Customer Reviews Of:
Tricker's Handmade Wingtip Derby Shoes - Brogue Welted (For Men)

Closeouts. Intricate brogueing highlights Tricker's handmade wingtip derby shoes, suitable for royalty or any other fashionable gentleman. Handmade as they have been since 1829 by appointment to His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales, by R. E. Tricker Ltd. of Jermyn Street, London.

Average Rating based on 36 reviews 4.527777 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Vox Populi from New Jersey on Saturday, October 31, 2015
    It is handmade, a wingtip with a special rubber sole (or do I mean soul?) This shoe has a soul. I bought 2 pairs at a ridiculously low price. These shoes will last for decades with proper case. As for sizing, I am a US size 11D and a UK size 10.5 fit well. Quality of the leather is superb. Uniformity of dye on shoes perfect. As they are on clearance, watch for scuffs, slight indentations in the soles (where to soles meet the leather), etc. as I had to send a pair back. The return policy of Sierra is exceptional.
  • Reviewed by GC from Northeast Ohio on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    These are definitely nice shoes and they fit well. I waited for a particularly good sale before pulling the trigger on this purchase but still wonder if they're that much better than shoes I've purchased for a third the price I paid. Perhaps time will tell and I'm not disappointed.
  • Reviewed by Dirtworm from Great Falls, VA on Sunday, February 16, 2014
    Tricker's are some of the best shoe offerings from Jermyn Street in London. The quality is really unsurpassed by any shoe company. The price is an incredible value even if purchased in the UK. Sizing can be a bit tricky . UK sizes are usually a full size larger than US; UK size 9 is a US 10. This is different than the sizing charts available on Sierra's website.
  • Reviewed by Jah Ken from California on Friday, December 13, 2013
    This is a beautiful pair of shoes. I loved the craftsmanship. I wear a wide width shoe and ordering the next size up still did not fit my feet. The shoes were tight around the front of my feet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Time Stalker from Chicago, IL on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    Love them. The break-in period was quite short. These are some sturdy shoes. And for as heavy as they are, they are uber comfortable. I bought these and the Aldo and was trying to decide which to keep. I kept both. These are not cheap, but quality never is. This is quality stuff and worth it! Could not be any happier. A shout out is owed STP for carrying these for otherwise, I'm not sure I would have heard of them much less own two pairs. Also, I have to give STP props for their terrific customer service. I've been with them for about 10 years now and they have yet to disappoint.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Casual Wear, Date Night, Going Out, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Conservative
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LOTR from Chicago, IL on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    Burnished Espresso looks smart. I initially purchased the tan color over the burnished espresso because the latter looked more like black and STP also stated it was also more of a black. I love the burnished espresso and does not look black when I got them.

    I was not looking for another wingtip since I had just purchased wingtip shoes from Ralph Lauren. After fitting these, however, I became smitten and it has become hard to return them. I also purchased the Aldo and will likely keep those as well.

    The shoes at the outset are stiff but surprisingly light weight. They seem well made.

    One gripe, these are expensive shoes and would not normally have bought them but the great reviews here, the fit, and my research convinced me to keep them.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Date Night, Going Out, Versatile, Work
    • Cons: Too Stiff
    • Describe Yourself: Eccletic
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Lightweight, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Ephblum from Amherst, NY on Thursday, August 16, 2012
    Have had these for a while now, but only worn a few times because I happened to buy (actually win on an auction-related site) an almost identically colored Sutor Mantellasi pair at the same time and decided to wear the Tricker's on more limited occasions so far. They are close in quality to the Sutors but a touch above comparing them side to side. The Tricker's just have a bit more too them, a little more detail, a bit thicker leather, a sharper cut on the wingtip trim leather, etc. that gives them more stately appearance. But they are very close. I have a pair of the Tricker's pebbled leather boots as well and like a 10 in the boots but bought a 9.5 in the shoes and they both fit well with the boots a bit looser in the foot but still plenty tight/no heal slippage (I can wear a thicker sock with the boots if needed). These are your classic handmade shoes and definitely are stiff out of the box and require some break-in time. But these are also the kind of shoes that have uppers that will last forever with regular care and can be re-soled several times, so they are a good investment at STP prices.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Casual Wear, Date Night, Going Out, Work
    • Cons: Too Stiff
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative, High-end shopper
    • Pros: Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Daddio from NY, NJ on Monday, July 2, 2012
    I wear US 11D. Ordered UK 10.5 on STP recommendation. Shoes are too large by 1/2 size. Unfortunately for me, they are out of size 10. Returning.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual
    • Describe Yourself: High-end shopper, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels full size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Man from Oz from Melbourne, Australia on Sunday, March 25, 2012
    This is a fine product. They will probably outlast the wearer! Heavy, country brogue that looks good and is not phased by bad condidtions. Wear them, don't keep them "special occasions". I found the UK 10.5 matched US 11.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Conservative, High-end shopper
    • Pros: Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Newton from Encino, CA on Saturday, February 11, 2012
    Shoes made the old fashioned way. A great shoe for bigger men since it's meaty and durable.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Date Night, Going Out, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Conservative, High-end shopper
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Newton from Encino, CA on Friday, January 27, 2012
    Beautiful shoe which feels so well made. There is an issue with the sizing. As noted on Sierra, the English size is half a size larger than the U.S. size, but it's a little more complicated than that. These shoes are also a little extra roomy in the heel. My foot is a little wide in front but normal in the heel. The medium width Tricker fit tight in front at a FULL size smaller than the U.S. size and was perfect in the heel. At one half size down (as recommended by Sierra) it was perfect in the front and a bit loose in the heel. I solved the problem with a thicker sock and went with the recommended sizing. Summary: If your foot is narrow, you may even need to go a full size down on these shoes. If your heel is narrow, sizing will be challenging on these Trickers.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Casual Wear, Date Night, Going Out, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative, High-end shopper
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Classic Design, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Reviewed by NYB from New York, NY on Wednesday, January 4, 2012
    Purchased these over Christmas. I am pretty demanding when it comes to my clothes, and I was not disappointed. If you are looking for a city-stylish shoe, this is not for you. But this is an example of what Trickers does best - a rugged, comfortable, well built country shoe. I like them w cords or chinos, or even a suit if there is snow on the ground. Im wearing them for the first time today and they have been comfortable from the first step.

    Last, I am a US 10 and the UK 9.5 fits perfect, just like it should. I mistakenly took other reviewers advice on it being too large and originally ordered a UK 9, and it was definitely too small.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual
    • Describe Yourself: High-end shopper
    • Pros: Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by StyleProfiler from Houston, TX on Thursday, December 15, 2011
    Tricker's shoes are known for their durability and classic style. The Dainite rubber sole is comfortable and also lasts a long time.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Conservative
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Classic Design, Durable, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jupiter Horseman from Jupiter, Florida on Friday, September 2, 2011
    Iconic British design. Refreshing as a stylish "anti-fashion" look. Try it with chinos or jeans.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Casual Wear, Work
    • Describe Yourself: High-end shopper
    • Pros: Classic Design, Comfortable, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tricky Dicky from Honolulu, Hawaii on Sunday, August 21, 2011
    please carry more styles.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Casual Wear, Date Night, Going Out, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Conservative, High-end shopper, Stylish, Trendy
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by aaaaa from Louisiana on Tuesday, June 14, 2011
    Great shoes, can wear with suit or casual.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Wear with Suit
    • Cons: Expensive but worth it
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable, Very stable well made
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Roger from New Orleans on Monday, May 2, 2011
    Sorry, but I had to return the product since the size was too large.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Work
    • Describe Yourself: High-end shopper
    • Pros: Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gonzo from reddin, ca on Saturday, April 30, 2011
    These are so good I bought both brown and black. I wear an 11 EE usually and 11 1/2 wide in boots, the UK 10.5 fits like a US 11.5 in these shoes.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Casual Wear, Going Out, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Pros: Classic Design, Durable, Wet weather rubber sole
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gonzo from reddin ca on Monday, April 25, 2011
    Will last decades and probobly stay at least a little bit in style. Size 10.5 Brit=size 11.5 US
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Date Night, Going Out, Work
    • Pros: Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Vandelay from New York, NY on Sunday, February 27, 2011
    Great shoes at a reasonable price for the quality.
    • Best Uses: Going Out, Work
    • Cons: Make sure to size down
    • Pros: Looks great
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Rick from Boston on Saturday, February 26, 2011
    Great shoe at a great price. Nice design, sole adds a bit of funky to an otherwise traditional wingtip brogue. Works with everything from a suit to jeans.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Casual Wear, Date Night, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative, High-end shopper
    • Pros: Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dr L from Fairfax VA on Sunday, February 13, 2011
    Everything which I wrote about the boots applies to the shoes.

    STP has them marked incorrectly, as everyone has notice. Go by the British size and add one. That will fit like an Allen Edmonds.

    The shoes of these shoes are a really nice design for bad weather. I got tired of having to the soles of my shoes replaced with Vibram for winter wear. Allen Edmonds seems only to have this sole in its boots.

    They are stiff, old fashioned and will outlast you if you give them a chance. Buy two pair when STP has them next in your size.
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative, High-end shopper, Stylish
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe from Colorado Springs on Saturday, March 6, 2010
    disappointed that the size available did not fit
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Conservative
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Classic Design, Well Made
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hobscrk777 from Atlanta, GA on Friday, December 25, 2009
    Anyone reading this review is (or should be) aware of Tricker's top-tier quality. Don't be scared off by the high price tag - the shoes will last years and years. Please note that the listed sizes are UK sizes, so order accordingly. They are also quite attractive. My one complaint about this order is that it wasn't mentioned that the shoes would ship without the original box or official Tricker's flannel shoe bags. [...]
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Casual Wear, Going Out, Work
    • Cons: Needs Break In
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Classic Design, Durable, Well Made
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by EA from San Francisco on Monday, December 21, 2009
    Beautiful shoe. Very classic design. Runs a little wide. Will take some time to break in, but worth it.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Work
    • Cons: Needs Break In
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Classic Design, Durable, Well Made
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by coloradopatrick from colorado on Monday, December 7, 2009
    The most handsome shoes I have ever owned, many compliments.
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish
    • Pros: Classic Design, Durable, Well Made
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mak Man from Washington DC on Tuesday, December 1, 2009
    Great shoe, I was worried about sizing but found my 10.5 (U.S.) to fit fine. These are classic, strong solid shoes. They look appropriate with everyday professional clothes and urban hip with a pair of cuffed jeans. My only minor complaint is that the laces don't stay quite tight;I've had to re-tie them at least twice during the day. Other than that- GREAT!
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Casual Wear, Going Out, Work
    • Describe Yourself: High-end shopper, Stylish, Trendy
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Breathes Well, Classic Design, Comfortable, Nice solid sole, Well Made
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jmey from Phoenix on Monday, November 23, 2009
    The size of this pair of shoes is british size so that 8.5 means US size 9.5.

    UK 8.5 = US 9.5
    9.0 = US 10.0
    9.5 = US 9.5
    • Best Uses: Business Casual
    • Cons: Wear Out Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: High-end shopper, Stylish
    • Pros: Classic Design, Comfortable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OCULUS from Renssleaer, NY on Monday, October 19, 2009
    It is well known that English shoes are a full size down from US sizing. What is it about STP that they don't understand this and mark these only 1/2 size smaller? I ordered the recommended sizing, thinking they may be a different last, and had to return them. PS: I have about 5 pairs of Trickers in boots, shoes, etc. All of mine are marked 1 full size down from my US size.
    • Best Uses: Going Out, Work
    • Cons: STP mistakes Brit Sizing
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative, High-end shopper
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Breathes Well, Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable, Well Made
    • Sizing: Feels full size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Satisfied customer from Minneapolis, MN on Friday, June 26, 2009
    Attractive and well made. No regrets with this purchase
    • Best Uses: Business Casual
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Breathes Well, Classic Design, Comfortable, Durable, Well Made
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2