Vaude is a 100% owned family company hailing from Southern Germany. As one of Germany’s foremost suppliers of mountain and cycling sports gear, Vaude provides customers with premium bike shoes, MTB shoes, backpacks, cycling jackets, even backpack-style baby carriers. If you are gearing up for outdoor adventure, it’s a pretty sure bet that Vaude will have the essential gear you need. Steeped in a rich tradition of producing only the finest quality outdoor equipment, Vaude has remained at the top of the outdoor gear world. Climb ... Learn more about Vaudeers, hikers, bikers and world travelers all turn to Vaude for their gear needs. Pack a Vaude tent on your next backcountry quest, lace up a pair of Vaude MTB shoes on your next ride or take the kiddo along with one of Vaude’s unique child carriers. No matter the adventure that lies ahead, prepare with Vaude and count on your gear to see you through. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 62
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cyclestupor from Colorado on Tuesday, April 19, 2016
    I bought this pack primarily to haul climbing gear to/from the crag, and as a day-pack for long hikes.

    It has one main compartment, and a small zippered compartment on the top. Cinch cords on either side can be tightened to hold the load close to the body, and are useful for lashing things like jackets, shoes... etc to the outside of the pack. It is difficult to see in the pictures, but the cinch cords run through small hooks in the front of the pack to allow them to be unfastened and refastened. This feature is especially useful for lashing a rope to the pack.

    The pack is extremely lightweight, and yet it is one of the few lightweight packs with a semi-rigid (removable) back panel, and generous padding around the spine. This makes the pack quite a bit more comfortable than some of the other lightweight packs i tried. It can be stuffed to the brim with heavy gear, but it still maintains it's shape and holds the load close to the body.

    The waist strap runs fairly high on my waist and so it serves more to secure the pack close to the body, than to relieve weight from the shoulders. In my case this is beneficial, because i can wear a harness with it, and the pack doesn't interfere.

    I can't really report on it's durability yet. It appears to be well made, with fairly durable materials and quality stitching. That said, I don't really expect any lightweight pack to hold up to a lot of abrasion.

    About the only complaint I have with the pack is that the secondary compartment on top of the pack is really small, and there are no pockets on the sides. If I fill up the lid with lunch, then I am forced to carry some small miscellaneous items in the main compartment. E.g. headlamp, knife, snacks, guidebook... etc.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cheryl from Minnesota on Saturday, April 16, 2016
    This backpack was just the right size for my trip. I did not need to take a sleeping bag or roll, but I did take a 3-day trip and used it as my luggage. It had plenty of room for my clothes, a pair of cowboy boots, flip flops, and my toiletries. And because I took it on a flight, I didn't even use any of the outer stuff pockets. It was comfortable on my 3-mile walk to my destination. And...I loved the color (red)
  • Reviewed by dc1 from sf bay area on Monday, March 21, 2016
    I have to drop another star on these shoes for fit. I wore them outside to really give them a chance to get more comfortable, but they just don't. They are the smallest size 10 I have seen, and narrow in the toe box as well. They fit like a tight 9.5. My mistake, not sure if I can take them back after wearing them but I am going to try. If stp gets these back, make sure you have a narrow foot and size up maybe a full size.
  • Reviewed by dc1 from sf bay area on Monday, March 21, 2016
    I have to drop another star on these shoes for fit. I wore them outside to really give them a chance to get more comfortable, but they just don't. They are the smallest size 10 I have seen, and narrow in the toe box as well. They fit like a tight 9.5. My mistake, not sure if I can take them back after wearing them but I am going to try. If stp gets these back, make sure you have a narrow foot and size up maybe a full size.
  • Reviewed by dc1 from sf bay area on Saturday, March 19, 2016
    I agree with others about the weird fit. On the upside, the shoes are good looking (not as bright as many in this category), and seem to be well made. They are more firm underfoot than some others, especially up front. I would not characterize them as having a particularly wide toe box however. Compared to my salomon shoes, these are tighter up front. I have worn them a couple of times hoping they will soften/stretch out a bit. They are ok, but not as comfy as I would like them to be, at least not yet. I can see why others send them back based on fit, I'm giving them a chance to work. Good price as always.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Grant H from Madison, WI on Monday, March 7, 2016
    Wow, I was blown away with this pack. Plenty of room, feels great on my back, and appears to be high quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CA Sam from California on Saturday, March 5, 2016
    I was initially worried that the shoes would be too small as other reviews have noted; however, I ordered a US 10.5 and it fits like a 10 pretty well. (which works for me since I'm in between both). The 10.5 corresponds to a European 44 for reference and it seems sized correctly using that metric.
    As for the performance of the shoes, I've only had them for about a week but they are comfortable and breathe well. The soles are very grippy even with limited tread. The only concern I have regarding fit is that the back ankle support is very low and makes me wonder if the shoes won't come off. There's a little puffy ridge on the inside of the shoe to lock in the heel and so far the've been fine but if you're looking for any amount of ankle support, these probably won't work.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MA buyer from Central MA on Monday, February 29, 2016
    I purchased this as a school bag, but it is too small. I could see it being a nice pack, but not a school bag. It is one pocket with no dividers or sections. My son though he would like it for a hiking pack, but not for school. Also, the material did not inspire confidence that t his pack would last long.
  • Reviewed by PaulD from Denver on Sunday, February 21, 2016
    I have never had true approach shoes before - and I will never go back! These shoes are light but perform amazing on all sorts of trails and slopes. Each foot placement feels sure. And my toes appreciate the boxy front after s day crammed in rock shoes on the crags.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Madeline from Cincinnati, OH on Tuesday, February 16, 2016
    Really torn on if I should keep this pack or return for a bigger one. I like that when I am traveling (other than backpacking) I can open a zipper to open up and see most of what is packed inside the main compartment. It is comfortable to wear. The front and top pockets are nice to separate items.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 62
;