Vasque Bitterroot Gore-Tex® Backpacking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. A leather backpacking boot that puts a premium on ankle support and stability, Vasque Bitterroot Gore-Tex® boots have a reinforced toe for impact protection, a TPU shank and a Vibram® lugged rubber outsole.

Average Rating based on 36 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 36 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scout parent from California on Thursday, January 15, 2015
    They are made for heavy duty. Wore them for a weekend scout campout and service project. It rained for two days. The boots were wet outside but completely dry inside. Good ankle support. Come with two pairs of shoelaces. Suggest to wax them before use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scout parent from California on Thursday, January 15, 2015
    They are made for heavy duty. Wore them for a weekend scout campout and service project. It rained for two days. The boots were wet outside but completely dry inside. Good ankle support. Come with two pairs of shoelaces. Suggest to wax them before use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rob M. from Virginia on Monday, December 22, 2014
    I've been working in some Zamberlan boots for the last 15 months and have pretty much worn the soles to shreds (not to mention the cordura material that surrounds the lower foot). While these Vasques are definitely much heavier, the feeling of having a quality leather boot with a Gore-tex membrane with a Vibram sole for the price is unbeatable. They took about 2 weeks of walking in them every day to break in to where they were totally comfortable on my feet. I have not had any blisters whatsoever but they were definitely stiff at the ankles and did some rubbing. However, they feel great now and I am very happy that I made the purchase. For anyone that is wondering, Superfeet Orange insoles work fine in these boots and help fill up some of the extra volume if needed. While the heel on the boot is rather aggressive, there is still a good feeling of stability while walking on uneven terrain. As a side note... I spilled a full cup of coffee on them about two weeks in and clean up was a breeze with some paper towels and water. No stains on the leather. These boots are fine to wear to work but classy enough to wear out as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim P from Mass on Monday, December 15, 2014
    These are great boots. They are sturdy, supportive and comfortable. I am very happy with the quality of these boots, and the price was great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jonny_temperance from Austin, TX on Friday, December 12, 2014
    I have only had these boots for a few weeks, but I really like them. They are stiff at first. They do require a break in period as other reviewers pointed out, but they are very comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chifton Nork from Maryland on Tuesday, December 9, 2014
    I really wanted these boots to fit and ordered a14N. The length was right, but still way too wide. However, the boots seemed awesome…does anyone may a truly narrow hiking boot for long skinny feet?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve H from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, December 9, 2014
    So I received these boots about 2 weeks ago and so far I love them. I'm normally an 11 in Vasque (I had the Breeze GTX) and I had to size down to 10.5 in these. I haven't had the chance to hike in these but I've been wearing them around in the cold rainy weather lately and they have felt great. They are a little still at first which is to be expected with leather, but I wouldn't say you would need to wear these for much more than a few weeks to break them in.

    The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is the laces are great for now but they seem like with a ton of use they might break. They do come with two sets (red and black) and I'm sure will last me for awhile, but since I have narrow feet I normally have to lace them tight on the first few laces and I'm just worried one day on the trail they'll break. They are easily replaceable though, so for this price it is an amazing steal!

    I would highly recommend these. I'll try to update after I take these to Iceland/Switzerland.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tucson Hiker from Tucson, Arizona on Monday, December 8, 2014
    I bought two pairs of these, one black and one brown. They are the only boots I have found that have a roomy toe box in a mens 10 regular width. A little heavy, but very solid leather uppers and Vibram soles.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JR from OR on Sunday, December 7, 2014
    They look and feel (in my hands) like a boot I want to wear, but the toe box was too narrow. I have narrow to medium width feet and ordered these in M. I double checked to make sure that's what I received. As soon as I put them on I felt my toes squeeze together. Bummer. I wore them around my house for a couple minutes on separate days before returning to double check the fit, but they definitely pinched. I would've tried a W but not available in my size.

    Side note: it's not really fair for me to rate these in stars, but it's required. They didn't fit me, but that doesn't make them bad boots. Since I couldn't wear them, I don't know how they perform so 3stars is neutral. I rarely review but honestly think knowing about the narrow toe box may help some people.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from Tupper Lake on Wednesday, December 3, 2014
    Alittle stiff in beginning but when broken in, Great boots. Waterproof and good traction
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 36 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.