Customer Reviews Of:
UDAP No-Fed-Bear Bear-Resistant Container - Nylon Case

Closeouts. The UDAP No-Fed-Bear bear-resistant container is the perfect size for your backcountry travels, designed to store four days of food for one person without becoming cumbersome.

Average Rating based on 46 reviews 4.391304 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Catvet Carrie from Washougal, WA on Friday, April 29, 2016
    Easy to use. Not really lightweight, but there is no such thing when you have to guard against bears. A really determined bruin could get it open eventually, but the idea is just to make it inconvenient enough he looks at someone else's food and leaves yours alone.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Michelle from Pennsylvania on Thursday, April 28, 2016
    Seems great. I originally had a clear blue bear vault and loved that it was transparent but hated the lid. The lid on this one opens easily with a coin/knife. I plan to carry a washer tied to my pack so I don't have to worry about losing it. 4 stars only because it's black. Heavy too, but unless you want to spend $$$ on a carbon fiber one, they all are.
  • Reviewed by Christina from Missouri on Thursday, July 23, 2015
    We purchased this canister for a three day hiking trip for two in Colorado where caching in a tree may not always be easy. We will only be putting food for two days (as we will be eating our first day meals before camp) for two people along with scented items. We are light weight food packers when need so will have no problem making this size work. It didn't seem as heavy as I had feared and can also double as a nice stool when needed. The screw openings were simple and we used the back of our Benchmade knife blade no problem. It would be nice to have a clear canister to see where your food is, but this price will do!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pine Cone from Western Washington on Saturday, July 18, 2015
    Given the large number of places I would like to go that now require a bear-resistant container, I decided to spring for this one. While it is a bit on the small size, it does fit nicely in the inside of my pack. Can't beat the quality or price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Doctor from California (NorCal) on Wednesday, February 25, 2015
    Nice product a little heavy but overall did it's job :-)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by woan from Washington on Thursday, August 28, 2014
    Fits nicely in my Eddie Bauer Alchemist 40L. Good deal comes with case. I did use some WD40 on one latch to get it to turn a bit easier. Quarter seems best coin to use.
  • Reviewed by Annie Extremely Active in all ways and weather from San Francisco CA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    I had none of the issues mentioned by some other reviewers. No problem opening it the first time without any instructions or how-to hints from users on this website or others. With the canister sitting on the ground and holding it steady with one hand, the fasteners are easy to turn but not loosey-goosey. No need to grasp it in a "headlock" as someone else did. Lid lifts off. I did it several times. I notice that if needed, there's a very small gap around the lid, just big enough for a human fingernail or a thin tool. I can imagine that over time the lid lip might gunk up and need to be cleaned so it doesn't stick. And that the mechanism under the fasteners might need a little lubrication. I also have no problem with the fit and finish which on the item I received seem first quality, and not a "second" or factory reject. I do wish the opening were larger, but because I can see it in the image I wasn't surprised. For only 8 ounces more than the much more expensive same size metal canister from another manufacturer, I'm happy with this one. As for the strap sack, I wouldn't put a canister on the periphery of my pack. I always put it near the center of the mass for good weight transfer to the hips. Another warning about the strap sack-- bears will use it to carry your canister much farther away than they'll carry a plain canister. Me, I'll use the sack for something else.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PA Jim from Olympic Peninsula, WA on Thursday, July 3, 2014
    Good little food canister. I put a '2 person-3 day' supply of dehydrated backpacking food in it and still had room for trailmix and scented toiletries. The National Park requires 'bear canisters' in the backcountry and supplies them, but I wanted the convenience of having mine on hand. It provides better peace of mind at night and when you're away from camp, knowing your stuff will be there in the morning. Hanging a food sack doesn't work like it did years ago - the persistent critters have outsmarted us on that.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brittski from Ky on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    Planning to start some short backpacking trips in bear country. Product is exactly as identified. Enough room for several days. Can't wait to try it out!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by swamsister from Great Green Swamp, Fl on Monday, April 14, 2014
    I have only had the opportunity to play with it. Opens easily with a coin, then just tip it and the lid falls off - no real trick there. So far cover looks okay, not super sturdy but adequate if used with care. It is heavier than I like - but with the increase in bear population in Florida, looks like this is probably the wave of the future for here. Great STP price never hurts either. Will update this if I find out anything earth shaking.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5