The North Face Varius Guide HyVent® Pants - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. The North Face Varius Guide pants excel in snowstorms, deep powder and mountain deluges. The nylon shell has a HyVent® waterproof breathable membrane, removable suspenders and full-length side zips so you can slip them on quickly for fast-approaching storms.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Reviewed by Vet Rider from CA on Wednesday, April 2, 2014
    These are actually non-insulated shell ski pants not light weight backpacking pants. Heavy weight material and big zippers should last forever.I'm 6'1" 195lb and XL fits perfectly over street clothes for riding motorcycle. Another STP sale price winner!
  • Reviewed by RGROW from International on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    Construction is a heavy weight nylon outer and light nylon liner. There is an inner cuff that is presumably for use with ski boots. There are useful front pockets and a thigh pocket. A principal virtue is that the front half can be completely separated from the back half from either the top or bottom making it possible to put them on over boots or any other garment without taking anything off. Practice this before you need them. The full side zips also provide great flexibility for ventilation. The pants also include a new-to-me suspender system that takes some getting used to.They are secured from the front only. It took a while to figure them out and then to get used to them but I think I like them. This makes it possible to separate the two halves. Instructions and an illustration on how to install the suspenders would have been appreciated. The advantage of suspenders is that you can let the pants gap open at the top for optimum ventilation. The fabric is supposedly breathable but you will still sweat in them if working hard in wet conditions. In my experience that is true for all of the breathables. They work best if you are sitting still. I bought them primarily for bushwacking whether in wet or dry conditions and they are growing on me. They are not light.
  • Reviewed by Mark from Salem, MA on Friday, January 31, 2014
    Finally found a pair of pants that are suitable for snowshoeing and work with regular hiking boots. I had gotten a few pair in the past that had huge snow gaiters that were made to accommodate ski boots only. Thank you STP for the great deal and the great customer service!
  • Reviewed by Iowa Farmboy from St. Louis MO on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    I am 5' 10" 237lbs chest 53" waist 38" without the beer gut. This is an extreme quality pair of bibs. I struggle to find inseams that will fit with my build. This was an absolutely perfect fit. The bibs are not too heavy and will allow you room to layer.
  • Reviewed by Rockstar from California on Friday, December 20, 2013
    Keeps you warm and dry, Great price too.
  • Reviewed by peterskier from New Hampshire on Friday, December 13, 2013
    These are very well made and will certainly keep you dry. My only complaint is the zipper flaps are so aggressive it is a struggle to get in and out of the pants when you need to fully unzip them. Waterproof zippers without the flaps would be a better solution (but perhaps not as rugged…)
  • Reviewed by Satisfied customer from Colorado on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    The pants are everything I expected. The fit is excellent, sizing is correct. I wear them in rainy/snowy weather riding my ATVs and stay dry.
  • Reviewed by Matt from Florida on Thursday, September 26, 2013
    Very high quality and will use on a trip to Antarctica.
  • Reviewed by Walarok from Quebec on Thursday, May 2, 2013
    Don't usually order pants from the internet as I am fairly short (5'7.5" - don't forget the half inch!) and often pants are way to long for me. When I saw that North Face had short sizes I decided to take the chance. I was not dissapointed, these pants fit perfectly and they are really well made with good adjustements at the waist, full length zippers on the sides, etc. Jury is still out on the suspenders but you can remove them so that's a non issue. All in all a great product!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HappyMark from Brisbane Australia on Monday, February 18, 2013
    Tried in heavyy rain; worked well which is more than I can say for the Merrell jacket
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.