quality and size!
  • Reviewed by Borrego Badlands from Altadena, CA on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    Due to a mild (not overwhelming) mothball smell, this heavy wool blanket does need to be hung outside in a breeze (which is possible in S. CA at Christmas time when it's over 75ºF outside) to air out. That, and a tag so worn it cannot be read, are the reasons this item doesn't get 5 stars. If you are sensitive to mothball odor, don't buy this item. Nonetheless, this is a very thick, soft, substantial wool blanket sized perfectly for emergency use in your vehicle or RV. This is a dense, high quality wool blanket that you can throw across the cargo area in your SUV, but also use camping or when stranded to stay warm and safe. Yet it's priced to use and lose, if necessary (not an heirloom). We lost one like it when someone hit (and left) a poor dog on a rural road and we wrapped the large, dog in our cargo blanket. We found her owners at a near-by farm house, and told them to keep the blanket for carrying their dog home, of course. (We never found out if she survived, but at least our blanket helped on a cold night). This Russian wool blanket has the same good qualities as our old wool blanket (keeps anyone warm even if damp), but one can use it at need.
  • Reviewed by STPVet from Rhode Island on Friday, December 20, 2013
    These are extremely warm blankets. The mothball smell is present; a day of airing out took care of it. The only gripe I have is the uniformity of the sizes. I bought two and they are not exactly the same size, but this is nothing when compared to the value they represent. This is not merino wool, but thick scratchy wool that may not fit every conceivable application. This is definitely a winter-only blanket, unless you live in Russia.:)
  • Reviewed by hdwrlover from The Evergreen state on Friday, December 6, 2013
    I purchased two of these at $22 and change. I received them today and one was made in 1979 and the other in 1993. The one made in 1993 had some stains. After looking at the Swiss Link site I see these are used but STP didn't say so. I took a chance and washed both of these in hot water since they were much larger than other surplus blankets. I then dried them in the dryer using a normal cycle which gets hot. No significant shrinkage so I am wondering if these are really 100% wool.

    I like the one made in 1979 better and it seems to made of a thicker wool and is heavier, whereas the one made in 1993 from a different British company is lighter and holding both up to a light you can tell the difference.

    Anyway with an extra 40% off I am taking a chance and ordering two more. They will go into my vehicles for emergency blankets. You can't get a better deal for that purpose. I also own Italian wool surplus blankets that cost about 3 times as much.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 9730686 from BC, Canada on Monday, December 19, 2011
    I bought this blanket as an emergency preparedness item for my car and home kit. You can't beat wool for year-round protection. It is a good size, is heavy/thick and my daughter loves hers for warmth in front of the TV. Great purchase.
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Janie from Pueblo, CO on Friday, December 16, 2011
    I bought this blanket knowing full well the smell was a mixed commentary. I wanted to re-figure it a bit. It looks exactly like I wanted but can't get past the smell. Have tried everything but the actual dry clean-The value it was would have totally gone up in smoke but may have to suck it up and do it. Has no value as it sits. Had such a good plan for it's use but at a stand still now.
    • Cons: Smell
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Looks like I wanted
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rc from texas on Thursday, December 15, 2011
    looks so very cheap compared to some other army style blankets, we'll see how it holds up.
    is more like a moving blanket with a gingerly stitched edge than an actual piece of utilitarian bedding.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall
    • Cons: Poor Quality, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LiftyChick from Kimberley, BC, Canada on Wednesday, December 14, 2011
    I was a little skeptical from other reviews that these blankets would have a strong mothball odor and would have to air them out before use, but upon receiving my 2 i was very pleased that they had only the usual smell of pure wool. Definitely a great quality for the price. Its an army blanket and functions as expected, not soft or plushy but toasty regardless. I use one as a couch throw and the other is going into my truck for emergency use. I may yet purchase a couple more for camping use :)
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ron Mexico from Little Rock, AR on Saturday, December 10, 2011
    Neutral color, warm blanket.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 28 »
  • 11-20 of 272 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;