Vaude Wizard Air Backpack - 24+4, Internal Frame

Closeouts. Vaude's Wizard Air backpack features plentiful storage and equipment attachment options as well as an innovative FLEX suspension system that allows you to create the perfect fit, making this a great backpack for various outdoor ventures.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob from Jax,Fl on Saturday, June 14, 2014
    Product appears to be well made. Can't wait to try it out
  • Reviewed by decrepit hiker from Hartford on Sunday, March 23, 2014
    I really wanted Vaude's larger 30+4, but couldn't resist Sierra's pricing on the 24+4 and have no major complaints. The handle on top definitely isn't intended for carrying the loaded pack, only for hanging the empty pack, and I wish Vaude had spent the extra pfennigs to make it stouter - those handles come in handy when riding transit. It can be hard to know when a company is trying to cut ounces instead of just trying to cut costs, but that's the only feature of this pack that strikes me as being motivated by cheapness. The pack hasn't been seriously tested yet - I've only carried books, laptop, lunch, water, etc to work or around town. Additionally, there's always been a coat between me and the mesh, so I don't know how beneficial the improved cooling will be once coats are shed and summer arrives. However, I've had close to 10 lbs in it for up to 3 miles and it's very comfortable, much more so than my previous "straight" daypacks. I'm learning how to organize what I'm carrying in the curvy space within the pack and, while it's more of a puzzle to pack (and especially unpack) than my previous daypacks, the improved comfort is worth it. I've been able to keep the extension zipped up, for the most part, reserving the +4 for anything extra picked up along the way. I look forward to getting out on the trail, once he mud subsides, and it looks like the pack will take up minimal space stashed in or on my big pack when we travel and want a daypack for days spent in a city.
  • Reviewed by SplendaChai from Fayetteville on Sunday, December 29, 2013
    My daughter needed a new pack for grad school, and I wanted to find one that would also be good for day hikes. She loved this as soon as it was out of the box on Christmas morning. Once away from prying eyes around the Christmas tree, her boyfriend gave it a rigorous examination, just knowing it wouldn't be up to his standards. Guess what? He has to admit it's perfect. AND the blue color is gorgeous :)
  • Reviewed by SRA from Breckenridge, CO on Monday, September 23, 2013
    Rain flap, multiple pocket configurations, and compression straps to reduce pack size make this a versatile day pack. My wife uses this pack; the larger Vaude 30-4 allows me to carry the communal gear along with individual day needs.
  • Reviewed by Milando from Utah on Thursday, September 05, 2013
    Wanted to love this little liebchen but it loads awkwardly. The main compartment follows the curve of the frame so you can't really stuff it easily. The ride is not uncomfortable, but not fantastic. It feels a little minimalist with the padding on shoulder and waist belts. The frame does keep plenty of air moving between your back and the pack which is one of the main reasons I selected the design. It does have just the right amount of pockets for day hiking. The kicker is: After 3 light hikes and one medium (7 mile 3000' vert), the stitiching on the waisbelt is coming loose and it probably won't make it more than a few more miles. Was not even close to overloaded. Going to have to have it fixed.
  • Reviewed by dotsnail from New York on Wednesday, August 21, 2013
    I bought this day pack to replace a Deuter day pack that had lasted about 20 years. The Vaude Wizard is much less expensive, equally well made, and has some modern design features that I missed on the old one: the rain cover that is easy to pull out, better zippers, and more inside pockets.

    There is such a huge difference between the typical warehouse backpack that's good for school or very short walks and the Vaude Wizard. This pack makes it easy to get things in and out, even in bad weather or on steep slopes. The many different adjustments (worth reading the tags!) make it possible to set it up that it is comfortable all day long even in difficult terrain.

    In short, a very well made product with lots of clever design touches that you won't find elsewhere at a very reasonable price, and likely to last a long time.
  • Reviewed by Shrimpman from British Columbia on Sunday, July 07, 2013
    Lots of adjustment points, including length of shoulder straps via an internal Velcro band. The rigid panel restricts loading somewhat, but sure does increase comfort, and allows the mesh panel to stay away from the body. The belt is a waist belt, not for positioning on the hips as with a large backpack, since the weight load couldn't possibly fatigue shoulders with a 24L pack. As a roaming fly fisher, I wish there were more attachment loops, but I knew this going in and will work with the two provided at the bottom. Also, the "light brown" is actually olive- a plus in my eyes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by world wanderer from colorado on Thursday, October 04, 2012
    My goal for my next trip overseas is only to carry a "fit under the seat pack". This fits the bill. I don't like the curved back panel, it makes it hard to pack, but I can make it work. I wished it had a sternum strap whistle, which I have added. But nice, small, and conservative pack.
    • Best Uses: Travel
    • Cons: Difficult To Load, No Attachment Points, No Sternum Strap Whistle
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Highly Adjustable
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dr.Dover from Kansas City, MO on Friday, September 21, 2012
    Ordered this based on dimensions and what appeared to be a great harness/suspension system for bike commuting. I got lucky. The pack is exactly what I was looking for in dimensions. My only issue would be that there are few mounting points for flashers or such, but I could see that by the photos. Not that big of a deal.

    I'm not sure why the 5'4" reviewer couldn't get the pack adjusted big enough to fit them. This thing is completely adjustable and will fit a large variety of sizes from S to XL. Simple and easy to adjust. Pretty amazing tech built into this pack.
    • Best Uses: Bike commuting, Day Hikes, Epic Single Track Rides
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by The Bagel Man from New York, NY on Wednesday, September 19, 2012
    Given the excellent reviews this backpack gets, I bought it - and came away disappointed. I am a commuter/cyclist, and so my typical load includes a laptop, a small firewire drive and a number of cables / chargers.

    I found this pack too small, it holds much less than my Chrome Mini Metro. While it is able to accommodate my 13.3" laptop, there is no native place to put it, and are just two compartments here, and only three organizer pockets. That's really minimal organization. This pack can expand somewhat, but even then it's a minimal improvement.

    I was also hoping that, given the internal frame, my back would sweat less while walking or cycling, but this didn't happen - my back still sweats, almost as much as before.

    I wanted to like this pack, but it's not for me.
    • Best Uses: Light Loads
    • Cons: Back Sweats, Difficult To Load, Not Enough Pockets, Not large enough
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.