Vaude Astra II Backpack - 55+10

Closeouts. Extended tours in the backcountry call for a durable, efficient and comfortable pack, and Vaude's Astra II backpack certainly fits the bill. The Tergolight adjustable suspension allows explorers to customize their fit for maximum performance, and a host of rugged materials combine to combat the elements and resist wear and tear.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SJ from Colorado on Saturday, June 14, 2014
    I'm 6'0" and the pack fit perfect right out of the box. Had to send the first one back due to a broken snap but STP had a new one at my door in 2 days. Used the pack on a 3 day backpacking trip at 9000' and had plenty of space, although my synthetic sleeping bag was too big to lash on the bottom straps. They could easily be extended by sewing some extra lengths of webbing. Not the lightest weight pack, but I wanted durability and this pack is rock solid. Built-in rain fly works great. All this for under $80? REI...you're dead to me.
  • Reviewed by john from california on Tuesday, June 3, 2014
    I loved this pack and wanted to keep it, but it's just too big for my torso. Beware: just because the suspension can be adjusted from xtra small to xtra large doesn't mean the frame will actually fit your body. STP lists this pack as fitting a torso size from 20-22" and they're right. Don't think you can wear a pack designed for a size Large torso when you're a size M or S torso just because you can adjust the suspension. You can change where the straps are going to be relative to the pack, but you can't change where the frame is going to be against your back.

    Vaude does make a size that fits me, but STP doesn't carry it. They have two sizes: I and II. So an Astra I is S/M, and an Astra II is L.
  • Reviewed by Steve@FightNGear Holsters from FightNGear . Com on Friday, May 16, 2014
    I was a little nervous ordering this pack. But it was so cheap I just had to. There are very few reviews or information online about it. I thought it was just too low of a price for it to be high quality. I was wrong. The zippers are great and do not snag and the compartments while not plentiful are well laid out. Except for the two side pockets I'll get to in a minute. The lid has a very high capacity, and in fact seems bigger than the +10 they advertise. It probably is not, but it seems like it.

    I stuffed about 30lbs in it for the first hike and spent ten minutes or so setting the size for my torso. I have trouble getting a good fit with some packs because I am short, chubby, long in the torso and short in the leg. This Tergolight system is the bomb. In 10 minutes or so I had the weight right on the hips and completely off the shoulders and neck. It is very intuitive and that is good, because the directions are a little sketchy.

    The pack stays compressed and does not shift on the trail and I had no trouble with the straps loosening. There are lots of loops and attachment points, a hydration compartment and waist belt pockets big and strong enough to use. The clips are solid and easy to work, The shoulder straps are very comfortable but not super thick. It is not hot enough here to really judge the pack for ventilation but it seems more than adequate. I will update that if we get some warmer weather.

    The color is much more red than the picture looks. It really is the color of salsa although it looks orange in the picture. The rain cover is included free and is orange. This pack would do for any weekender summer or winter and would do a week summer and three or four days winter easily for me. My guess is you could put forty pounds in it pretty easily and carry comfortably if you are a strong hiker. I am an older guy and thirty is my upper limit. If you want to carry much less than thirty, this pack is probably a little big and more than you need. It is clearly designed as a heavy load pack, not for ultra light hikers/campers.

    Now the one knock. Although stretch pockets are adequate for a Nalgene, they are tight and when you fill the two long side pockets the water bottle is almost impossible to get in. If you put your tent poles or trekking poles on the sides the two side pockets are almost unusable and can only hold small soft gear you don't need in a hurry. But lots of packs don't have these pockets anyway so I didn't care. I threw a bandanna, some extra socks and underwear in mine. I won't need any of that in a hurry and my rain gear is in that huge lid.

    At $200 I would say it would be an OK deal. At $150 it would be a very good deal. At STP deal flyer pricing under a hundred, this thing is a steal. I have been to BPS, Cabellas, REI and lots of independent outdoor gear shops and have never seen a pack like this for under a hundred. STP is the bomb for gear if you don't mind slightly out of date or odd colors and this one is no exception. I don't review much of the stuff I buy on here, but this was a good enough deal I took the time, because I know it is a hard pack to research.
  • Reviewed by scoutmom from NC on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    My first backpack.I bought it on a recommendation and used it this past weekend. it was great! im still figuring all the bells and whistles, but it is good and sturdy.t
  • Reviewed by Eagle from CA on Monday, March 17, 2014
    Very good quality, roomy and adjustable. Just the side pocket is too tight if you pack a lot of thing in the backpack.
  • Reviewed by Bill from Memphis on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    This is a very well made bag by a brand that puts a lot of thought into their gear. I was torn between a no-nonsense minimalist pack like the Zpacks ultralight gear and something really involved like the North Face backpacks. I got a Vaude for my wife and like the thoughtful placement of stays and pockets. Mine was a little different and had even fewer pockets, which is what I wanted. It has the internal volume to carry all of my gear for a three to five day hammock hike. I especially like the front zip panel which allowed me to access gear selectively. On the left side of the pack I stowed my hammock and tarp. On the right side went all of my layers (light fleece, mid fleece and down parka) as well as extra socks and t-shirt. The top flap got all of the stuff I might need "right away" including my rain jacket. The compartment underneath swallowed my down bag and UQ. There are adequate compresion straps and the bag was nice and tight. The only negative was that here were no real instructions on how to adjust the suspension but with some trial and error I got it right., The bag was comfortable and I am looking forward to my upcoming 30-mile hike knowing that this bag is up to the task.
  • Reviewed by Steve from Virginia on Monday, April 22, 2013
    Not a bad pack, but I don't have all that much experience. If you want to go minimalist, this pack has lots, too many really, straps and buckles. Hip belt rubs a little. But overall, it did a great job on two camping trips. I stuffed it pretty good and got it up to about 40 pounds.
  • Reviewed by Vivaliv from Bozeman, Montana on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
    Hi, I haven't had a chance to use this yet but we have packed it up with all of the items that used to go in a 70l pack and there was still a little bit of room for clothes and water. The quality seems top-notch. The designers seemed to know how people actually pack and there are clasps and attachments where you'll need them and none where you won't. It's a little smaller than we would want because we're not the most efficient of packers but the bag itself is very light and feels very good on. The adjustability is quick and easy and extensive. We can't wait to try this bad boy out!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TB from Florida on Friday, September 16, 2011
    I only have 2 issues with this pack:
    1. The side pockets will not hold a Nalgene or any other water bottle
    2. The zippered side expandable pockets are just about useless if you have a machette or anything else of the sort resting in the non expandable side pocket below them.
    However, the pack is big enough that if you are more of a minimalist, you won't need to use them much anyway.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads
    • Cons: Side pockets worthless, Will not hold Nalgene
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from San Diego on Monday, May 30, 2011
    Although described as a medium sized backpack, this is actually a pack that is supposed to adjust from medium through extra large.

    You can adjust the waistbelt to medium, and the shoulder straps to medium, BUT the recess for your head is at the XL level and the back of the pack hits the back of your head, with the head recess well above your head.
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.