Customer Reviews Of:
Unconstructed Sport Coat - Brushed Cotton (For Men)

2nds. Unlined and unconstructed, this brushed cotton sport coat sets the tone for classic, casual cool.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews 3.300000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by Jimbo from MI on Saturday, August 17, 2013
    This is a nice sport coat. I sized up and it fits really well. Fairly slim. Fabric could be nicer
  • Reviewed by Conak from Around on Saturday, May 18, 2013
    With the clearance price plus coupon it is worth the price I paid. It is absolutely, as one reviewer noted, a L@nds End C@nvas collection that didn't make it to retail, as is evidenced by the buttons and inner tags that match exactly with a wool sport coat I have of theirs. This is not the usual 'unconstructed': when they say it hear, they mean it! No lining at all, no fabric to reinforce the front panels. This is just a tough cotton fabric type of over shirt, shaped into a sport coat. That said, at the price I paid, it's not bad and has a throwback to the british, army-inspired fashion of earlier last century.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by nickj from Evanston, Il. on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    I had to return this. Other reviews said it runs small so I ordered a size up from what I usually wear. I could still barely move in it and couldn't move my arms at all. Nice style though. I wish it would have been wearable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the mom from nh on Monday, December 31, 2012
    returned. too casual. expensive and not well finished
  • Reviewed by mroach from dublin, oh on Thursday, November 1, 2012
    So i ordered this because it was such a good deal and different from anything I owned. So I have to agree it runs VERY small in the chest. I usually like a 36-37 suit jacket / blazer 36 is probably an ideal fit but can be a little constrictive but looks perfect on me. I ordered a 38 knowing the comments here and have to say the shoulders / chest are a little narrow, length is consistent with regular sized blazers, arms are longer than normal blazers by apx 1 inch say a 25.5 on the 38 compared to 25 on most 37-38 blazers and you will not be altering it due to the functional cuffs which are a cool addition so dont expect to show alot of cuff. The sleeves are narrow so if you have big arms you need to size up or pass. I am 5'8" 140 36-37 off the rack suit size 30" waist 36-37 chest and this barley fits. Hope this helps you all select the proper size. I do like it, it does appear to be Land*E*d canvas collection that never made it to production probably due to sizing issues.
    • Best Uses: Casual
    • Cons: Runs Small
    • Pros: Different, Light Weight
  • Reviewed by Totally Wild Photography from Prescott, AZ on Tuesday, October 30, 2012
    I ordered this jacket, thinking it would be a nice casual travel jacket. However, the fabric is very thin and hangs poorly. The big drawback is the "dry clean only" tag. Returned for credit.
  • Reviewed by emmed1 from Houston on Tuesday, September 18, 2012
    I am a 42R, 34 inch waist, lift weights, but not huge. The coat is too tight across the chest and arms. Otherwise great for a causal/travel jacket. Am going to size up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by emmed1 from Houston on Sunday, September 16, 2012
    Like prior reviewer said, great looking casual coat. Nice with jeans. Like the patch pockets. Would be nice for comfortable travel, would pack easily. However, am a size 42, and this coat is too tight across the chest and the arms. I do lift, but am not huge. Again, size 42 chest and 34 inch waist. I am ordering another one, but sizing up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by photojon from Chicago suburbs on Tuesday, September 4, 2012
    Had to send it back. I have several size 46 jackets, and this size 46 is like none of those. When I first put it on, I thought that it was OK, until I raised my arms. The jacket was very tight in the shoulders. I don't know if a larger size would help, as this seemed to be the right size, except for the tight shoulders. 46 was the largest size available, so I'll never know.
    • Best Uses: Standing Around Inactive
    • Cons: Too Snug In The Shoulders
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish, Well Made
  • Reviewed by Greg from PA from Lancaster, PA on Wednesday, August 22, 2012
    Thin, crisp cotton, similar to poplin. Based on the tags, this looks like it was originally meant for Lands' End Canvas before making its way to STP. The material is very casual, and the details (flap pockets, throat latch) skew this even further away from formal.

    The fit is very modern, though a bit tight in the biceps- you'll feel some tugging when driving or crossing your arms. If you're used to "traditional" or "classic" fit, I'd recommend sizing up. Note that the cuff buttons are functional, so if you want to tailor the sleeves (which are a bit long), expect to pay a little extra.

    I like the button closure on the inner breast pocket, which will be great for travel.

    A great coat for warmer months/climates, though probably too casual for some contexts.
    • Best Uses: Business Casual, Travel, Weekends
    • Cons: Sleeves too long, Tight in Biceps
    • Pros: Lightweight, Modern fit, Nice details, Stylish
  • Sort by: