Wellco E163 USMC R.A.T. Temperate Weather Combat Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

2nds. Engineered to meet the rugged demands of United States Marine Corps, Wellco's E163 USMC R.A.T. temperate weather combat boots thrive on brutal terrain and in inclement conditions. The exterior of the boot features abrasion-resistant sharkskin leather in high-wear areas and a dependable Vibram® 139 Mr Dri-Ice rubber outsole. To combat wet weather, the interior if fitted with a waterproof breathable membrane to keep your feet dry.

Average Rating based on 23 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 23 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Retired Guy from San Antonio, TX on Tuesday, September 4, 2012
    Received a broken pair from Sierra Trading Post. I returned them in exchange for a new pair.
    I promptly received a new pair in worse condition than the first.
    What has happened to this once fine company????
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Farmer Doug from Madison Wi on Thursday, August 23, 2012
    Lining in boots not attached to inside of boot so would rub your feet raw
    • Cons: Caused blisters, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Pros: Boots lining not attached
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Banshee from Buffalo, NY on Friday, June 29, 2012
    Totally surprised STP would sell such a useless and inferior product. These are just a waste. First-off the lineing is so lose, (not "glued" in, it makes it impossible to put on. The neck is too narrow. I could not tell if the sizeing was off, because I couldn't get the boots on!I have no idea whether Welco boots made and sold AT WELCO are the same... i hope not, that way I could say these were beyond seconds and not the rule. I do know that I was disapointed in STP's passing on this [*] to coustomers. Before you label me as the exception, read further in the reviews. I am also of the belief that some people write reviews so "happily" is that the only reason they do seems to justify their purchase.
    • Cons: SHOULD NEVER BEEN SOLD
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Conservative, High-end shopper, Military/Law Enforcement, Stylish
    • Pros: Nothing
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by stormy from elizabeth co on Thursday, May 3, 2012
    outstanding tough boot... i wear them for ranch work. ''made in USA'' comfortable and durable.. i am going to order another pair
    • Best Uses: Wet Weather, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Cushioning, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by desert carpenter from tucson arizona on Saturday, April 28, 2012
    I was never a big fan of composite boots (cordura/nylon/etc/leather) but for these boots I make an exception. I have worn these on a desert jobsite for 80 days straight with great appreciation and very little visable wear.
    These are serious boots. Not casual slip on and kick off. Take the time to get in and lace up, and you're good to go no matter how long your day. Great value. Best boot laces ever. Buy one size large. Peace!
    • Best Uses: Carpentry, Combat, Desert rambling, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Working Man
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Comfortable, Durable, Great in the desert, Stable, Superior construction, Well engineered
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by aaronraad from Brisbane, Australia on Friday, April 20, 2012
    I'd been looking for a tough, desert or gortex lined hunting boot for a couple of months and came across the Wellco's as an alternative for the Danner RAT's and TFX GTX A-TACS. My last boot purchase was a Blundstone size 11(AUD=UK) Style 142's and they are a good fit with the wide type steel toe cap. I tried a pair of the Danner RAT 12R's temperates (15630) last weekend and found them a tad narrow and short. So I took a chance and ordered a pair of 13's in the Wellco's. So far, so good! With a medium pair of wool socks on my foot just gets through the opening. By now you've probably gathered my foot is slightly on the narrow side of regular width. The only defect I can see is a slight scuff mark on one boot near the outsole and the stitching along the side. Hopefully nothing major but I will follow-up after some proper run-in time. I'd buy another pair if there were any 13's left, especially given [@]retail for AUD[$] or [@] for AUD[$] + $75 shipping. Given [@] only retail the non-gortex version/desert boot, it would seem that the sizing is out because they did not allow for the gortex-liner. If I was ordering for a normal width foot I'd add 1 full size to your US boot size and change your width from regular to wide.
    • Describe Yourself: Hunter
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Reviewed by Saltriver68 from Europe on Tuesday, April 3, 2012
    Let me start by saying that these are some of the most comfortable boots I have ever worn, and I would truly like to report that these are a bargain, I really would.
    Unfortunately they are not.

    Although they tick a lot of boxes (good quality leathers, sharkskin toe and heelcaps, Vibram sole, GoreTex lining) they look like a primary school manual arts project. Incomplete, uneven stitching, uneven radii on toes and heels, cheapo insole.
    Shame to waste all that nice, quality material really.
    Had them worked over by a local cobbler to improve on the unfinished look prior to using them and inserted quality insoles.
    It was a mistake to order 1 size above normal (normally 12 I ordered 13), as they were/are definitely too large.
    Despite that being the case it was possible to lace them taught and produce a fit I am normally accustomed to in my tackies.
    Fantastic !
    Great all around support.
    Breathability of the employed membrane is excellent as well.
    Dry feet despite rainy conditions whilst working hard.
    Traction...? Never crossed my mind, they grip.
    Lacing is a bit cumbersome, but entry not a problem.

    Shame that they are coming apart at the glue seams after 3 uses.
    Cannot possibly recommend them.
    If you do try them, do not go 1 size up.
    • Best Uses: Outdoors, Work
    • Cons: Poor finish, Poor quality
    • Describe Yourself: Outdoorsman
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Comfortable, Great materials, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by USMC - Reserve from SF Bay Area on Monday, March 12, 2012
    These Boots have serious factory defects which make them unservicable. These boots should have been dismantled and good parts sewn back together or the entire boot just shredded for landfill. Both Pairs were bad.....
    • Cons: Heavy, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Military/Law Enforcement
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GMC from Auburn, Wa on Saturday, March 3, 2012
    Great Product... wonderful price!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Wet Weather, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Conservative, Military/Law Enforcement
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Bubba from Monroe VA on Friday, March 2, 2012
    The fit was poor: narrow and 1/2 size too small. The lining was loose: it shifted and bunched up. The arch support was weak. They were difficult to get on. I think the USMC could buy a better quality boot for our soldiers. If you put your life on the line in a harsh environment you should expect a decent pair of boots.
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 23 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.