UDAP No-Fed-Bear Bear-Resistant Container - Nylon Case

Closeouts. The UDAP No-Fed-Bear bear-resistant container is the perfect size for your backcountry travels, designed to store four days of food for one person without becoming cumbersome.

Average Rating based on 41 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 41 reviews
  • Reviewed by Annie Extremely Active in all ways and weather from San Francisco CA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    I had none of the issues mentioned by some other reviewers. No problem opening it the first time without any instructions or how-to hints from users on this website or others. With the canister sitting on the ground and holding it steady with one hand, the fasteners are easy to turn but not loosey-goosey. No need to grasp it in a "headlock" as someone else did. Lid lifts off. I did it several times. I notice that if needed, there's a very small gap around the lid, just big enough for a human fingernail or a thin tool. I can imagine that over time the lid lip might gunk up and need to be cleaned so it doesn't stick. And that the mechanism under the fasteners might need a little lubrication. I also have no problem with the fit and finish which on the item I received seem first quality, and not a "second" or factory reject. I do wish the opening were larger, but because I can see it in the image I wasn't surprised. For only 8 ounces more than the much more expensive same size metal canister from another manufacturer, I'm happy with this one. As for the strap sack, I wouldn't put a canister on the periphery of my pack. I always put it near the center of the mass for good weight transfer to the hips. Another warning about the strap sack-- bears will use it to carry your canister much farther away than they'll carry a plain canister. Me, I'll use the sack for something else.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PA Jim from Olympic Peninsula, WA on Thursday, July 03, 2014
    Good little food canister. I put a '2 person-3 day' supply of dehydrated backpacking food in it and still had room for trailmix and scented toiletries. The National Park requires 'bear canisters' in the backcountry and supplies them, but I wanted the convenience of having mine on hand. It provides better peace of mind at night and when you're away from camp, knowing your stuff will be there in the morning. Hanging a food sack doesn't work like it did years ago - the persistent critters have outsmarted us on that.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brittski from Ky on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    Planning to start some short backpacking trips in bear country. Product is exactly as identified. Enough room for several days. Can't wait to try it out!
  • Reviewed by Wiley the Explorer from Southern California on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    The quality control at UDAP is a little lacking because on the first one's lid that I received...well, one of the screws you could barely turn, and the other one was so loose it would wiggle when you shook it. I sent it back and the next one that came the screws seem to work ok, for now anyway. Mabye they should really hire someone at UDAP to inspect these things after they receive them from China, you know perhaps before they sell them to us. I could kind of understand if it was just a five dollar item, but come on guys really? You know what I mean, with the outrageous price they charge for these simple little plastic barrels? At least they would save themselves some returns in the long run. Anyway, it turns out this one really isn't any better than the "knockoff" one with the orange lid, that sells for way less. In fact, I would bet you five it's made at the same factory for about two-fifty. Just my two cents on it, or actually more like five-thousand and two cents.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by swampsister from Great Green Swamp, Fl on Monday, April 14, 2014
    I have only had the opportunity to play with it. Opens easily with a coin, then just tip it and the lid falls off - no real trick there. So far cover looks okay, not super sturdy but adequate if used with care. It is heavier than I like - but with the increase in bear population in Florida, looks like this is probably the wave of the future for here. Great STP price never hurts either. Will update this if I find out anything earth shaking.
  • Reviewed by Lancaster soccer mom from Lancaster, ohio on Sunday, January 19, 2014
    I haven't tested this with the bears yet, but I think it will do quite well! I read one review that said it was difficult to open, which I agree with if you are a bear. But if you have a coin like it says, to use to open, it works juuuust fine!

    Great size - not too big, not too small.
  • Reviewed by The Great Northwest from Shelton Wa. on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
    Bought three of the bear containers, two as gifts for and upcoming 11 day backpacking trip. So I have not used them yet the trip is this next summer. After reading reviews I was worried opening the canisters would be difficult but that was not the case. All you need is a coin like a nickle and opens with ease. The size looks big enought for three to four days food for one person. I always pack snacks and three meals a day need to feed the engine. The one down side is the weight. The canisters are rated at 2 1/2 lbs but they feel like a lot more then that. I like to travel very light 35lbs for 3 to 4 days. I'm tired of hanging my food every night so Im going to carry the canister and the extra weight.
  • Reviewed by Barbara from California on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    Nothing flashy about this can except it does what it is supposed to and is approved for backcountry use in areas requiring a can. I preferred this model over the larger Garcia and Bear Vault models because it fits much better inside my pack. I would rather not have to strap the can to the outside of my pack. It comes with a nylon case to strap on to the outside of a pack but I doubt it would hold up on a long backpack. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is the minor inconvenience that it doesn't have a button to pop the top open once you set the screws to open. Works well to keep the bears and mice out of your supplies.
  • Reviewed by Trail Paws from Nor. Cal. on Monday, October 07, 2013
    Finally bought one; always borrowed or rented for backcontry backpacking. First used in Yosemite. It is slightly difficult to open the lid only because the locks are tight; I am sure over time the locks will be easier to open. It's nice that it's smaller and weighs less than the Garcia.
  • Reviewed by Mike from Long beach, CA on Saturday, September 28, 2013
    You cannot beat this canister for the price
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 41 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.