• Tricker's Reviews

Tricker's
Tricker's 4.638655 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3 ... 24
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Plane Guy from Virginia on Thursday, January 29, 2015
    You get what you pay for. This pair will be a boot I resole and keep for a lifetime.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Reaganomics from Tampa Bay on Monday, January 5, 2015
    These are great shoes. My first pair of Trickers, but certainly not my first pair of "good shoes". I'm a Allen Edmonds and Alden fan and even these are a little more refined than those at half their prices.

    FYI: I went down a half size from my normal size 12 to an 11.5
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Van from Stuttgart on Monday, December 22, 2014
    This is a great boot, but the sizing was a little narrow. I ordered a 9.5 UK and wear a US 10 or 10.5. I should have ordered the UK 10.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Marbleguy from Mill Valley CA on Friday, December 12, 2014
    My grandfather wore these shoes and explained to me the importance of a well made shoe. Without a doubt worth the cost.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Marbleguy from Mill Valley CA on Friday, December 12, 2014
    My grandfather wore these shoes and explained to me the importance of a well made shoe. Without a doubt worth the cost.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ex-Wisconsin Guy from Western Pennsylvania on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
    Tricker's are my favorite brand of shoes. Classic styling with a flare, great fit. In this style, I go 1/2 size up. Footbed is very roomy which is comfortable. They are not the lightest shoes on the market, but are comfortable for walking--after a bit of breaking in. They can be a bit stiff at first, but will start to conform to your feet with wear. Put them on and wear them around the house for a couple hours a day, or just bite the bullet and take long walks with them.
    These are worth the 500 dollars you would normally pay for them--they are a steal at the 270 I ended up paying here.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Super Lobbyist from Washington DC on Thursday, November 20, 2014
    First wearing caused blisters and bloody areas on the feet. They are extremely stiff and unyielding; and are seemingly both too loose in certain spots and yet too tight in others. I'm not at all certain what to do about them. I've already put additions in the shoes where they are a bit loose; but not sure if stretching them would help the tighter spots. Dreading wearing them again in a further attempt to break them in. Given the high price and reputed quality of the shoes; I'm not pleased that the leather is so unyielding and the soles so stiff.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Musician from San Francisco on Thursday, November 13, 2014
    These are absolutely beautiful shoes and, if they fit your feet, you'll be very pleased with the quality. DON"T LISTEN to all the reviews - try them on yourself. Based on the comments that they were narrow, I erred on the side of going a bit bigger. The UK 9 (I usually wear a US 10) was huge on my foot, specifically in the toe box. Unfortunately there are none left in 8.5 UK so they will have to go back to STP. In my opinion, these are no more narrow than anything else on the market. I guess most of the customers have fat feet!
  • Reviewed by richyp from California on Friday, October 31, 2014
    The quality of these shoes are fantastic. Unfortunately, the toe box was just too tight for me. I wear a size 12 D US and ordered the 11.5 UK.
  • Reviewed by Tall Teacher from Nebraska on Friday, October 10, 2014
    I have spent several decades of my career in which most hours were on my feet, and I'm sure like many others, thought this was torture. Eventually my back began to give me problems, and what's more, after perhaps a year (even with alternating pairs, shoe trees, and proper care) each pair of "prestige" dress shoes would look haggard and worn. Even several high-end American brands didn't measure up–especially to these.

    180 years of experience makings shoes in a country where one must walk longer distances in comfort pays off. Quite simply, every successive day in my Trickers is heaven. Heaven. No back pain, no hot spots, no creases. The leather wears beautifully; compliments abound. The goodyear-welts, cork-filled, have formed to my feet like custom-made shoes, and these come as close to truly one-off handmade pieces as I'll get without dropping $2,000 on a bespoke pair. It's clear they'll last decades with proper care, and I'm guessing I'll retire before these do.

    Frankly, there are a few items in this modern, dispose-of-it world that still offer more value than the price one pays. These are truly among those few; their quality, heritage, and longevity are worth far more than the price one pays, especially at STP. In all likelihood, these are so well made that I can likely pass them down to my son down the road.

    But he's not getting them unless I'm dead.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3 ... 24
;