UDAP 7.9 oz. Bear Spray with Hip Holster

Closeouts. If your adventure leads through bear country, this UDAP 7.9 oz. bear spray may function as a deterrent in the event of a bear attack. Included hip holster allows for quick access.

Average Rating based on 50 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 50 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fishski from Utah Mnts. on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    Hope I never have to use it, but it gives me pease of mind. I fish a lot in Alaska and Montana, I don't leave home without it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by First Time Camping from Sierras on Tuesday, September 9, 2014
    Felt like a security blanket. Never had to use it so dont really know how it will perform. Was a little heavy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cocoa Beans from Maryland on Monday, August 25, 2014
    I can say that it is about the size of a medium can of hair spray and the holster is made of durable black elastic and that it will fit onto a belt or can be hand held. There is a safety clip to help prevent accidental discharges which must be removed prior to use, a process similar to the clip on some fire extinguishers. There is a nifty instruction manual which explains that it is best sprayed with one's thumb, pointed at the bear. It is not too heavy or cumbersome and could easily be carried in a back-pack without adding too much weight instead of attached to a belt. It is small enough to fit a smaller adult's palm and could be discharged with one hand. Well designed and a comfort in case of emergencies.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scott from Illinois on Thursday, July 24, 2014
    Ordered 2 and had them shipped directly to our destination. You can't take on commercial flights. We saw 2 bears in Glacier, but didnt even unholster the bear spray, so can't attest to its effectiveness. You have to understand that this product is only a last resort defense. Nothing replaces good sense when you are in bear country. We hiked 3 days and one of the belt loops came within a few threads of tearing off. It could be easily sewn, but would have had to have been hand carried if it had come off while in the back country. Its not much good if you have to carry it in your pack. Cost about half what they were going for locally. Left with our son for him to use, and for our next visit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fly man from Winston-Salem, NC on Wednesday, June 11, 2014
    Haven't had to use it and hope I don't but gives you an added piece if mind while on the stream.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by whynot from utah on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    This is my second can of bear spray. My old can expired over 2 years ago and had many dings and dents from being packed hundreds of miles and dropped a few times, so i decided it was time for a new one. Since I have never had to use it I hiked to a remote area to test my expired canister of spray. It was very simple to use and even though expired still worked well. It was very easy to operate and sprayed out a stream/fog of red spray. I am sure the bush survived:) It only sprayed for about 5 seconds so make sure your aim is good. Because it is so easy to use I even send it with my kids when they go camping.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bill1980 from Pennsylvania on Thursday, April 10, 2014
    Product with good reputation at a good price and speedy service. Hope it is never needed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Deano357 from Minnesota on Monday, April 7, 2014
    Been putting off buying bear spray do to high price, then Sierra trading post came threw with a price I couldn't pass up. This bear spray has an expiration date of 2018. I hope I never have to use it Thank you Sierra trading post.
  • Reviewed by Jimbojonesbos from Boston, MA on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    I bought two for a trip to Glacier where the park service recommends backcountry hikers carry bear spray. I am happy to be able to use pepper spray rather than lethal force should I have a run in, the wildlife have it hard enough already. Both had 2017 expiration dates which was good to learn. The holster is simple elastic nylon but is effective and useful on a belt. Note that in some states (like Massachusetts) it is illegal to own pepper spray without a permit (which I have) and so be sure you know the legality of your purchase before ordering.
  • Reviewed by Mitchhiker from Maine on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    I hope I never need to use it,
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 50 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.