Timbuk2 Commute 2.0 Messenger Bag - Laptop Compartment, Medium

Closeouts. The travel-friendly Timbuk2 Commute 2.0 messenger bag features a TSA-friendly laptop sleeve that can be unzipped and folded out so you don't have to remove your laptop during airport security checkpoints. Plus, it has plentiful storage options for school, the office or the airplane.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by eyedoc from central Illinois on Tuesday, January 8, 2013
    This is a solid messenger bag, sturdy and holds plenty of gear. The only negative I have found (and I am being picky here) is in how the shoulder strap connects to the bag when you are carrying it. The bag doesn't want to hang as straight as I would prefer because of how it connects. It could have been engineered better but it does the job and I would buy the bag again even after using it as it is.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by National Capital Area Commuter from Alexandria, VA on Thursday, December 6, 2012
    While I seldom fly and would not make use of the flat-for-airport feature, I DO use it every day commuting to and from work. For that use, it perfectly suits my needs. This bag has all the large compartment space plus the small pockets, pouches, and pen slots, etc. that I need -- and the shoulder strap doesn't slide off! After trying many other bags without satisfaction, I have finally found one that works for me!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kathyp from richland, wa on Thursday, November 29, 2012
    daily haul my stuff into work.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ted from Riverside, ca on Tuesday, November 20, 2012
    I got this to use as a portable office and it works great. All the compartments are layed out really well and great sizes for files and organizers. It's comfortable on the bike and is built to last.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pol from Boulder, CO on Friday, November 16, 2012
    A quality bag that will last for ages. I wish the main inside compartment zipped although with the clips and velcro the stuff inside make contents pretty secure.

    I would also like more outside compartments to throw keys, pens etc into.

    The bag is great for going to the office but I will need something bigger for business trips.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flying Dutchman from Grand Rapids, MI on Wednesday, October 3, 2012
    Overall, the Timbuk2 Commute 2.0 Messenger Bag, size medium, is a nice bag, but just not quite right for me. The strap is long enough but the adjustment leaves the "buckle" in a weird place if you adjust a lot. It does have all the right pockets and laptop compartment. A very nice feature is the TSA-friendly laptop sleeve that can be unzipped and folded out so you don't have to remove your laptop during airport. If that is iomportant, this is a bag worth looking at. I returned it because it was just a bit awkward for me. But I still have to say it is a very nice, sturdy, versatile bag.
    • Best Uses: Airplane travel , Commuting, Computer, Cycling, Office, School
    • Cons: Awkward Strap Adjust
    • Describe Yourself: Career, Classic, Comfort-Oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Comfortable , Durable , Good Strap Length, Lightweight , Roomy , Versatile
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by weply from milwaukee on Friday, September 28, 2012
    My friend went out and bought the same bag as soon as she saw mine.
    • Best Uses: Airplane travel , Commuting, Computer, Day Trips, Office, School
    • Cons: Don~~~apos~~~t Have Any
    • Describe Yourself: Career, Classic, Comfort-Oriented, Modern, Stylish
    • Pros: Attractive, Comfortable , Durable , Good Strap Length, High Quality, Lightweight , Roomy , So many compartments
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Regorider from Rego Park, NY on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    This bag is used whenever I take the subway to work. I carry my lunch, sketch pads, iPad and wallet etc. I had a smaller bag that limited what my wife would pack for lunch. Not an issue now and whenever I ride my bike to work I'll sometimes use it rather than transferring all the contents to a backpack- a great, sturdy bag that's very well thought out- I particularly like the rubberized bottom for when I place the bag on the floor of subway train (easy to wipe clean)
    • Best Uses: Airplane travel , Commuting, Computer, Cycling, Office
    • Describe Yourself: Career, Practical
    • Pros: Comfortable , Durable , Good Strap Length, High Quality, Roomy But Not Too Big, Roomy 
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Endlessly searching for the perfect bag from Indianapolis, IN on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
    I love the functionality of Timbuck2 bags and when I saw the laptop feature I jumped at the chance to try it. I have been endlessly searching for the perfect bag to fit my work laptop that has an extended battery. (HP EliteBook 8440p) The laptop compartment does not fit the laptop comfortably with the extended battery. It does if I don't zip it to the top but then what is the point? If I remove the extended battery, it does fit the laptop but not comfortably. I have gotten around the issue by using the laptop compartment for my iPad, notebook and any files I might carry and using the main compartment for the laptop. However, this leaves the airport-ease functionality out which was a huge plus for me because I travel for work. On the bright side, it fits my laptop, iPad, notebook, files, chargers, lunch and various random sundries I might need and I still have room for more so I am keeping it for sure. I just wish the laptop sleeve was larger and more functional. I think I would have been better off buying a regular bag rather than adding the bulk/weight of the laptop sleeve on the back.
    • Best Uses: Commuting, Office
    • Cons: Laptop sleeve too small
    • Describe Yourself: Career, Classic, Practical, Stylish
    • Pros: Durable , Good Strap Length, High Quality
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cd in denver from denver on Sunday, June 17, 2012
    i'm bummed it didn't work out for me. it was too wide for my frame (i am a 5 foot/ 90lbs female)i looked silly carrying this giant bag around my apt. i returned it and i hope to find a bag that's a little smaller, but will still hold my laptop. i actually have a 16 inch and the compartment fit it perfectly! RARE to find in a "15 inch" labeled bag
    • Best Uses: Airplane travel , Commuting, Computer, Cycling, Day Trips, Extended trips , Office, School
    • Cons: Heavy / bulky , Too large
    • Describe Yourself: Career, Comfort-Oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Pros: Attractive, Comfortable , High Quality, Roomy 
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.