Vasque Sundowner Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof, Insulated, Leather (For Men)

Closeouts. Vasque Sundowner hiking boots come equipped with a waterproof breathable Gore-Tex® membrane and 200g Thinsulate® insulation so you don't have to worry about wet or frigid weather ruining your hike.

Average Rating based on 42 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 42 reviews
  • Reviewed by VTXVETTE from Charlotte NC on Wednesday, April 2, 2014
    They started out being my favorites back in the 70's when they were made in Italy. I haven't tried everyone's boots, but I have tried several, all below $200. Maybe I need to up my "mental" budget on what I think boots are worth.

    As always Sierra trading post, ships quickly and includes a return label...pretty good
  • Reviewed by Eric the police officer from South Dakota on Monday, December 9, 2013
    This makes an awesome duty boot for police patrol work. However, the boots need a few days break in. I even had to take some pliers and squeeze the corner of the top fold on the tongue of the boot to keep that ball of leather from drilling into my ankle (both boots). Once they're broken in, they fit like a glove. I like the quality leather that is seemless all around (lasts better than the patch pieces of "tactical" boots). The boots hold a shine well too.

    The price from STP is superb! Don't forget to apply an extra code discount.
  • Reviewed by Dr. Taylor from Utah on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    good quality
  • Reviewed by John/prop mangr/real estate from New Jersey on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    Product was in excellent condition. Arrived in a timely manner. Very lleased!!!! Will shop here again
  • Reviewed by PL from Ohio on Friday, November 22, 2013
    I bought these boots to replace some other Thinsulate/Gore Tex boots I had been wearing for over ten years. While initially not as comfortable as my other boots, these Vasques seem to be of superior construction and should last as long if not longer than my old boots. The break in period will definitely be longer, though. As far as being water proof/resistant, I have yet to find out. I will update this review after wearing them this winter.
  • Reviewed by DasHim from NY on Sunday, October 27, 2013
    I have always loved this boot. own several over the years starting from high school. Always pleased with it. Bits just right. Can wear thick socks if I like and I have big feet yet this boot is one of the most comfortable I have ever own.
  • Reviewed by Mike from Boulder on Saturday, October 26, 2013
    My first pair of insulated Sundowners are bomb proof. Liked them so much I order 5 pair since price was great , and fear they will stop production.. I have been wearing Sundowners everyday for 20 plus years and will not consider anything else. One pair last me over 4 years.Insoles are required for myself.Thanks for a great product at a smoking price STP!
  • Reviewed by Johnny Hiker from Olympia, WA on Friday, October 18, 2013
    In case you haven't realized yet, "waterproof" boots made with a combination of leather and nylon are NOT waterproof despite claims by the manufacturer and retailers like STP. The only REAL waterproof shoes are made of rubber (like LL Bean boots) or rubber muck boots. Nevertheless, rubber boots are not an option for mountaineering so an ALL LEATHER boot is the next best option. An all leather boot like these will resist water penetration far longer and better than leather/nylon Gore-Tex shoes.

    These boots are nice because they have few seams in the leather upper which is a sign of quality in leather shoes. They are sized kind of large so my size 13 fit more like a size 14 from others I've used. The medium width is also a bit wider than I'm used to. At this price I'm NOT complaining. I've paid almost as much for leather/nylon Gore-Tex boots and they always leak soon after the rain begins to fall.

    An excellent medium weight boot for general backpacking and mountaineering. A hiking boot should NOT be to tight and you should always use thick, heavyweight wool socks.
  • Reviewed by Sixfingerfame from DC on Thursday, May 2, 2013
    Vasque, what more can I say! Waterproof and rugged........I can wear these and receive many compliments. A great value compared to the actual retail price.
  • Reviewed by Roger from Illinois on Friday, March 22, 2013
    Consider yourself fortunate if you seem to be made for Vasque. They are stiff, and can be tiresomely difficult to break in, but if they seem to be made for you, or vice versa, you have found a boot that you can wear on almost any occasion. From daily wear to a three day backpacking trek, these boots are perfect. They are also always warm and dry thanks to their Gore Tex membrane and Thinsulate lining. I have stood for hours comfortably in icy wet conditions. I have also schlepped for hours through the New Mexican desert without my feet feeling over-heated. My favorite thing about them is the roomy toebox. I am lucky. I can wear them right out of the box.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 42 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.