• Swiss-Link Reviews

Swiss-Link
Swiss-Link 3.727586 5 Average Rating:
0 Likes
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 10
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nori of the North from Montana on Thursday, November 19, 2015
    Definitely top quality. Normally wear size L, but ordered XL to wear over sweatshirt or light jacket. Unfortunately the XL is actually somewhere between a medium and a large so it won't work over anything heavier than a tee shirt -- and it's still tight through the shoulders with just a tee shirt.
  • Reviewed by Musky Hunter from Wisconsin on Wednesday, October 14, 2015
    I bought the Xl and its fits me perfectly. I am 6'5" 245lbs and I normally wear an XL. The construction is very durable with 100 per cent sealed seams. This is probably the best deal I have found on anything in my entire life. Bombproof gore-tex, and seam-sealed for $25 makes this not just good deal but an incredible one! I pulled the trigger on the pants too and I will be using this combo (with a fleece layer) for fall/winter fishing in snow sleet and rain with driving winds. I am confident this jacket will stand up to the elements with no issues.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by justjay from Upstate NY on Friday, October 2, 2015
    This is a great value on a rugged goretex jacket. I usually wear a size large but I purchased a XL based on another reviewer stating sizing was way off, and the XL fits exactly like an XL, little big for me, but perfect for layering. I ordered a second one just because it was such a great deal. The only complaint I had was that the hood is oversize and it hung way down without wearing a ball cap, But then I spotted the velcro tabs on the back of the hood, and that fixed the problem! Get one while you can.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by An Officer and a Gentleman from Maine on Tuesday, September 8, 2015
    This is a well-made garment and is better than anything I have seen made for the U.S. armed forces. It is rather unusual to get something that fits fairly well on the first try. Even the velcro stips are light tan to match the DPM desert colors; attention to detail is extraordinary.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Johnny the Unwearer from CO on Thursday, August 20, 2015
    These seem really big even for over pants. The fabric is noisy.
    Probably not good tactical or hunting pants unless you like to be "swishy"

    Well made and seem durable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Goosert from CT on Friday, August 14, 2015
    Great item for use as a waterproof parka over a lighter jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Johnny the Unwearer from Colorado on Wednesday, August 5, 2015
    Sleeves on XL (first purchase) were nearly 8-10" too long. Rest of parka seems sized to wear as a shell over other layers.
    The sleeves on the L were about 3" too long but this can be remedied with the Velcro cuffs.

    Great construction and fabric, nice British flag on shoulder.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bluthum from NC Arkansas on Thursday, May 14, 2015
    I was looking for a pair of pants suitable for rough hiking [off trail, often in dense vegetation]. These pants are well suited to that task double knees and seat, nice pockets, just stoutly made in general.

    Just what you would expect from a bdu pant but brand new and priced low.
  • Reviewed by Gina from Iowa on Thursday, May 7, 2015
    These seem very well made.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David Oster from California on Wednesday, February 18, 2015
    The Swiss Link British SAS Desert Parka is a true modern combat smock designed to prevent heat loss that could be experienced in desert environments. Starting from the hood, a wire has been sewn into the forwad edge so that the user can shape the hood to provide maximum vision and add rigitity to the air chamber created. The hood chamber can be rolled back to reduce the hood profile if desired. A loop sewn to the inside of the hood permits the hood to be rolled up and secured to a button on the back of the smock. Each pocket is secured with single Candian NATO style button. The pockets are large and capable of ample storage. The waist and the hip have sewn in adjustable cords to prevent heat loss. The front zipper is heavy duty YKK zipper. Heavy webbing is sewn into the bottom 2 inches of the zipper which adds to the ease of starting the zipper and will add to the durability of the zipper itself.
  • Reviewed by Sheila from Valdese, NC on Friday, February 13, 2015
    I'm female, bought these for our cooler Spring/Fall camping trips. 19 degrees today and I have them on over my leggings, so toasty and warm, I won't even notice the elements when camping! Water rolls right off too. Light weight and durable. THANKS STP!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JR from Lesueur,MN on Monday, February 9, 2015
    Well made, warm suspenders long enough and a great price, Thank you STP
  • Reviewed by Sunil from Wilmington on Tuesday, January 6, 2015
    UPDATE: I just received the XL size of this jacket which was an exchange for the L size I had previously ordered. My review of the large is above. This is a mis-sized jacket. The sleeves are still way too short and the chest size is still not a true large size. The size is definitely not true to size.Will be returning this one as well. Very disappointed. This jacket would fit a small man with short arms or a a medium sized woman.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sunil from Wilmington on Tuesday, December 23, 2014
    Nice jacket, but runs one size small. I normally wear a mens large and the large I ordered fits exactly like a mens medium. The sleeves are short and the shoulders are tight on me. I think it's a great jacket but definitely has a few minor issues. It has no lower pockets at the waist. It also doesn't appear to have any way to zip or button a fleece liner into it like some of the ECWCS parkas. Other than that for the price, you can't get a Gore -Tex type jacket this cheap anywhere. Fantastic if you want a rain jacket or a lightweight jacket that is breathable. I plan on exchanging this for an extra large. If you normally wear an extra large, forget it, you'll have to lather up in butter to get it on.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Polly-O from New York on Tuesday, October 21, 2014
    The size ratings are not accurate - I ordered a supposed 34 waist and it was XL. Otherwise seemed well made.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chicago Disaster Guy from Chicago on Monday, September 29, 2014
    I got these thinking they were new, unissued, British military gore tex pants. They are.

    I got these to run in the Midwest rain, sleet and snow. I run with a backpack and boots mind you, so it is moderate, steady pace. What I can say is I have no doubt these will serve as an excellent outer layer from 60 F to -20 F.

    They ARE a layering pant and are sized correctly, so if you wear a 38 waist, order a 38 as they are designed to just fit over 38 BDU pants (or jeans or other heavyweight trousers). They are designed to go on over shoes, so don't expect to be hemming them as they have lower legs that open.

    Also important to note that the British (and other European militaries) still utilize a higher waisted trouser than the U.S., so if you are not quite military-shaped, meaning you have a little or a lot more than a muffin top, you should measure your waist around your belly button if you want the "waist" not to divide you like a string on a sausage.

    Overall I am quite pleased with these for my intended purpose, and they are very lightweight and packable so they would be equally useful on any non-urban expedition.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Malagua from Virginia on Monday, September 8, 2014
    Great work pants. Will last me for years for cutting wood, etc.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by . from . on Thursday, July 24, 2014
    .
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anonymous6789 from Rocky Mountains on Friday, June 20, 2014
    These are brand new condition British military surplus pants. They feature a tightly woven high thread count 50% Polyester 50% cotton fabric that is very breathable and durable. These make great outdoor/hiking/hunting pants.
  • Reviewed by guy from boston on Thursday, January 30, 2014
    Sent it back. Smelled like petroleum products, and left a greasy residue on my hand when touched that took some scrubbing to remove.
  • Reviewed by pdx flyer from oregon on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    When I received the blanket it was stiff, hard and smelled petroleum-ish, and although the tag states "dry clean only" (like some other reviewers), I washed mine on cold and then dried it on "low" and it turned out to be ever so soft, with practically no shrinkage (I compared it to another I got that I hadn't washed yet) ........ Wool blankets are sometimes a little scratchy .... This blanket (for the price) rates a perfect "10" ......
  • Reviewed by Dutch from Colorado on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    Got two of these for our camper. They should be okay for that function, but I was hoping for better quality. They seem thick and heavy which is good, but looking closely at the fabric you can see a lot of foreign material is sewn into the blanket, including spiral metal shavings and pieces of fishing line. It's also coated with something that leaves a slightly greasy feel on your hands - maybe waterproofing or flame retardant? They also have that old smell, like you've walked into a ragstock store.

    Overall not great, but should be okay for camping blankets.
  • Reviewed by Nicc from SoCal on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    The picture and product look much different. Honestly considering returning, one because it's not the same item and two because the god awful smell this thing radiates.
  • Reviewed by Jim from Massachusetts on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    1st Impression: Seemed like a horse blanket. Rough material, robust raw odor that would be difficult to coexist in any environment other than a tent or a log cabin. Concerned how durable the blanket would be after " dry clean only."
  • Reviewed by AWinter from Newfoundland on Monday, January 13, 2014
    For what you pay for its a good rough blanket. It's 70% wool and 30% other fibres.
    It's rough but warm and rugged enough for outdoor use around a campfire or tossed on the ground for bedding. It's heavy at about 4lbs, but you can roll it up and pack it. I use it for taking into the woods where I may want it in the cooler months and don't want to worry about ruining an expensive blanket.
    If using on a bed at home (as I also do), you may want a sheet or something between the skin and this blanket.
  • Reviewed by Ron from Reno on Friday, January 10, 2014
    This is an excellent quality heavyweight wool blanket. Yes, it may be a bit scratchy, but it's warm. Good quality, and STPs excellent price, can't beat it. I have three, and used the coupons. You can't these type blankets for 14 bucks anywhere. Awesome buy. Get some, you won't be disappointed.
  • Reviewed by olivia from north carolina on Monday, January 6, 2014
    Tag says wool/nylon blend. It doesn't even specify how much of each.... should have known the price was too good to be true. Too bad that STP got it wrong in the description and I bought thinking this would be wool. Still, it was very cheap and could come in handy. I may keep it.
  • Reviewed by Chris from Colorado on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    This is a good, heavy, old fashioned wool blanket. The price is one-fifth what competitors charge. With the low price I wasn't sure what to expect, but the quality is good. I love the colors and the swiss cross design. The only drawback is it's a little scratchy, but hey it's real wool!
  • Reviewed by Hey hey no way from Brooklyn NY, USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
    You get what you pay for with this blanket. It looks and feels nothing like the real deal. The texture of the fabric resembles more of the consistency of compressed rough particles then a woven wool blend. Go into this purchase with low expectation or you will be extremely disappointed. Remember it cost 13 bucks to ship and return. I learned the hard way. Let my lesson be your insight.
  • Reviewed by Cindi from nyc on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    This is not a thick wool blanket, but it is not too thin either. I like the simple, straightforward plain-ness of it. I am using it as a second blanket on my bed, which works well. For this closeout price it is unbeatable for quality and size!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 10
;