Vasque Rift Approach Trail Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Vasque's Rift approach trail shoes are at home in the backcountry and the backyard, thanks to the classic lace-up style and highly technical design. The suede and nubuck upper features a performance-focused Equilizer Last, and a rubber toe rand and heel. The Vibram® Spider rubber outsole is made with a special Idrogrip compound that provides even more grip.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steven Guest from Utah on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
    I have an older pair of these that I have taken on a couple backpacking trips of 30+ miles over 3 nights. I know that these shoes are more of an approach shoe, and not at all meant for backpacking, but they did surprisingly well. No blisters, and very little foot fatigue, as they are so light weight. I would spray them with a waterproof spray before you go out though.

    After a summer of backpacking, hiking, scrambling, etc., these shoes are my favorite. I have put more than 300 miles on them so far and they are holding up very well. I am talking about the pair that I bought before the green ones (which I bought in case Vasque decides to discontinue this model,) so the pictures are of those and not the green pair. I'm pretty tough on my shoes, and I usually have to buy a new pair every year, but these Rifts are still going strong after two years, and some serious adventures. The usual weak point for my shoes is the inside heel, where it usually tears or just falls apart. These Rifts don't have that problem at all, and the only place that's even questionable is one point along the sole where it's just starting to peel away a bit.

    All said, these are the best, most comfortable shoes I have ever had.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by roadtripper from northwest usa on Monday, December 8, 2014
    Very little break-in period, comfortable, great grip, and amazing Chili Pepper/Orange color.
    I've worn them around town a few times but have only had them on the trail once (today) and they performed great. The only issue was a slight slippage in the heel, but it was so slight I for got my plan of tightening the laces up a bit on the way back to see if it would help. I have superfeet in all my other shoes/boots and I wanted to test these without them first. I'll probably eventually put some superfeet in these though. I was pleasantly surprised at how well they gripped and stood up to a heavily muddy trail with a lot of rock & root (I purposely hit every rock and root on the trail I could find just to test them). I'll probably grab another pair while I can at the awesome STP price. BTW, I did follow suggestions for going up a 1/2-size and that was a good decision. I give them 4-stars plus an extra star for the awesome Chili Pepper/Orange color!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NoCal John from North Coast on Monday, November 17, 2014
    I have worn Vasque trail shoes for around 5 years now. I ordered these in the same size as the other model I have been wearing. First pair was small and I returned them for a 1/2 size larger, the length on the new pair was OK, being a 11 1/2. However, they also ran narrow and I have a narrow fit to begin with. I returned the shoes. I had looked forward to wearing them. All I can say is order a size larger and hope the width is OK.

    I would not have given a star rating but I had to.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HJCH from Florida on Wednesday, November 12, 2014
    This is the 3rd pair of Vasque Rift shoes for men & consider them to be perfect for walking distances, major yard work, w/ great support. The shoes are very sturdy made with materials that just do not wear out. No complaints about the Vasque Rift shoe.









  • Reviewed by Yeah....... from ATL on Saturday, November 8, 2014
    I have fairly narrow feet and these guys seem to fit pretty well. I will say that I prefer the tongue to be a bit better padded. Other than that I found the quality to be very good and expect these to last quite a while.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike in Vermont from Middlebury, VT on Wednesday, October 29, 2014
    I need to get some arch inserts for these. In comparison, every Vasque boot I've had has always had great arch support and I've never gotten inserts. When I took the insole from my Vasque boot and tried it in this shoe, it felt much better.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old ST customer from Florida on Friday, May 16, 2014
    Order half size up. Nice shoe. Crazy color!!!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J-Tree climber from Simi Valley, CA on Wednesday, May 7, 2014
    Got these because of the Vibram outsole. Really stuck to the granite in Joshua Tree national park. Worked like a charm. Good support, true to size, and best of all great price! Only complaint is a little more ankle support.
  • Reviewed by Ollie from Newport, RI on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    I read the reviews before buying and, as suggested, went up half a size. Out of the box the shoe felt a little snug. However after wearing them for a couple of days they packed out a little and fit perfectly. I just returned from a hike in the White Mountains in NH and put the shoes to the test. They performed extremely well. Traction was great on exposed, wet rock faces. No toe jam on the decent. They did get wet - but that was my fault. The snow coverage at the higher elevation was pretty extensive. And the conditions were wet - mud season. I should have worn a higher boot. Overall I'm very pleased with the shoe. Headed to Moab this summer. The Vasques will be along for the trip.
  • Reviewed by Nick from Utah on Friday, April 25, 2014
    Vasque came out with a winner with this one. I agree these are a bit tight and if you want a roomy daily driver or a hiking shoe get a half size larger. Approach shoes by nature are tight and snug, hence the lacing to the toe area to snug it up even more. For those that don't know, an approach shoe is designed for climbers to take them to the crag. Some approaches are long and up steep rock where a tight fitting shoe with a sticky sole is required. Many using approach shoes don't wear socks.

    Back to this shoe. The sole is perfect and was the main reason I bought the shoe. Idrogrip will stick to nearly anything, wet or dry. The soles are worth twice what I paid for the shoes. I went on a long hike in the desert recently with these and had to do some free solo rock climbing. These shoes preformed beyond expectation, and I expected a lot. I did get a hot spot on my little toe because of the tightness at about 3 hours in. I duct taped it and all was good. For a shoe of this type the arch support is good, you can make it better with Super feet or the like.

    I knew I'd like these and bought 2 pair. I'd buy another if they were sill available in my size. It's really hard to find a shoe like this where the manufacturer got it right in every area. Comfortable enough to wear every day. Unique and funky look will garner complements.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.