• Vanguard Reviews

In the world of optics, precision is essential, and Vanguard takes this into consideration in every product it makes. Vanguard binoculars and Vanguard spotting scopes incorporate rugged construction that will ensure lasting durability in the field. Vanguard binoculars and Vanguard spotting scopes also utilize high-quality optical components to provide a clear, focused field of view. With 23 years of expertise in the optics industry, Vanguard’s products have earned a reputation for excellence and reliability. Whether you are a sportsmen or a wildlife enthusiast, Vanguard will help you put your ... Learn more about Vanguardgoals into focus. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 12
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Port from Washington on Thursday, November 19, 2015
    This Vanguard spotting scope is replacing a much older Bushnell spotting scope with similar specifications. With newer technology the Vanguard outperforms the Bushnell. It was a very good buy at the price I paid.
  • Reviewed by Rob from Oakland, CA on Monday, November 16, 2015
    I wrote a review already; the chief problem is the rather insecure attachment point for the pan head. You can use another head instead of the pan head, but it still mounts on that blade.

    I added a star because there's a workaround, if you don't mind a drill.

    I just drilled a ¼" hole through the blade and the clamp, but a bolt through and added a wingnut, and now it's much sturdier, and you can still use the clamp off the tripod.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rob from Oakland, CA on Wednesday, July 15, 2015
    This tripod's two main features are small size and a head that can be used on a window or similar surface.

    It's sturdy enough with a light camera, but the head clamps onto the tripod using the same clamping device that would allow it to be clamped onto a window. That's fine, but means yet another flex point. And that means it's gonna be wobbly with heavier loads.Basically the tripod has a blade that sticks up that the head clamps on as if it's a window. Lotta flex especially if the weight isn't centered.

    So I wouldn't recommend it for anything heavy, like a DSLR with a telephoto, or where you do a lot of re-aiming, since you have to compensate for some droop or flex every time you readjust.

    I got it mostly for the head, which is kinda nice. But unfortunately you cannot use another head on this tripod, since the only attachment point is that blade that the window-head mounts on.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jls from CA on Wednesday, February 4, 2015
    The height of this stick seemed too tall and I'm 6'1". It was also very noisy when it clicked together. I didn't even take Ito to the field, just sent it back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Glacier Hunter from Montana on Saturday, January 17, 2015
    These are a great set of binoculars for the money. They a fairly compact and will work great in most of my hunting endeavors. Very crisp, clear viewing. The rubber coating is a plus. These seem to hold on par with the Vortex Diamondbacks I have seen and they carry a lifetime warranty as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Westexan from Texas on Wednesday, October 29, 2014
    Overall a decent case. No bells and whistles just a basic hard sided case.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Johnny the Fisherman from NY on Monday, October 27, 2014
    Case seems pretty solid, some of the egg shell is peeling off already but the combo was easy to set and it holds my two shotguns very snug. There are a few I would like the combo lock to be a little more solid, they seem kind of flimsy but so far they've worked well enough. I got a great deal on it, not sure I'd be keeping it if I paid more than the $120 that I did.
  • Reviewed by Goingenoan from NV on Saturday, October 11, 2014
    I had read the other review but decided to try it anyway. First outing with this bipod and I was grinning ear to ear! The next outing I noticed one leg was starting to slip under the weight of my gun. It got progressively worse and I could find no way to disassemble it to see what the problem was so I returned it. Too bad as it had great potential and at about 1/3 to 1/2 the price of a competitor's product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PBS from SAN DIEGO on Saturday, September 27, 2014
    For under $200 the scope is a great value. The view is bright and can resolve 30 cal bullet holes in the black at 300 yards under reasonable seeing conditions.

    The tripod is sturdy, steady, and compact and smooth to operate and adjust. The case is also sturdy. The scope has an adjustable objective shade, a snap on objective lens cap and a screw on eyepiece cap/protector. Nice.

    Color aberration is present especially in the higher powers; sometimes the white scoring rings and target fringes look greenish for example. However, they are really white. Sometimes there are reddish hues. And resolution is often much better at 40x or below than at up to 60x where the image is bigger but more blurry. The focus knob is smooth and easy to adjust.

    I do not know how it would be for wildlife viewing or astronomy especially if correct color is an issue.

    As a target scope, it gets the job done with good value.



  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kscowgirl from Kansas on Wednesday, September 24, 2014
    Great quality
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 12
;