Tribal Sportswear Portrait Collar Jacket (For Women)

Closeouts. Tribal Sportswear's portrait collar jacket makes a dramatically oversized comeback in this cashmere-soft jacket, updated with stylish cinching drawstrings for volume and a curvaceous peplum hem.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Reviewed by Joan from New York on Friday, March 14, 2014
    Very Good Design and detail
  • Reviewed by Practical buyer from Colorado on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    What a great value! I bought the green and fuschia colored jackets. The size 4 was true to size. The weight is perfect for working in a cooler room or when going outside and needing a light jacket to complete a casual but stylish ensemble. I wear these with jeans when I need to dress them up or with dress pants. The colors are great. I can see these being used for years to come. I disagree with previous concerns about the cords. I dont really notice them, but then again, I dont work in an office where I have to dress in business attire. The quality of the fabric is awesome...soft and heavyweight.
  • Reviewed by Irina from California on Monday, December 16, 2013
    This jacket is really strange. It's truly made for a strange size. It's short (which is great for me - it fits ok) and extremely wide in a lower part of it. So it's ok in length and breast. But too large in the bottom. It seems to be made for pregnant women or so. Still do not understand it. Did not return as I think I can give it as a gift to my friend. Material is good and the jacket itself is very comfortable and good looking.
  • Reviewed by lesa o. from Grass Valley,CA on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
    I recently purchased this jacket (its heavy and not so much an office blazer) and love it. Great value. I got lots of compliments with it.
    It is short so make sure you can wear something that short. The color was more a burgundy than fuchsia. Size seemed true to size.
  • Reviewed by Bag Lady from Michigan on Thursday, May 16, 2013
    I normally wear a size 2 Petite on top and the size 2 fit well, except I'll have to take in a bit of the sleeves since it didn't come in Petite. I plan to wear this at the office or as a Fall jacket. The orchid color looks just like the color of a pink-purple orchid lei. I don't mind the strings, but if you do, you can easily cut them off. The jacket arrived on a hanger with a clear plastic bag over it, but still got wrinkled in the shipment.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Princess from Oak Lawn, Illinois on Friday, February 15, 2013
    Get a lot of good looks when wearing this jacket. It is not a style you see everywhere. It is warm enough to wear alone in Spring. Feels good and it is soft. Colors are great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TJ from MD on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    The color (purple) is more vibrant than on the computer. I've received many compliments. I've worn it as a blazer at work and as outerwear with dressy jeans & blouse on the weekend. Love it!
  • Reviewed by Meg from Colorado on Monday, January 28, 2013
    The color of this jacket are vibrant and brilliant. The collar is overwhelming, and I don't understand the drawstrings. The waist seems short (I'm 5'9"). Overall between these two issues the fit for me was not flattering.
  • Reviewed by Lady from Outer suburbs of Chicago on Wednesday, December 19, 2012
    In my previous review, I indicated that I anticipated wearing these jackets with a scarf for outdoor wear. Indeed, that's a good way to wear them, but I must say that I find myself reaching for these jackets on a regular basis, for indoor wear, with or without a scarf. They are just plain comfortable and easy to pair with other separates. I love the relatively intense colors because they are the "just right" shades of those colors, so that they mix well with more neutral pieces in my wardrobe. I simply love them.

    I have, however, discovered one downside: The shank buttons, which are perfectly paired with the jackets, have a sharp inner edge on the shank, so that with only a bit of pressure, the threads are cut and the buttons fall off. I usually check the security of buttons, especially large, unique ones on sale items, to be sure that they are well sewn. All of these were. So I was surprised when one fell off the other day. On a hunch, I felt the inner edge of the shank, and, sure enough, it seemed sharp. To test my hypothesis, I pulled back and forth on the other button with moderate force to see if it would hold. After 8 passes, the threads were cut through and the button fell free.

    In no way does this mean that I don't recommend this product. But I do recommend that on buying them, you do what I am now doing: Remove all of the buttons, and take a round file to the inner edge of their plastic shanks before sewing them back on. There are only two buttons on each jacket, so it's a 10 minute job. It's well worth it for such cute jackets in rich, clear colors and cashmere-soft wool of the highest quality. With the perfectly matched linings and buttons, these jackets say "top notch".

    I also recommend having these jackets steamed, not ironed, to fully appreciate the full loft and body of the woolen fabric. It's impossible to appreciate the cut and drape of these garments out-of-the-bag, with the inevitable creasing that occurs with storage and transport.
  • Reviewed by Lady from Near suburbs of Chicago on Friday, November 9, 2012
    I bought all three of the more vivid colors, and I am glad I did. At first, I had some of the same difficulties that another reviewer complained of: What to do with the clip cords on the collar, and the sheer mass of very intense color. But after working with them a bit, I found that the clip cords really serve no function, but are rather intended to lend a sporty look. I found them superfluous to the style, and cut them off, cleaning up the look of the jackets. They look just fine and neatly finished without the cords.
    The jewel tone colors are clear and lovely, but the block of color presented by the jacket is a bit overpowering for my frame. So, for each of the jackets I rummaged through my scarf wardrobe and found long silk scarves with contrasting/coordinating colors to wear around my neck, but under the collar, so that they hang down on either side below the collar. I balance that by wearing a turtleneck sweater that picks up on one of the contrasting tones in the scarf. Voila! Chic, classy, warm, and perfect for dressy casual activities in cooler environments. I find that the look is finished enough for office wear.
    The subtlely belled sleeves are combined with a fairly heavy but very soft wool, so I find that reasonably warm turtlenecks provide the coverage that I need to keep my arms warm, while balancing the wide collar with a contrasting turtleneck. I like that the sleeves of whatever contrasting top I wear peek out at the sleeves.
    The belled sleeves, peplum styling and shawl collar just beg to have their shapes echoed, and so I wear a coordinating neutral six-gored, ankle-length skirt below. That's usually a mid-cool grey, dark espresso brown, or black, for me. Stylish mid-height boots and a neutral coordinating felt bucket hat complete the look.
    These jackets are an astoundingly good value, here on STP, if you know how to use them. They are very well contructed, with details like perfectly matched enamel buttons with metallic trim, and exactly right peplum styling that is feminine and shaped, without having a "costume" air. The stitching is perfect, the linings are perfectly matched. The sizing is dead on in the size 6, and the sleeve length is just right, hitting about a half inch above the most promimal knuckle of my thumb, which would be too long in a regular sleeve, but it just perfect with the belled styling.
    I highly recommend any of these jackets in the jewel tones, and I'm sure the more subdued colors would be very useful as well.
    • Best Uses: Dressy Casual Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Clear Jewel Tone Colors, Good Cut, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.