UDAP 7.9 oz. Bear Spray with Hip Holster

Closeouts. If your adventure leads through bear country, this UDAP 7.9 oz. bear spray may function as a deterrent in the event of a bear attack. Included hip holster allows for quick access.

Average Rating based on 54 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 54 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Penny from Ohio on Tuesday, July 07, 2015
    The main purpose of this product is to reduce the likelihood of human/bear physical contact. I can say that since this product was delivered (promptly) to my door in Ohio I have not even seen a bear. Actually there was one on TV but he left as soon as his commercial was over.
    The canister fits comfortably in my hand, the instructions are thorough and well written, and the included hip holster is stylish and functional and goes well with any color or style of clothing.
    I cannot address its actual function at this time without needing to get a replacement. While the product was very reasonably priced, I would rather not buy two. I will have this product with me later this summer while backpacking in Yellowstone, and I do not expect to write a poor review. Either I will not have needed to use it, or I will have used it (hopefully not) and as the slowest member of my group ....... I still won't write a poor review.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by aussiemini from WA on Friday, April 03, 2015
    I have heard only good reports of Bear Spray. Only makes sense. If it didn't work, the owner would be in the Bear's stomach and unable to tell you of all the negative aspects.

    I look for the EXP Date. Spray is good until the end of the year, four years from the year of manufacture. This can was filled in 2015 and is good until Dec. 31, 2019. I called/Live Chat before ordering to ensure it's freshness.

    The holster is a "MUST". If I ever use this, and it works, I will send in a full report. If it doesn't work...............well, you know!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Go Vols! from Tennessee on Wednesday, March 11, 2015
    I hope to never write a review on how this worked.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Teton Trekker from Jackson, WY on Tuesday, January 06, 2015
    It would be very stupid to go into bear country without this and sierra offers it cheaper then any store I've ever found (even with shipping and without coupons, but let's face it there are always coupons). Plan ahead, buy this product, be protected.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fishski from Utah Mnts. on Wednesday, October 01, 2014
    Hope I never have to use it, but it gives me pease of mind. I fish a lot in Alaska and Montana, I don't leave home without it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by First Time Camping from Sierras on Tuesday, September 09, 2014
    Felt like a security blanket. Never had to use it so dont really know how it will perform. Was a little heavy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by At the Helm from Maryland on Monday, August 25, 2014
    I can say that it is about the size of a medium can of hair spray and the holster is made of durable black elastic and that it will fit onto a belt or can be hand held. There is a safety clip to help prevent accidental discharges which must be removed prior to use, a process similar to the clip on some fire extinguishers. There is a nifty instruction manual which explains that it is best sprayed with one's thumb, pointed at the bear. It is not too heavy or cumbersome and could easily be carried in a back-pack without adding too much weight instead of attached to a belt. It is small enough to fit a smaller adult's palm and could be discharged with one hand. Well designed and a comfort in case of emergencies.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by S.G. from Illinois on Thursday, July 24, 2014
    Ordered 2 and had them shipped directly to our destination. You can't take on commercial flights. We saw 2 bears in Glacier, but didnt even unholster the bear spray, so can't attest to its effectiveness. You have to understand that this product is only a last resort defense. Nothing replaces good sense when you are in bear country. We hiked 3 days and one of the belt loops came within a few threads of tearing off. It could be easily sewn, but would have had to have been hand carried if it had come off while in the back country. Its not much good if you have to carry it in your pack. Cost about half what they were going for locally. Left with our son for him to use, and for our next visit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fly man from Winston-Salem, NC on Wednesday, June 11, 2014
    Haven't had to use it and hope I don't but gives you an added piece if mind while on the stream.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by whynot from utah on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    This is my second can of bear spray. My old can expired over 2 years ago and had many dings and dents from being packed hundreds of miles and dropped a few times, so i decided it was time for a new one. Since I have never had to use it I hiked to a remote area to test my expired canister of spray. It was very simple to use and even though expired still worked well. It was very easy to operate and sprayed out a stream/fog of red spray. I am sure the bush survived:) It only sprayed for about 5 seconds so make sure your aim is good. Because it is so easy to use I even send it with my kids when they go camping.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 54 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #