Thermalogic Weathermate Curtains - 80x95", Tab-Top, Insulated

Overstock fabric. Keeping your house cooler in summer, warmer in winter and darker and less noisy year-round, Thermalogic Weathermate curtains are perfect companions for energy-bill watchers.

Average Rating based on 62 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 62 reviews
  • Reviewed by Heidi Marie from Saint Louis on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
    I looked for weeks for navy curtains to put in both my boys' bedrooms. I was very close to purchasing the sailcloth curtains from pottery barn kids because I could not find a nice cotton curtain. That would have cost me almost three times as much as these curtains- ridiculous. I also previously purchased navy curtains from overstock that were a few dollars more and were not lined and looked terrible. These curtains are made out of duck canvas material or a material that is very similar. I almost didn't buy these curtains because of the reviews on this site and others.

    1. Mine didn't have an odor at all! I was anticipating them having to be washed several times and then hung outside to air out. There was NO ODOR. So I'm not sure if there are different suppliers or if suppliers were changed because of previous reviews.

    2. You can iron these curtains, and you are going to need a hot iron and a lot of steam. Again, it's duck canvas which means you need some heat. Get a water bottle out or if your iron has a water spritz feature, like mine, use it! This material isn't a lightweight cotton or linen. Creases and wrinkles aren't going to come out as easy with a lightweight material. I was looking for curtain made out of duck canvas. It's a nice heavy duty, classic material that looks great in my boys' rooms. It hangs nicely, blocks out light, and helps with insulation.

    3. I am not a fan of tab top curtains so I took out the 3 inch hem and made it half an inch. Then I cut off the tabs and hung them with ring clips. They look amazing!!! You can't tell I changed the hem at all unless you are looking specifically for the change up close. 3. Some reviews said that the curtains were different lengths. My husband and I stretched out all of them together, and they were all the same length. I ordered three pairs, which came as six separate curtain panels.

    I have never ordered from Sierra Trading Post before, but definitely will again in the future. Shipping was prompt and the price for what I received is unbelievable. Curtains can be so expensive and these should cost so much more...which they are on other sites.

    So the not so good news and why I gave four over five stars- two out of the six panels were a different shade of navy. The two matched one another which worked out for me, because four were going in one room and two were going in another. The other thing is the lining is part of the panel, meaning it is adhered to the canvas. Not a separate lining sewn together with the canvas. Which shouldn't be a big deal except there were two teeny snags on the front and the white showed through. Again, not a big deal because you don't notice them when hung up...and if I really wanted to I could probably scratch my nail or a needle over the area to move the fibers around and get them back to normal.

    Would definitely recommend these curtains!!! I felt compelled to write my first product review on these because I was so leery of buying them.
  • Reviewed by Epsilon from San Francisco on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
    I wound up keeping these curtains because they do an excellent job blocking out light and I like the color. However, their odor was absolutely dreadful! Opening the package smelled like it contained a dead thing. Even after washing them three times and line drying them, I had to keep all the windows in my apartment open for two weeks to keep them from stinking up the place. Thankfully, the smell is finally gone, but be prepared to do some serious washing and airing out of these curtains.
  • Reviewed by Basset Mum from Chicago on Wednesday, July 09, 2014
    Purchased several pairs of these as a gift for my parents who live in TN, where the sun beats through the windows like a laser beam. I have not seen the curtains in person myself, but the feedback from my folks was that they seemed to be putting up a good fight against the TN sun, and the fabric was good quality. Their only complaint was about how creased the curtains were, even after hanging for a couple of days. "Sharper than the creases in permanent press slacks" is how my dad described them. Steaming made very little difference, and the curtains needed to be taken down and full-steam ironed. But once that was done, they looked very nice and hung well
  • Reviewed by Ml from Nj on Monday, March 24, 2014
    Ordered a number of these panels for varying rooms. The chemical smell was very strong. Aired them outside for a good number of days. Still some smell initially after up but has now dissipated. Ordered another set and they are airing out as I wrote this. They hang nicely, as the canvas goods are substantial.
  • Reviewed by Mary in CA from CA on Monday, March 17, 2014
    Love these curtains. I bought the same a few yrs back in blue and they were heavier. I noticed the ones I just bought (burgundy) were lighter which means they do not block out sun/light/cold/heat as well as the fabric used for the blue curtains I bought a few years back. But still an excellent product for the price. Beautiful in color. I just hung them right up and they drape and look wonderfully. I open them in the morning and then when the sun comes blaring through the window a few hrs later I close them and then reopen once the sun moves on. At night I close them and even with all the lights on in the room these curtains still provide excellent privacy from our very close neighbors. Yes, buy them!
  • Reviewed by Tracey from Michigan on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    Exactly what I wanted..:)
  • Reviewed by vividartichoke from AZ on Thursday, October 31, 2013
    These drapes are somewhat efficient, not decorative. I ordered these drapes as grommets. They were too short and I am not moving the rods (block house). I ordered again as tab-top thinking they would be longer in the right place. Some are longer but most aren't. So I am hanging the drapes upside down, from ring clips that slide much easier and drapes take up less space on the rod. I'll cut the tabs off. They're cheesy and not that thermal. I had ordered drapes from STP several years ago that are still wonderful and much more thermal.
  • Reviewed by vividartichoke from AZ on Thursday, October 31, 2013
    These drapes are somewhat efficient, not decorative. I ordered these drapes as grommets. They were too short and I am not moving the rods (block house). I ordered again as tab-top thinking they would be longer in the right place. Some are longer but most aren't. So I am hanging the drapes upside down, from ring clips that slide much easier and drapes take up less space on the rod. I'll cut the tabs off. They're cheesy and not that thermal. I had ordered drapes from STP several years ago that are still wonderful and much more thermal.
  • Reviewed by Happy on the Ranch from Highlands Ranch, Colorado on Saturday, October 26, 2013
    Several of the reviews concern the problem of wrinkles. I would not recommend washing your new curtains just to remove wrinkles. Put the curtains in the dryer on air dry (do not use any heat) with a heavy wet bath towel for thirty minutes. Using a steam iron I was able to get most of the wrinkles out, but not 100%. Once hung the residual wrinkles are not readily noticeable. The way they hang so well, durability of the fabric, amazing energy efficiency, and bargain price makes all the effort worthwhile. So wish I would have ordered double sets for more fullness when closed, but STP is out of the white in 80X95", very disappointed.
  • Reviewed by Cathi from Sacramento on Tuesday, September 24, 2013
    I had never ordered from Sierra Trading Post before and I was quite surprised at the quality of the curtains and curtain rods. If you like a very dark room these are perfect. They came in a couple of days too. GREAT customer service!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 62 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.