Terramar Sportsman Base Layer Bottoms - Wool-Blend (For Men)

Closeouts. An ideal base layer for cold-weather hunts, these Terramar Sportsman bottoms are constructed with a blend of cotton, wool and nylon, providing excellent warmth, durability and next-to-skin comfort.

Average Rating based on 51 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 51 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sandhills girl. from Nebraska on Saturday, January 12, 2013
    Dad wears long underwear daily in the winter. He loves the wool. It is comfortable, warm and washable!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by llp7 from Alaska on Sunday, December 2, 2012
    These are a very warm and cozy product for use up here in Alaska. Worn under regular casual pants they keep me warm without feeling bulky or overheated.

    Haven't washed them yet, which will be a test for them, but so far, these were a great purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Male Turtle from Brattleboro, VT on Thursday, November 29, 2012
    I've only had the Terramere bottoms for a couple weeks, wear them around the house, and already they are starting to 'shed' balls of cotton fabric.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TJ from Southwest WA on Thursday, November 1, 2012
    He loves them. They're soft and comfortable, look good & high-quality, and fit great (after 1 wash).
    • Best Uses: Lounging, Sleeping, Underwear
    • Describe Yourself: Bargain Shopper, Outdoor professional
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Great Fit, Quality Material
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Reviewed by Macrotek from Chicago, IL on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
    I've been searching for long johns in a blend of wool and cotton materials for quite a while. Finally found them here on Sierra, but only in XL. Well, I said, what the heck if they're too big I could shrink them. Much to my surprise the XL fit perfectly and the charcoal grey color was the best choice. From my perspective this is an ideal long john selection. As usual, great product, great price, and great service.
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Feels Soft To Skin, Great Fit, Quality Material, Wool And Cotton Blend
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dragon Dude from Roseville, CA on Wednesday, March 7, 2012
    very nice
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, sleep wear, Snow Sports
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Fits well, Lightweight, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by al from oak park from Michigan on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
    this is a smart product, with cotton inside and smart wool on the outside it has the best of all worlds, well made and worth every penny
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pat from St. Charles, IL on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
    Beat my expectation. I wore this X-Country skiing. My other underlayer created sweat and this did not.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ed R from Bartlett, NH on Thursday, January 19, 2012
    I like these pants because they are long. I use them for skiing and on most underlayers the end of the leg ends on the shin which can cause a pressure point after the ski boots are buckled. These pants end at the ankle which helps to avoing this. I'm happy with them
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Moisture Wicking, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob from Utah on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    Feels good to skin
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by marieh from el cerrito,ca on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    My husband's favorite long underwear. For those cold morning bike rides to work under his gear, keeps his knees warm, and for night time comfort. Very soft. Washes well so far.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Pajamas, Travel
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Olympia Climber from Olympia, WA on Friday, January 13, 2012
    Bought these for my dad. He liked them so much he bought another set. Can't really go wrong with terramar products.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Risi from Oakland, CA on Wednesday, January 11, 2012
    Bought for my husband who is often cold; he's very satisfied and comfortable
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Rarely Work Out
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by A skier from Mass on Monday, January 9, 2012
    I am afriad anything with 'wool' will be itchy. These were soft and had minmial seams, so easy to tuck into the ski boots.
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by beatst from Wisconsin on Saturday, January 7, 2012
    Your basic warm comfortable Long Johns. The right price as always and very warm.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Support, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eddie from Brookloyn NY on Thursday, January 5, 2012
    for every day a winter time.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Snow Sports
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Support, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pineapple King from Rolla, MO on Tuesday, December 27, 2011
    Does a great job of keeping me warm. I would classify this as a midweight base layer.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by zowpow from Pittsburgh, PA on Thursday, October 27, 2011
    I ordered these after returning the Wicker's long underwear (extremely large and odd cut) and am rather pleased with my choice. I'm a pretty athletic build (6'0", 210 lbs) and the large fits me perfectly. I have worn them on early-morning runs, as well as for more stationary activities in cooler weather (archery). They keep me very warm and do a good job with moisture. I haven't had the chance to test them in the extreme cold, but hopefully they will do the trick.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking, Running
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Beginner Skier from Lodi, CA on Wednesday, October 26, 2011
    I bought this for base layer for skiing. Very comfortable and warm. Great for layering. Nice medium weight.
    • Best Uses: Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nitoy from Reno on Monday, October 24, 2011
    Bought this for hiking in cold weather & skiing.. kept we warm...
    • Best Uses: Casual lounging, Cold Weather, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Skippy from Vail, CO on Monday, August 29, 2011
    Just a good straightforward med/heavy base layer
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Competitive Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Ron from Baltimore, MD USA on Thursday, May 5, 2011
    I bought these since I they were out of my size in the Woolskins. These are warm and comfortable, but the 100% merino Woolskins regulate temperature better if one is in and out of the cold regularly.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Walker from Los Angeles, CA on Monday, April 4, 2011
    Quality is fine.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Warm in Warrenton from Warrenton, VA on Friday, April 1, 2011
    So soft and warm, one of the best base layers I have ever put on. I am going to have to get another set because my girlfriend keeps wearing this one.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tommy from New York, NY on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
    Thicker than REI midweight and thinner than Patagonia fleece
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sneaky from Australia on Monday, March 21, 2011
    All round great
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve the Caveman from San Diego, CA on Monday, March 7, 2011
    This is a really nice fabric, but isn't to be mistaken for a long insulating thermal layer. It's really more of a layer that would be great if you considered using it under really thin outerwear like some of the thiner camo BDU's, hunting, or rain gear. It won't wick too well: it's got good amount of cotton in it (very comfortable), so it's more of a warmer weather layer. I see it more as additional abrasion protection for scrambling and bouldering in the winter desert.

    Regrettably, I did send the Top back because it was too small for an XL, REALLY snug. But I kept the bottoms! They are really comfortable, and perfect for the right application.
    • Best Uses: Warm Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Adv3nture Guy from Harrisonburg, VA on Monday, March 7, 2011
    I also purchased the Terramar Silk (too thin) and Wickers Comfortel (didn't like the feel of the material) base layers. These are better by far. I liked them so much I had to by more pairs. Comfortable enough to wear under work pants, as PJs, or as a base layer on winter hikes. They wick well - I run to our indoor rock gym (about 2 miles), then climb for about an hour and I stay dry the entire time. Excellent product.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, sleepwear
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maggie from Albuquerq u. Nm on Wednesday, February 23, 2011
    Nightly

    Must air dry to prevent destruction of material.

    Dries quickly
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Cons: Do not put in dryer
    • Describe Yourself: Rarely Workout
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DW from just outside NYC on Tuesday, February 15, 2011
    Bought this for my husband who needed something warm, comfortable and not too bulky to wear as a base layer. So far working out well. The wool is not at all scratchy as he had thought it might be. Not yet sure how well it retains its shape over time / washings, but so far so good.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft, Warm
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 51 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #