Vasque Taku Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Vasque Taku Gore-Tex® hiking boots feature a rugged, leather upper and a surprisingly nimble design. Along with waterproof breathable protection, it boasts a Vibram® Neo Day Hiker outsole for flexibility without sacrificing traction.

Average Rating based on 59 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 59 reviews
  • Reviewed by Maggie from Virginia on Monday, December 8, 2014
    Rubber started coming apart a few weeks after purchase and were rendered water permeable within a few months. no point in getting Gortex if not constructed properly...
  • Reviewed by Adam from Tennessee on Friday, October 24, 2014
    My first Vasque boot and I am impressed with the quality of construction and the durable design. This boot is quality made from the Vibram sole to the Gore-Tex waterproof lining. I have hiked several intense (wet & rocky) trails in these boots and they delivered great performance. I did order a half size bigger and they do have a slightly narrower foot box than my Keens. I plan to wear these boots for my more challenging hikes and my Keens for easy to moderate hikes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Pennsylvania on Friday, September 5, 2014
    While tight to put on (a shoe horn helps immensely), the boots are very comfortable. There is plenty of room throughout no pinching during steps. I would like to see a little more cushioning in the sole and a different lacing system as the hooks do not hold the lace while tying and they are close to each other, making it easy to miss/skip if not looking.
  • Reviewed by John from Virginia on Friday, August 8, 2014
    I got these as my main backpacking boots. These were indeed pretty light and the wide did provide enough room. Compared to the same size in asolo, they were both wider and longer. It fit better for me for the same size.

    Took them on 2 specific backpacking trips. A 4 day trip in hawaii and a 11 day trip in Alps. About half way though my trip in the alps, the rubber started to come apart on the top from the boot negating the waterproofing qualities, which was the main point of using boots over trail runners for me. Seemed like it was poorly put together. I might try to use gorilla glue to put that back together.

    I would say this is more a light use boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Smitty from Ohio on Thursday, May 15, 2014
    Little stiff and narrow at first but after couple wearings they were fine
  • Reviewed by Lori's Gotta Dance from New Jersey on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
    Bought these for my husband to compare with the Hanwag Banks Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men). These were nice but stiff & something just wasn't right. The Hanwags were comfortable & a perfect fit right out of the box. We sent these back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by caimi from middle on Monday, May 12, 2014
    I have tried other brands for hiking boots and shoes over the years. This is my first pair of Vasque. I can tell right away they are better constructed thatn other major brands and that bodes well for durability. They broke in nicely on the second hike and I hardly knew I was wearing them. They are fully waterproof. No issues there. Comfortable to wear and afford great ankle stability. While this may be a discontinued model it ahs sold me completely on Vasque.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tucson Jim from Oro Valley, AZ on Thursday, May 8, 2014
    I have always purchased Merrell, but this one lured me away to Vasque. This shoe is narrow for a shoe that is a med width. It is well built and as advertised except for the width. I will keep them, but I have since purchased the Merrell Moab Mid with a wider toe box. They are much more comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by creecherwithatweezer from Asheville on Wednesday, May 7, 2014
    so far I love these boots. I haven't really field tested them yet so I haven't had a chance to see how the waterproofing holds up or how they will feel after a few days out in the woods. From what I've seen and felt though this boot is exceptional especially for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy on the trail from Wisconsin on Tuesday, May 6, 2014
    I got these to replace a pair of Keen Targhee II mid hiking boots. Main issues with the Keens were they are not water proof. Feet got wet walking thru wet grass. There was only a thin layer of rubber on the soles which covered the voids. This makes them light. The Keens I would rate a mall boot. They wore out on a week long 60 miles pack backing trip. Feet wet all day and the the rubber knobs on the soles came loose. So one and done.

    I tested the Vasgue in the sink for 40 minute and they were dry. The soles are a continuous piece of rubber so no more wings. Looks good so far. Only reason I gave a 4 is that I have not trail tested.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 59 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #