Located in Northern California, the Swiss-Link military surplus company has been tracking down great deals on camouflage uniforms, military outerwear, camping gear, survival gear, footwear and many other outstanding products for more than two decades. Swiss-Link military clothing and gear is the real deal, offering excellent quality at an equally excellent value. Whether you’re in the market for a rugged desert camo jacket, MREs for backpacking or a set of jerry cans for your SUV, Swiss-Link is your go-to source for great deals on a wide varie ... Learn more about Swiss-Linkty of military surplus products. ... Less
Average Rating based on 272 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 10 »
  • 1-30 of 272 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anonymous6789 from Rocky Mountains on Friday, June 20, 2014
    These are brand new condition British military surplus pants. They feature a tightly woven high thread count 50% Polyester 50% cotton fabric that is very breathable and durable. These make great outdoor/hiking/hunting pants.
  • Reviewed by area man from boston on Thursday, January 30, 2014
    Sent it back. Smelled like petroleum products, and left a greasy residue on my hand when touched that took some scrubbing to remove.
  • Reviewed by pdx flyer from oregon on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    When I received the blanket it was stiff, hard and smelled petroleum-ish, and although the tag states "dry clean only" (like some other reviewers), I washed mine on cold and then dried it on "low" and it turned out to be ever so soft, with practically no shrinkage (I compared it to another I got that I hadn't washed yet) ........ Wool blankets are sometimes a little scratchy .... This blanket (for the price) rates a perfect "10" ......
  • Reviewed by Dutch from Colorado on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    Got two of these for our camper. They should be okay for that function, but I was hoping for better quality. They seem thick and heavy which is good, but looking closely at the fabric you can see a lot of foreign material is sewn into the blanket, including spiral metal shavings and pieces of fishing line. It's also coated with something that leaves a slightly greasy feel on your hands - maybe waterproofing or flame retardant? They also have that old smell, like you've walked into a ragstock store.

    Overall not great, but should be okay for camping blankets.
  • Reviewed by Nicc from SoCal on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    The picture and product look much different. Honestly considering returning, one because it's not the same item and two because the god awful smell this thing radiates.
  • Reviewed by Jim from Massachusetts on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    1st Impression: Seemed like a horse blanket. Rough material, robust raw odor that would be difficult to coexist in any environment other than a tent or a log cabin. Concerned how durable the blanket would be after " dry clean only."
  • Reviewed by AWinter from Newfoundland on Monday, January 13, 2014
    For what you pay for its a good rough blanket. It's 70% wool and 30% other fibres.
    It's rough but warm and rugged enough for outdoor use around a campfire or tossed on the ground for bedding. It's heavy at about 4lbs, but you can roll it up and pack it. I use it for taking into the woods where I may want it in the cooler months and don't want to worry about ruining an expensive blanket.
    If using on a bed at home (as I also do), you may want a sheet or something between the skin and this blanket.
  • Reviewed by Ron from Reno on Friday, January 10, 2014
    This is an excellent quality heavyweight wool blanket. Yes, it may be a bit scratchy, but it's warm. Good quality, and STPs excellent price, can't beat it. I have three, and used the coupons. You can't these type blankets for 14 bucks anywhere. Awesome buy. Get some, you won't be disappointed.
  • Reviewed by olivia from north carolina on Monday, January 06, 2014
    Tag says wool/nylon blend. It doesn't even specify how much of each.... should have known the price was too good to be true. Too bad that STP got it wrong in the description and I bought thinking this would be wool. Still, it was very cheap and could come in handy. I may keep it.
  • Reviewed by Chris from Colorado on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    This is a good, heavy, old fashioned wool blanket. The price is one-fifth what competitors charge. With the low price I wasn't sure what to expect, but the quality is good. I love the colors and the swiss cross design. The only drawback is it's a little scratchy, but hey it's real wool!
  • Reviewed by Hey hey no way from Brooklyn NY, USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
    You get what you pay for with this blanket. It looks and feels nothing like the real deal. The texture of the fabric resembles more of the consistency of compressed rough particles then a woven wool blend. Go into this purchase with low expectation or you will be extremely disappointed. Remember it cost 13 bucks to ship and return. I learned the hard way. Let my lesson be your insight.
  • Reviewed by Eliza from nyc on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    This is not a thick wool blanket, but it is not too thin either. I like the simple, straightforward plain-ness of it. I am using it as a second blanket on my bed, which works well. For this closeout price it is unbeatable for quality and size!
  • Reviewed by Borrego Badlands from Altadena, CA on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    Due to a mild (not overwhelming) mothball smell, this heavy wool blanket does need to be hung outside in a breeze (which is possible in S. CA at Christmas time when it's over 75ºF outside) to air out. That, and a tag so worn it cannot be read, are the reasons this item doesn't get 5 stars. If you are sensitive to mothball odor, don't buy this item. Nonetheless, this is a very thick, soft, substantial wool blanket sized perfectly for emergency use in your vehicle or RV. This is a dense, high quality wool blanket that you can throw across the cargo area in your SUV, but also use camping or when stranded to stay warm and safe. Yet it's priced to use and lose, if necessary (not an heirloom). We lost one like it when someone hit (and left) a poor dog on a rural road and we wrapped the large, dog in our cargo blanket. We found her owners at a near-by farm house, and told them to keep the blanket for carrying their dog home, of course. (We never found out if she survived, but at least our blanket helped on a cold night). This Russian wool blanket has the same good qualities as our old wool blanket (keeps anyone warm even if damp), but one can use it at need.
  • Reviewed by STPVet from Rhode Island on Friday, December 20, 2013
    These are extremely warm blankets. The mothball smell is present; a day of airing out took care of it. The only gripe I have is the uniformity of the sizes. I bought two and they are not exactly the same size, but this is nothing when compared to the value they represent. This is not merino wool, but thick scratchy wool that may not fit every conceivable application. This is definitely a winter-only blanket, unless you live in Russia.:)
  • Reviewed by hdwrlover from The Evergreen state on Friday, December 06, 2013
    I purchased two of these at $22 and change. I received them today and one was made in 1979 and the other in 1993. The one made in 1993 had some stains. After looking at the Swiss Link site I see these are used but STP didn't say so. I took a chance and washed both of these in hot water since they were much larger than other surplus blankets. I then dried them in the dryer using a normal cycle which gets hot. No significant shrinkage so I am wondering if these are really 100% wool.

    I like the one made in 1979 better and it seems to made of a thicker wool and is heavier, whereas the one made in 1993 from a different British company is lighter and holding both up to a light you can tell the difference.

    Anyway with an extra 40% off I am taking a chance and ordering two more. They will go into my vehicles for emergency blankets. You can't get a better deal for that purpose. I also own Italian wool surplus blankets that cost about 3 times as much.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 9730686 from BC, Canada on Monday, December 19, 2011
    I bought this blanket as an emergency preparedness item for my car and home kit. You can't beat wool for year-round protection. It is a good size, is heavy/thick and my daughter loves hers for warmth in front of the TV. Great purchase.
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Janie from Pueblo, CO on Friday, December 16, 2011
    I bought this blanket knowing full well the smell was a mixed commentary. I wanted to re-figure it a bit. It looks exactly like I wanted but can't get past the smell. Have tried everything but the actual dry clean-The value it was would have totally gone up in smoke but may have to suck it up and do it. Has no value as it sits. Had such a good plan for it's use but at a stand still now.
    • Cons: Smell
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Looks like I wanted
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rc from texas on Thursday, December 15, 2011
    looks so very cheap compared to some other army style blankets, we'll see how it holds up.
    is more like a moving blanket with a gingerly stitched edge than an actual piece of utilitarian bedding.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall
    • Cons: Poor Quality, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LiftyChick from Kimberley, BC, Canada on Wednesday, December 14, 2011
    I was a little skeptical from other reviews that these blankets would have a strong mothball odor and would have to air them out before use, but upon receiving my 2 i was very pleased that they had only the usual smell of pure wool. Definitely a great quality for the price. Its an army blanket and functions as expected, not soft or plushy but toasty regardless. I use one as a couch throw and the other is going into my truck for emergency use. I may yet purchase a couple more for camping use :)
    • Best Uses: Year-round
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ron Mexico from Little Rock, AR on Saturday, December 10, 2011
    Neutral color, warm blanket.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Reviewed by Ohio camper from Cincinnati, Ohio on Friday, December 09, 2011
    Just camped in Ohio under 20 degrees and these blankets were awesome. I had no oder or other issues and would buy more if available. I bought 6 and 3 have disapeared into kids bedrooms.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by FloFlo from Denver, CO on Friday, December 02, 2011
    This blanket really is the real deal. It's heavy duty and perfect for outdoors activities from a day in the park on the grass to nights boating on the water. It's 100% wool. Even if it's soaking wet it's going to keep you warm. It's thick enough to where you would lay it down in your tent for extra cushion and insulation and light enough that you could pack it on day/short hikes. Probably too bulky to pack on overnights.

    I'm pleased with this purchase. I'm not going to use it in my daily bed, but it will be my go-to outdoors blanket.
    • Best Uses: Wet conditions, Year-round
    • Cons: Difficult to Clean
    • Describe Yourself: High-end Shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Functional, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by maizy from California on Friday, December 02, 2011
    Thought an army issue blanket would be very cool but didn't know it was "Used" until I decided to read more reviews after receiving. The blanket was still in the box so after reading the reviews I decided to open it up and sure enough it smelled terribly of month balls, was evidently used and had a rip. Very gross. Dry cleaning would of cost $40 which would of raised the price significantly. I returned.
    • Describe Yourself: High-end Shopper
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old Coach from Bellingham, WA on Friday, December 02, 2011
    After reading all the reviews, I figured the worst case scenario would be a bad smelling blanket in rough condition. Maybe I lucked out, but the two I ordered arrived individually sealed in plastic - and upon opening had no odor whatever! They are thick, in excellent shape, promise to be very warm, and will be perfect for their intended use in hunting camp.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Soft, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hunt.Fish.Relax from NE Iowa on Thursday, December 01, 2011
    I keep these in my truck for emergencies when out hunting or fishing. I also keep one on the couch. Very warm. No smell as advertised at all.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Cons: Dry Clean Only
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gandalf from Juneau, AK on Thursday, December 01, 2011
    Living in Alaska, the nights are often cold, as you can imagine. This blanket has ended that. I actually can't wait to get into bed each night, regardless of the temperature outside. It is so warm, but breathes, so I never feel "clammy". I actually bought two: the other is my "recliner blanket" that I use to wrap around me when watching Sunday football while the snow is blowing outside. One of the best products I have ever purchased from STP.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall, Winter
    • Cons: Difficult to Clean
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hunter chic from Michigan on Wednesday, November 30, 2011
    Like the size and quality. Great value for the price!
    • Best Uses: In my deer blind
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Warm Comfy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BigTay from Orange County, CA on Friday, November 18, 2011
    I bought 2. My wifes car and mine. But they are gravitating to the family room and outdoor events. Just perfect for warmth without a care. Very durable, worm, heavy, and unique.
    • Best Uses: Car camping Guests Blan, Winter
    • Cons: Grey is grey
    • Describe Yourself: High-end Shopper
    • Pros: Perfect Survival Blanket, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DH from Middle Georgia on Friday, November 18, 2011
    This was my second order for these blankets. After I received the first one I knew I had to have more. Very faint oder, no stains, perfect stitching, very thick and generous size. For all practical purposes, they are in like-new condition. These are twice the quality at half the price of what one might find at an army surplus store. An overall excellent value. They will probably need one dry cleaning if you intend to use these indoors but this actually helps fluff the fibers and makes it softer and thicker.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Cons: Dry Clean Only
    • Describe Yourself: Budget Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft, Warm
  • Reviewed by sergeantsilverheart from pennsylvania on Wednesday, November 16, 2011
    i like the size thickness, but in my opinion it has too much cotton and not enough wool; but because of this it isn't as scratchy, i recommend this for outdoor use in the fall and spring.
    • Best Uses: Spring/Fall
    • Cons: Poor Insulation
    • Describe Yourself: Midrange Shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 10 »
  • 1-30 of 272 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;