Customer Reviews Of:
Vasque Rift Approach Trail Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Vasque's Rift approach trail shoes are at home in the backcountry and the backyard, thanks to the classic lace-up style and highly technical design. The suede and nubuck upper features a performance-focused Equilizer Last, and a rubber toe rand and heel. The Vibram® Spider rubber outsole is made with a special Idrogrip compound that provides even more grip.

Average Rating based on 25 reviews 4.200000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kiloblue from California on Wednesday, June 3, 2015
    Comfortable, good traction on gravel, shoe wraps around your ankle keeping from getting inside the shoe, very stylish color, very affordable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ryjuell Shoe Lover from South Florida on Thursday, May 7, 2015
    These are really cool looking shoes! I wear these shoes with jeans or with cargo pants and they look great. They fit true to size, I wear a size 8.5. I don't wear them to hike I live in a city, although they a very sturdy feeling and rugged. I wear them for the look! I would recommend these shoes to anyone.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JB from SoCal on Sunday, February 15, 2015
    I've only used this shoe for a couple of short hikes and scrambles, but it fits and works well. The price, with STP discount, was significantly less than other similar approach shoes. Really looking forward to giving these a good workout this spring and summer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by walking to work from Iowa on Sunday, February 8, 2015
    As others have noted, these run a bit small for the size, so I ordered half a size larger than usual. Still, they were a tight fit until I loosened the laces all the way down (eight holes per side). Plan on some break-in time, for me it took ten miles or so with adjustments. Sole is thin, you can feel the ground and rocks more than in other shoes, which is what you want in an approach shoe. Good support in heel and toe, feels like a real shoe more than a moccasin-feel of cheaper shoes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by chocolate chips from wisconsin on Saturday, February 7, 2015
    sorry....but i and my daughter and my friend tried on these shoes in the correct sizes and could not get them to have a good fit.....i always get vasque trail shoes and i love the way they fit but these were too long and narrow and stiff and just did not fit right....
    we were drawn to the cute color and style and the fact that they were vasque....but the fit was awkward so three of us had to say no to the shoes....drats...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by foothills spinner from South Carolina on Tuesday, February 3, 2015
    I had purchased a pair of these shoes in my "normal size" 8 1/2 and found that the shoes where too small. I talked to Sierra customer service rep. and they shipped a size 9. These are very good shoes and will be ready for the woods hiking this season. Thanks again to the customer service rep. for working with me in getting the right size for this good shoe
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PugetSoundMom from Puget Sound WA on Wednesday, January 7, 2015
    Per my husband: good fit, good arch support, will use for urban walks or light hiking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rob from kansas on Monday, December 29, 2014
    I was looking for something a little nicer looking than a trail running shoe but still tougher than a running shoe and not a boot. These fit the bill nicely. I've worn them a handful of times so far and they're very comfy. Not really much cushioning. They still need to break in some, they're kinda still. I normally wear an 11.5 and these fit like they're supposed to.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steven Guest from Utah on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
    I have an older pair of these that I have taken on a couple backpacking trips of 30+ miles over 3 nights. I know that these shoes are more of an approach shoe, and not at all meant for backpacking, but they did surprisingly well. No blisters, and very little foot fatigue, as they are so light weight. I would spray them with a waterproof spray before you go out though.

    After a summer of backpacking, hiking, scrambling, etc., these shoes are my favorite. I have put more than 300 miles on them so far and they are holding up very well. I am talking about the pair that I bought before the green ones (which I bought in case Vasque decides to discontinue this model,) so the pictures are of those and not the green pair. I'm pretty tough on my shoes, and I usually have to buy a new pair every year, but these Rifts are still going strong after two years, and some serious adventures. The usual weak point for my shoes is the inside heel, where it usually tears or just falls apart. These Rifts don't have that problem at all, and the only place that's even questionable is one point along the sole where it's just starting to peel away a bit.

    All said, these are the best, most comfortable shoes I have ever had.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by roadtripper from northwest usa on Monday, December 8, 2014
    Very little break-in period, comfortable, great grip, and amazing Chili Pepper/Orange color.
    I've worn them around town a few times but have only had them on the trail once (today) and they performed great. The only issue was a slight slippage in the heel, but it was so slight I for got my plan of tightening the laces up a bit on the way back to see if it would help. I have superfeet in all my other shoes/boots and I wanted to test these without them first. I'll probably eventually put some superfeet in these though. I was pleasantly surprised at how well they gripped and stood up to a heavily muddy trail with a lot of rock & root (I purposely hit every rock and root on the trail I could find just to test them). I'll probably grab another pair while I can at the awesome STP price. BTW, I did follow suggestions for going up a 1/2-size and that was a good decision. I give them 4-stars plus an extra star for the awesome Chili Pepper/Orange color!!!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3